262 Reviews

Can I give this 10 stars? This recipe is excellent! Very easy! This tasted just like my grandma's recipe! I used 3 big boneless chicken breasts for this and cooked as directed, and still had a ton of flavor. The dumplings was easy to make, and tasted awesome! Even my picky kids loved it! The next night we had left over's, and I fried up some chopped bacon, and added it to the soup, and oooh LA LA! It was wonderful. I paired this with home made biscuits to sop up the juice. This recipe will be filed in my recipe box! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate K. January 15, 2014

Delicious! The dumplings in particular are heavenly- like little clouds bursting with mild flavor. The broth was basically just a broth, but I love these dumplings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer November 25, 2013

This recipe is AMAZING!!! Except for the fact I added a whole tablespoon of black pepper instead of 1/2 teaspoon the recipe calls for (oops!!) ...it came across a bit peppery, but luckily, my husband is from the islands and loves spicy food, so he really enjoyed it! I LOVE the dumpling recipe, they came out PERFECT!!!! This is will most certainly be a weekly meal in my household!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjmrtnz August 12, 2013

This is a very good recipe and easy to make. It was very much like the chicken and dumplings my aunt in East Texas made but I think the dumplings in this recipe were better. I like the rolled dumplings cut in squares in this recipe better than the old fashioned drop dumplings. I had the neighbors over and we fed seven people with plenty left over. Was surprised at the number of servings in this recipe. The only thing I did differently was to use chicken with herb and spice bullion cubes rather than the ordinary ones. VERY GOOD! I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgeB59102 July 14, 2013

Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectqa March 14, 2013

The chicken and gravy in this were delicious, but the dumplings were really doughy and heavy. I will make this again but use mini biscuits instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely March 03, 2013

Mighty tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Mimi* January 30, 2013

This was excellent! I had never made rolled dumplings before and the dough was wonderful to work with. I added a little milk at the end as we prefer a creamy sauce with our chicken & dumplings but otherwise, I made as directed. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again!
12.13.12 Updated - Made this many, many times now. It's still a great recipe. This last time I used split chicken breasts that I roasted in the oven. Roasted at 400? for 30 minutes to crisp up the skin then put into the pot of water with the pan dripping. I must say, it really made for a richer, deeper chicken flavor. Did everything as written and the family just ate and moaned (with delight). Thanks again for a wonderful recipe that I make quite often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ December 13, 2012

We got our first snow of the season here yesterday...of course it was a chicken and dumpling night! ;) I doubled this recipe, didn't include the veggies, added just a tad of milk with cornstarch (we love ours thick) and it turned out WONDERFUL! Doubling the recipe made a HUGE amount and I love that not only can I now freeze a very large amount, we will have this amazing hot comfort food to eat on all week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom.2.Three December 10, 2012

Delicious! I totally believe that review about a diner selling out of this recipe and having to make two more batches that day. This recipe makes classic good ol' Southern chicken 'n dumplings. Not fluffy dumplings (so if you want that, this isn't the one for you). You can halve the butter and use some oil to make up the difference (just as yummy). Only thing was I needed to add salt and pepper to the broth. Completely filled up our largest soup pot. Love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc Mom October 27, 2012
Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings