8 Reviews

This was fun to make and held together really well. From what I can tell, the birdies give it 5 stars! Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 27, 2014

I love this recipe, and have been making it all winter. I have had everything from Chickadees to Nuthatches, Woodpeckers to Blue Jays and Flickers, too! This will probably always be what I use when I make suet. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaurorac February 27, 2009

I love feeding the wild critters in my yard, and "my" birds just LOVE this stuff. I halved the recipe, did not add the sugar or fruit, subbed the flour for twice the seed. I filled two molds from the store bought cakes, and put the rest in 6 paper lined cupcakes. The little guys swarmed like never before. Homemade cake is always better than store-bought after all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karma January 24, 2009

I hang out three types of suet--pure beef fat, store-bought and this recipe. Many more bird varieties frequent the feeders containing this. I wrote a previous review about squirrels also loving it, but the problem has subsided a bit, and we just have to learn to live with those Harry Houdinis! I do not add the sugar, though--seems unnecessary. Old store-bought suet containers make great re-usable molds, yielding about 6-7 cakes. Thanks again, Alberta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers February 03, 2008

this went together really easily. The only thing I did a bit different was to line my 13x9 with plastic wrap before pouring the mix in, then I set it up in the freezer. It popped out of the dish very easily. It's -5 degrees here and all my little birds are thanking you Alberta!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum January 23, 2008

I already had this recipe and the birds love it. I do not add the sugar though. Didn't figure the birds needed it. I freeze it in blocks and take it out as I need it. The birds in my area don't seem to like fruit that much either. I alsofound that quick cooking oats work best

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinpossum January 22, 2008

I made this the frist part of winter, before I wrote I wanted to see if the birds would eat it, they love it, I got 6 squares out of it. All kinds of birds and woodpeckers come to it. I used the fat from the store in the meat department, I warmed it up till it was soft then put in my food processor to break it down, then I but it in a big bowl and add all the ingredients. I did add rasin but they didn't eat them so will leave out next time. I will be making these next winter too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robirdie March 12, 2005

Easy to make, made six large cakes that fit into purchased holders. Wrapped and saved 3 and used 3 , Good thing to save. Reciipe sets up and custs easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buck Cullison December 17, 2004
Bird Suet Cakes