Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    262 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 262

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2014

      Can I give this 10 stars? This recipe is excellent! Very easy! This tasted just like my grandma's recipe! I used 3 big boneless chicken breasts for this and cooked as directed, and still had a ton of flavor. The dumplings was easy to make, and tasted awesome! Even my picky kids loved it! The next night we had left over's, and I fried up some chopped bacon, and added it to the soup, and oooh LA LA! It was wonderful. I paired this with home made biscuits to sop up the juice. This recipe will be filed in my recipe box! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      Delicious! The dumplings in particular are heavenly- like little clouds bursting with mild flavor. The broth was basically just a broth, but I love these dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      This recipe is AMAZING!!! Except for the fact I added a whole tablespoon of black pepper instead of 1/2 teaspoon the recipe calls for (oops!!) ...it came across a bit peppery, but luckily, my husband is from the islands and loves spicy food, so he really enjoyed it! I LOVE the dumpling recipe, they came out PERFECT!!!! This is will most certainly be a weekly meal in my household!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      This is a very good recipe and easy to make. It was very much like the chicken and dumplings my aunt in East Texas made but I think the dumplings in this recipe were better. I like the rolled dumplings cut in squares in this recipe better than the old fashioned drop dumplings. I had the neighbors over and we fed seven people with plenty left over. Was surprised at the number of servings in this recipe. The only thing I did differently was to use chicken with herb and spice bullion cubes rather than the ordinary ones. VERY GOOD! I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      The chicken and gravy in this were delicious, but the dumplings were really doughy and heavy. I will make this again but use mini biscuits instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Mighty tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      This was excellent! I had never made rolled dumplings before and the dough was wonderful to work with. I added a little milk at the end as we prefer a creamy sauce with our chicken & dumplings but otherwise, I made as directed. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again!
      12.13.12 Updated - Made this many, many times now. It's still a great recipe. This last time I used split chicken breasts that I roasted in the oven. Roasted at 400? for 30 minutes to crisp up the skin then put into the pot of water with the pan dripping. I must say, it really made for a richer, deeper chicken flavor. Did everything as written and the family just ate and moaned (with delight). Thanks again for a wonderful recipe that I make quite often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      We got our first snow of the season here yesterday...of course it was a chicken and dumpling night! ;) I doubled this recipe, didn't include the veggies, added just a tad of milk with cornstarch (we love ours thick) and it turned out WONDERFUL! Doubling the recipe made a HUGE amount and I love that not only can I now freeze a very large amount, we will have this amazing hot comfort food to eat on all week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Delicious! I totally believe that review about a diner selling out of this recipe and having to make two more batches that day. This recipe makes classic good ol' Southern chicken 'n dumplings. Not fluffy dumplings (so if you want that, this isn't the one for you). You can halve the butter and use some oil to make up the difference (just as yummy). Only thing was I needed to add salt and pepper to the broth. Completely filled up our largest soup pot. Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This makes a lot of dumplings. I only cooked half because I was afraid I wouldn't have enough broth once I added my chicken back in. I probably could have made more than I did. This recipe was good and could probably serve more than it states, but that's ok, it just means more leftovers for us. A great rainy day meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I thought this was a very bland recipe and the dumplings were very heavy and tasted like pure flour. Will not be making it again. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Yummy recipe. My pot was a little small to fit a whole gallon of water, so I didn't end up using all the dumplings. It makes a LOT of dumplings. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      I've made this a few times for my husband, kids and even my parents with rave reviews. I takes a bit of time but the end result is well worth it. This recipe is one of our favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Wonderful recipe for Chicken and Dumplings!! I used about two-thirds of the dumplings, but wish I had only used half. I froze the remaining dumplings for the next time I make this. Yes. There will absolutely be a next time. It's terrific. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Susie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Never had bad chicken and dumplings but this is one of the best I've had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      We are southern transplants. The first time I ordered chicken and dumplins' at a restaurant here, I thought they must have run out of dumplings and substituted with thick egg noodles. They were very good, just not what I was expecting. When the owner of the restaurant asked how we enjoyed our meal, I asked about the dumplings. She said she always gets questioned by visiting "yankees". I now know that how this dish is prepared is very regional. These are not my grandmas dumplings, but they are really,really good. Sometimes we're in the mood for "northern" ones and sometimes in the mood for "southern" ones. It's great to have a choice. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      awesome, the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      Made this tonight & loved it! I didn't have any celery & was out of poultry seasoning, but it didn't hurt the flavor. I halved the recipe, & it still made a large pot of dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.3
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    46%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1572.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes