Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    261 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 261

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2011

      Added more veggies & made a roux to thicken the soup. Had lots of extra dough for dumplings & didn't care for them much. Think we would like more biscuit like dumplings personal preference. Loved the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Given the time and effort required to churn out this soup, I found the results to be disappointing. My boyfriend and I both found the stock to be bland, which surprised me as I added much more seasoning than I usually do (heaping teaspoonfuls of rosemary, thyme, sage and garlic powder as well as four or five bouillon cubes to the stock, chicken seasoned with a hefty coating of salt and black pepper).

      As for the dumplings, even though I planned on halving the recipe and forgot to halve the emulsifying ingredients along with the dry ones, the dough was still way too flaky and dry, and I had to double the amount of margarine and stock (resulting in four times the ratio of emulsifying ingredients to dry ones). The end result, as others have mentioned, was thick and gummy dumplings.

      I think my results might be a fluke given the multiple rave reviews, but I'm not sure I would invest the time and energy for a second try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I made this for guests tonight. I'm usually scared to try a new recipe for the first time on guests. I had a fairly large Dinner party and it's cold today so I doubled the recipe. That made A LOT. This was great I didn't have chicken seasoning so I used seasoned salt, added more than specified. One of our guests are from the South and they all loved it! Thank you so much for sharing. I will use this again for SURE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Very Good! Used canned biscuits because I was short on time. Soup flavor was delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

    • on June 14, 2010

    • on May 15, 2010

      Came back to print this again, my other one has been worn out LOL! (need to get it laminated or framed HEHE!) This is just the most incredible recipe for chicken and dumplings we have ever made. I love the addition of poultry seasoning to the dumplings instead of just the usual flour salt baking powder. It gives them an even better flavor and you can eat more and more, thankfully this recipe makes a good bit of em! My daughter is leaving for Army boot camp in a few weeks and gets to pick our menus till then, this is on it twice and a must have the day she returns!! Thank you Susie! 5 STARS ALL THE WAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I thought this was just Ok. I guess I don't really like THAT many dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I vegetarianized this recipe using Quorn Chik'n Tenders and it was delicious! The dumplings weren't what I was expecting, they didn't cook up right, but that could have been my own fault. I am typically satisfied with a single bowl of soup, but I went back for seconds, that's how yummy it was. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      My husband loves chicken and dumplings. He raved over your recipe...and he is very picky. Thank you for a wonderful, hearty and very tasty recipe. This will be a staple in our house from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Hubby LOVES chicken and dumplings and is really picky when it comes to them. I took it as a huge compliment when he said these were the best he's ever eaten! Only thing i did differently was used boneless skinless chicken breast (partly because I got them really cheap but mostly that's the only kind of chicken I will eat). This is a great meal on a cold day so will be a staple in our house in the winter months! Thank you for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Best Chicken and Dumplings ever!!!! I even liked it better left over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

    • on December 21, 2009

      I usually make drop dumplings. This is my first try at rolled dumplings. This is the only way, for me now. Turned out perfect. I mixed them in my processor, first I mixed the flour and seasonings, without the poultry seasoning. Then the rest of the ingrediants. I had to add a little extra flour until it came away from the sides of the bowl. Then I cut small pieces of dough and rolled it out a little at a time on my cutting board. They were so tender and good. I like my soup to be brothy and it was. They did not break apart or make the soup to thick. Thank you so much for these dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      No time to read the over 200 reviews, so I hope I am contributing something new here... For the broth/soup I started with my leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass that I had cooked for the broth. Most of that I froze for later because it made 6 gallons or so. I used about 2 gallons for this recipe. I used all the remaining turkey meat from the bones and added chopped carrots and onions and seasonings to my tastes (I used some sage, rosemary, and basil, but the original recipe or whatever you like would be fine too). For the dumplings, I forgot at the last minute that I was out of eggs, so used Ener-G egg replacer, and it worked fine. I was also in a hurry and had no time to roll out the dumplings, so dropped them by teaspoofuls into the broth. They cooked up fine! I suspect the texture is a bit different done this way, but the dish was still delicious and my husband loved it. The kids, unfortunately, refused to even try it! This is the first time I have made such a dish and it looked very strange to them--too mushy looking I think. More for us though. I plan to try again rolling out the dough, but will probably half the dumplings. I cannot imaging how they all could fit in only 1 gallon of soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

    • on November 13, 2009

      Pretty good! Hubby says is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This was excellent! I made a large batch of this with a 5lb chicken. We ate dinner plus lunches and I froze 2 large portions. It still tasted great defrosted. I also tried this tonight using a country pork rib (boneless) instead of chicken and it was excellent also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This is a real down-home recipe from a Southern girl! I did have to add about a tsp. of kosher salt to the "finished product" and half the dumpling recipe considering others' opinions. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. It was great and is plenty. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I found this soup to be just okay--not bad by any means, just ot something I want to rave about. My chickens were small, so I used two (for a total of about 4.25 lb.). And I halved the amount of dumplings and found I still had plenty, though I was disappointed that they turned out so flat. I thought 1/8" was pretty thin (but I liked using the pizza butter on them--so quick!). If I try this again, I'd make the dumplings thicker, use regular onion instead of green onion and add the red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.3
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    46%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1572.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites