14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is very close to the original. I agree that using the Kraft Old English Cheese brings this recipe a bit closer to the original. I worked for Bill Knapp's for 5 years (high school and college). We sprinkled a very generous amount of paprika over the mixture just before baking. We never used any bread crumbs to achieve the signature crust. I sprayed the baking pan / ramekins with a butter spray before adding the mixture. I remember the dish washers hated cleaning the baked on cheese off the ramekins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tkuehl July 15, 2013

This was very very similar to what I remembered from Knapp's. Make sure to cube your potatoes small enough (I should have diced mine smaller) and put them in a fairly shallow baking dish to get the most browned topping possible, as this is the best part :) I also followed other reviewer's advice and used the Old English jar cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spartanfish March 16, 2012

This is what I remember for BK's in SW Ohio. Spot on and delish. You do need to use Kraft Old English in the jar cheese and I suggest you up the flour to 1/2 cup.<br/>I think when BK started to pre-packaged their meal portions and send them frozen to the different locations, was when the down slide started for them. Guess they just got to large and it became unmanageable to create that 'down home' flavors any longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul February 10, 2015

As a kid we had family birthday celebrations at Bill Knapps all the time. This recipe recaptured their iconic au gratin potatoes perfectly (I used the Velveeta as I was unable to obtain the Old English that has been recommended by others). Now all I need is to make their chocolate cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aechapman July 07, 2014

Just made this recipe yesterday (5/5/13), using the Kraft Old English Cheese as someone suggested), and it turned out excellent!! - just as I remember it tasting when we ate at the restaurant. It got thumbs up from everyone at the table. Here's a tip - I used 4 cans of DelMonte Diced New Potatoes which saved time. I also used a combination of 1/2% milk (which is what we drink) and 1/2 & 1/2) and sprinkled a little paprika on top of the potatoes before baking. I found the OE cheese located in the same area as the Velveeta cheese. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MetroDetroit! May 06, 2013

I made this recipe on 11/10/10 as part of mine and SO's dinner. Since it was just us two for dinner the recipe was cut in half.Other than that, the recipe was made as it was written. Now before seeing this recipe I've never heard of Knapp's but if this is what the original tasted like, OMGoodness !!!. I really really enjoyed this recipe, and I will make again and again (Watch out hips :) )Thank you for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 11, 2010

Really was ok - good recipe - but not the hot bubbly stuff I remember from Bill Knapps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! January 21, 2008

We had this last night with salmon loaf, zucchini medley, and sliced nectarines. The Au Gratin potatos dish has a very good flavor. I can't eat cheddar cheese because of migraines (and I had to leave out bouillon granules for same reason), but Velveeta is OK so I was happy to find this recipe. The consistency is a little heavy/dense for our liking, so I may try adding more milk or something to make it lighter next time. Thanks for listing this recipe--I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artistclogger September 20, 2007

Another recipe I should have just duct taped to my butt and saved my body the trouble of converting it all to fatness. Creamy, ridiculously good comfort food. You know that friend we all have who is so strong about her healthy eating habits that you hate her guts? Serve this to her. Watch her plummet into the depths of pigginess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom February 24, 2007

I made these for Christmas dinner. My mother and sister and I ate at Bill Knapp's quite a lot. It was one of our favorite resturants. We were all astounded with this recipe!!! The Old English Cheese is definately the key ingredient!!! Thank you soooooooooo much! Now I just need the Chicken Fricasse recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodum72 February 18, 2007
Bill Knapp's Au Gratin Potatoes