262 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband loves chicken and dumplings. He raved over your recipe...and he is very picky. Thank you for a wonderful, hearty and very tasty recipe. This will be a staple in our house from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahamil February 28, 2010

Hubby LOVES chicken and dumplings and is really picky when it comes to them. I took it as a huge compliment when he said these were the best he's ever eaten! Only thing i did differently was used boneless skinless chicken breast (partly because I got them really cheap but mostly that's the only kind of chicken I will eat). This is a great meal on a cold day so will be a staple in our house in the winter months! Thank you for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoNottaCook February 10, 2010

Best Chicken and Dumplings ever!!!! I even liked it better left over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurse Amanda January 30, 2010

I usually make drop dumplings. This is my first try at rolled dumplings. This is the only way, for me now. Turned out perfect. I mixed them in my processor, first I mixed the flour and seasonings, without the poultry seasoning. Then the rest of the ingrediants. I had to add a little extra flour until it came away from the sides of the bowl. Then I cut small pieces of dough and rolled it out a little at a time on my cutting board. They were so tender and good. I like my soup to be brothy and it was. They did not break apart or make the soup to thick. Thank you so much for these dumplings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover December 21, 2009

No time to read the over 200 reviews, so I hope I am contributing something new here... For the broth/soup I started with my leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass that I had cooked for the broth. Most of that I froze for later because it made 6 gallons or so. I used about 2 gallons for this recipe. I used all the remaining turkey meat from the bones and added chopped carrots and onions and seasonings to my tastes (I used some sage, rosemary, and basil, but the original recipe or whatever you like would be fine too). For the dumplings, I forgot at the last minute that I was out of eggs, so used Ener-G egg replacer, and it worked fine. I was also in a hurry and had no time to roll out the dumplings, so dropped them by teaspoofuls into the broth. They cooked up fine! I suspect the texture is a bit different done this way, but the dish was still delicious and my husband loved it. The kids, unfortunately, refused to even try it! This is the first time I have made such a dish and it looked very strange to them--too mushy looking I think. More for us though. I plan to try again rolling out the dough, but will probably half the dumplings. I cannot imaging how they all could fit in only 1 gallon of soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greenbriar5 December 01, 2009

Pretty good! Hubby says is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lambeli November 13, 2009

This was excellent! I made a large batch of this with a 5lb chicken. We ate dinner plus lunches and I froze 2 large portions. It still tasted great defrosted. I also tried this tonight using a country pork rib (boneless) instead of chicken and it was excellent also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VASMG November 10, 2009

This is a real down-home recipe from a Southern girl! I did have to add about a tsp. of kosher salt to the "finished product" and half the dumpling recipe considering others' opinions. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. It was great and is plenty. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freda2 Brown November 09, 2009
Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings