Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    261 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 261

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2009

      A terrific recipe! Not much to add, everything laudatory has already been written here. My only change was using Minor’s Chicken Base instead of bouillon cubes. At least one reviewer mentioned that it was a bit too salty. Minor’s lists chicken first on the ingredient label, not salt. You can always identify an inferior product if salt is listed first. Other than than, I followed the recipe exactly. I think when I heat up the leftovers, I’ll have to add some extra broth (made from Chicken Base) and some frozen green peas. Thanks for posting this ultimate comfort food. I’ll be making this often in the Fall, when it’s a bit cooler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      i made the mistake of marrying a Southern Boy. :-) Needless to say, i've had to learn to make chicken and dumplings. This is THE recipe. Tons of fluffy dumplings, thick sauce, and leftovers. Perfect!! This is the recipe i give people when they request a good chicken and dumplings recipe. This is a keeper. Thanks, Susie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Quite a bit of work(and I'm all about easy!), but this could easily become a family favorite! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      My family and I REALLY enjoyed this recipe!! The only downside was it was really salty for my tastes, but I think that had to do with the boullion cubes I used. This was great and I will be definitely be adding this to my recipe book! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This recipe really is fabulous - the flavor in the dumplings is very good, the broth thickens perfectly and all four of us gave it five stars! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Wow!! LOTS of chewy - pasta-ish dumplings. my family of 5 was torn over these and our regular dumplings...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I used just the dumpling recipe..and it taste awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This is delicious! Easier to make than it sounds. My 9 year old daughter and I made it together. This has become a new family favorite. We had company over, so I doubled the recipe and oh boy! We had more than enough, so we were blessed with leftovers! Perfect comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Mmmm tasty! I didn't have poultry seasoning so I used herbs de provence. I cut the dumpling recipe in half based on other reviews. I accidentally put in the full amount of salt in the dumplings, but couldn't tell at the end thankfully! I wish they had stayed puffed up as they were just after being put in the pot, but they were still great. Very filling and loads of leftovers, a major plus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I made too many changes to give a star rating. This was pretty good. I increased the veggies quite a bit and added a little diced potato as well. I forgot the garlic. I made the dumplings, dropped one in to see how it would taste and it puffed beautifully and tasted great. Dinner was about two hours away so I let them rest until shortly before serving time, then dumped them all in and boiled. These didn't puff up at all and were very dense (because they'd rested? Because the soup was overcrowded? I don't know). It was pretty tasty but I didn't enjoy the texture of the dumplings. The soup had a faint, bitter aftertaste. I'm not sure what I did to cause that, but I am sure it was my fault and not the recipe's. This did get rave reviews, but I wasn't wow'd by it. I may try again. It did smell fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Very, very good! My husband's family is from Tennesee and they all are southern cookers. I am not. When I saw this recipe I thought I would give it a shot. I never really like chicken and dumplings until making this recipe. Come to find out my husband said he never really liked them either. We still tried it and we both had second helpings!!! I was very impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      These are sooo good! It does make a huge quantity. Sometimes I half the recipe. It easily feeds a family of four with plenty of leftovers. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Wonderful! Comfort food at it's finest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was really good. It makes ALOT! Definitely need a large stock pot! The dumplings were great....real soft....not waxy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was my first try at making homemade Chicken and Dumplings (using the rolled out dough method). They were the best Chicken and Dumplings I have ever eaten. I'm so glad I chose your recipe. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Awesome! I didn't chop the veggies, just added them whole for flavor and took them out at the end. My husbands grandmother doesn't use veggies in hers so I couldn't possibly go against her and make it with veggies! *sarcasm* I used a food processor to make the dumpling dough which made it easy and boy does this recipe make dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Tried this for the first time the other night and my family loved it! Very easy to cook, I had never had chicken and dumplings much less made it before this. Will be a weekly addition to our dinners!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      YUMMY!!!!! I could have easly cut the dumplings in half. They soaked up too much of that delicous broth. But all in all outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      If you haven't tried this you don't know what you are missing. We all loved this, such a warm comforting stew. This is definitely my go to dumpling recipe. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Absolutely delicious - thanks for the perfect cold weather treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.3
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    46%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1572.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites