Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    262 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 262

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2009

      Absolutely delicious - thanks for the perfect cold weather treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I never, ever thought I would make homemade chicken and dumplings, but now I wonder why! This was so much easier than I ever imagined it would be. Love this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

    • on February 02, 2009

      sooo delicious! I used chicken stock in place of the water, and left out the bouillon entirely. i made the entire dough recipe but wound up freezing almost half of it. The leftovers needed chicken broth added each time as the dumplings absorbed a lot of the remaining broth. soooo yummy though! My boyfriend was coming down with a cold and requested this, it cured him, without a doubt! something about boiling a chicken has rejuvenating powers....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Better than the sum of it's parts! HONESTLY - this was *terrific!*. Used a technique of removing the boiled chicken after it had rendered its goodness (no flavor left in meat afterwards) and used cut-up pieces of roasted chicken from grocery rotiserie. Added peas at the end. Used Knorr soup base instead of bouillon. WHAT a *HIT* at the potluck. Not a drop left and oodles of happy faces. THANKS so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Good dish! I think that the 6 bouillon cubes made it too salty though, and may only use 2 next time and I think that would be plenty. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      My family loves this. I've probably made it 5 times since I got the recipe, but haven't rated it. We only make half the batch of dumplings, and have found that the flat ones are just as good as the other kind. We have no need to add the bouillon cubes. The chicken flavor is wonderful without all the artificial flavorings. Thanks so much for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This is soooooooo goooooooood! I have made it once before and forgot to rate it. The first time I made it I added wide egg noodles, about a 1/2 c. of frozen corn, and a few diced potatoes. I only made half a batch of dumplings. I added the noodles because my husband isn't too fond of dumplings. Tonight I followed the recipe exactly making a whole batch of dumplings and adding no extras. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I could eat this everyday. It is by far the best chicken and dumplings I have ever had. I have made this recipe several times and I never change a thing. Why mess with perfection?!? Kids and hubby love it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      i make this often as my one concession to southern cooking. the only changes i make are to cook a whole fryer chicken in the crock pot all day with vegetables, chicken broth, water and seasoning. about 2 hours before ready to eat i start from direction #5. Comfort food at it's best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Love love loved it. You make me look like a superstar in the kitchen! Don't disregard the tip about a large pot - more like a huge pot. I just barely was able to make it in my six quart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Excellent flavor & makes a huge quantity. I made this for a multifamily meal and had plenty. I made the dumplings in the morning and covered them with wax paper/flour and with an hour to go for serving boiled the broth and threw them in... Probably could have made them the night before and they would have been fine. My only suggestion would be to add some flour/corn starch to thicken. DH thought it should have been thicker but it was great for the kids and myself! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I would give it 10 stars if I could! Even my youngest & most picky eater (hates soup) devoured 2 bowls at dinner! Makes ALOT of dumplins'. But there was no problem with having leftovers to store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I miss Mayberry sitting on the porch eating Mom's chicken and dumplins.:) Wow these took me back. To keep it more like I remembered Mom's to be, I omitted the red peppers and onions and added green peas and cubed potatoes. Reminded me a lot of chicken pot pie. So good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Like this needs another rating! This was simply fantastic. I love all the dumplings you get with this recipe, and they taste fabulous. I have never tried seasoning my dumplings before. This will be a monthly rotation from now on. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This does take a little time to make, but well worth the effort!! I have made this several times now, and consider it an: ULITMATE COMFORT FOOD. Thanks for sharing this recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I have never had, or made chicken dumplings that were not in a can... I never thought that I liked them be cause of this... I made your recipe, the only changes were I did not have poultry seasoning (thought I did) So i used some season salt, thyme and paprika instead. Also instead of boiling my chicken, I put it in my crock pot early that morning and turned it off about an hour before dinner so it could cool and be cut up! I also only used half the dumpling recipe, as I did not think that I liked dumplings. This was fantastic, my hubby LOVED it. All the kids ate it, and then the next day when they had more for lunch, there were NO complaints about "leftovers" It actually tasted BETTER the next day! Not only that, but this recipe is pretty cheap to make, and makes enough for 2 meals for a family of 6! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

    • on January 11, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't turn out like the photos show at all. It was very gooey and there were may more dumplings than chicken (it was a 3 pound chicken). Sorry, but I thought it would turn out more like soup and not so thick. I even added 2 cups of liquid. If I were to make it again, I would increase the liquid and make half the dumplings. The flavour was very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      WONDERFUL! Had this on this blustery cold New Years Day. Fifteen stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.3
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    46%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1572.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes