Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bird Seed Bread (Abm) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bird Seed Bread (Abm)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      First I am a complete novice at breadmaking but am/was determined to keep at it until I got it right and found a loaf I want to eat on a regular basis. This is it! I swapped out the quinoa and wheat germ for additional flax, sunflower and sesame seed keeping the quantities of the add in the same. Because I haven't a clue what I am doing I followed Kerfuffle Upon Winkles alterations by using sour cream instead of yoghurt (which I didn't have) and added 1 tsp of lemon juice and some Vital wheat gluten. Because I baked it in a pan I got a full sized loaf and six dinner rolls from the recipe. I could not be more pleased with this recipe and expect I will be making it weekly from here on in. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      NUTTY and DELICIOUS, with a tender texture! I added 1 teaspoon lemon juice and 2 tablespoons vital wheat gluten; substituted sour cream for the yogurt; substituted flax seed for the wheat germ, increased the sunflower seeds for the amaranth; used the dough cycle of my ABM, punched it down and let it rise in a 10-5/8 x 5-1/2 x 2-3/4 Pyrex for 30 minutes. Baked at 350 degrees for a total of 30 minutes ~ after first 15 minutes, covered loaf with foil for 5 minutes because it was getting too brown - baked another 5 minutes and removed loaf from pan (for the bottom of loaf thump test) and baked 5 minutes more (still covered) on the oven rack. For a soft outside crust, I brushed the hot loaf with melted butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      I made this into hoagie buns and enjoyed the result. The bread was fairly dense, but had a nutiness that was brought out even more by toasting the buns. I subbed several of the seeds to utilize things on hand; flax seeds, rye bran flakes, wheat berries. The bread also held well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Excellent! Used all whole-grain flour (white whole wheat), olive oil instead of butter, chia instead of poppy seeds, and oat bran instead of quinoa. Added baker's dry milk, vital wheat gluten, and some diastatic malt powder. This rose really well and tastes delicious. It's chock full of nutrients, it's got a great texture, and it'll make terrific sandwich bread. Mmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Great texture and flavor. Loved the addition of the quinoa. I am going to try flax seed next time. I also added about 3 tbls. of vital gluten. Was great with a bowl of soup! Made for TOP FAVORITES of 2009 COOKBOOKS TAG GAME

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      A favorite! I've made this bread and sliced up in a Longaberger basket as a housewarming gift...more than once!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Great Bread. Love it toasted for breakfast. Easy to make and great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      I absolutely LOVED this bread! It is so amazing - excellent texture, make a beautiful loaf, and it was simple to dump in the bread machine. I made it on the dough setting, added wheat gluten same as KUW did, and baked it in a normal bread pan in the oven. This will most definately be made often here! Thank you for sharing this excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I made this bread once, LOVED it...and then lost the recipe. I'm so glad I finally (re)found it! Perfect for someone who wants texture, versatility, & flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bird Seed Bread (Abm)

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.2
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    23%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 161.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes