263 Reviews

Delicious! I totally believe that review about a diner selling out of this recipe and having to make two more batches that day. This recipe makes classic good ol' Southern chicken 'n dumplings. Not fluffy dumplings (so if you want that, this isn't the one for you). You can halve the butter and use some oil to make up the difference (just as yummy). Only thing was I needed to add salt and pepper to the broth. Completely filled up our largest soup pot. Love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc Mom October 27, 2012

This makes a lot of dumplings. I only cooked half because I was afraid I wouldn't have enough broth once I added my chicken back in. I probably could have made more than I did. This recipe was good and could probably serve more than it states, but that's ok, it just means more leftovers for us. A great rainy day meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom October 14, 2012

I thought this was a very bland recipe and the dumplings were very heavy and tasted like pure flour. Will not be making it again. :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stilhotat54 September 29, 2012

Excellent

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada July 06, 2012

Yummy recipe. My pot was a little small to fit a whole gallon of water, so I didn't end up using all the dumplings. It makes a LOT of dumplings. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbirkenmeyer April 26, 2012

I've made this a few times for my husband, kids and even my parents with rave reviews. I takes a bit of time but the end result is well worth it. This recipe is one of our favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Table4six February 25, 2012

Wonderful recipe for Chicken and Dumplings!! I used about two-thirds of the dumplings, but wish I had only used half. I froze the remaining dumplings for the next time I make this. Yes. There will absolutely be a next time. It's terrific. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Susie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef J February 16, 2012

Never had bad chicken and dumplings but this is one of the best I've had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
02christini January 07, 2012

We are southern transplants. The first time I ordered chicken and dumplins' at a restaurant here, I thought they must have run out of dumplings and substituted with thick egg noodles. They were very good, just not what I was expecting. When the owner of the restaurant asked how we enjoyed our meal, I asked about the dumplings. She said she always gets questioned by visiting "yankees". I now know that how this dish is prepared is very regional. These are not my grandmas dumplings, but they are really,really good. Sometimes we're in the mood for "northern" ones and sometimes in the mood for "southern" ones. It's great to have a choice. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 October 24, 2011

awesome, the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen September 27, 2011
Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings