Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bill Knapp's Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bill Knapp's Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2012

      This was very very similar to what I remembered from Knapp's. Make sure to cube your potatoes small enough (I should have diced mine smaller) and put them in a fairly shallow baking dish to get the most browned topping possible, as this is the best part :) I also followed other reviewer's advice and used the Old English jar cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      This recipe is very close to the original. I agree that using the Kraft Old English Cheese brings this recipe a bit closer to the original. I worked for Bill Knapp's for 5 years (high school and college). We sprinkled a very generous amount of paprika over the mixture just before baking. We never used any bread crumbs to achieve the signature crust. I sprayed the baking pan / ramekins with a butter spray before adding the mixture. I remember the dish washers hated cleaning the baked on cheese off the ramekins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Just made this recipe yesterday (5/5/13), using the Kraft Old English Cheese as someone suggested), and it turned out excellent!! - just as I remember it tasting when we ate at the restaurant. It got thumbs up from everyone at the table. Here's a tip - I used 4 cans of DelMonte Diced New Potatoes which saved time. I also used a combination of 1/2% milk (which is what we drink) and 1/2 & 1/2) and sprinkled a little paprika on top of the potatoes before baking. I found the OE cheese located in the same area as the Velveeta cheese. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I made this recipe on 11/10/10 as part of mine and SO's dinner. Since it was just us two for dinner the recipe was cut in half.Other than that, the recipe was made as it was written. Now before seeing this recipe I've never heard of Knapp's but if this is what the original tasted like, OMGoodness !!!. I really really enjoyed this recipe, and I will make again and again (Watch out hips :) )Thank you for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Really was ok - good recipe - but not the hot bubbly stuff I remember from Bill Knapps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      We had this last night with salmon loaf, zucchini medley, and sliced nectarines. The Au Gratin potatos dish has a very good flavor. I can't eat cheddar cheese because of migraines (and I had to leave out bouillon granules for same reason), but Velveeta is OK so I was happy to find this recipe. The consistency is a little heavy/dense for our liking, so I may try adding more milk or something to make it lighter next time. Thanks for listing this recipe--I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      Another recipe I should have just duct taped to my butt and saved my body the trouble of converting it all to fatness. Creamy, ridiculously good comfort food. You know that friend we all have who is so strong about her healthy eating habits that you hate her guts? Serve this to her. Watch her plummet into the depths of pigginess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I made these for Christmas dinner. My mother and sister and I ate at Bill Knapp's quite a lot. It was one of our favorite resturants. We were all astounded with this recipe!!! The Old English Cheese is definately the key ingredient!!! Thank you soooooooooo much! Now I just need the Chicken Fricasse recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      I did play with the amounts and cut the recipe back to 2 servings- 2 cups large diced cooked potatoes,1 tbsp butter, 4 tbsp 1% milk, Used aged cheddar, added remaining ingreents scaled down- baked for 30 minutes added Dry Fried Onions on top - Super

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Everyone enjoyed this dish for dinner tonight! Using paprika in the cheese sauce and boiled diced potatoes set this apart from the rest. If the potatoes are precooked the night before, this goes together very quickly, too. Thanks Solita & Stacey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      I haven't tried this recipe yet, however, I used to work for Bill Knapps. I have made this at home several times, it's good, but since they closed, I really can't compare it to the original. peel and rinse your potatoes cube them up boil for about 15 minutes...don't let them get soft... transfer potato's to a baking dish, and mix with OLD ENGLISH CHEESE (this is what bill knapp's used)...mix the cheese and potato's and sprinkle some paprika on it, and bake until the top is well browned

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      Sorry to say this was potato and cheese soup. The flour to butter and milk ratio is off. Needs more flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bill Knapp's Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.8
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    54%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 74.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 989.8 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites