Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    262 Total Reviews

    Showing 241-260 of 262

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2006

      Great Chicken & Dumplings! DH devoured them. I usely make the fluffy kind,now these will be the kind that I will be making. The recipe is very easy to make, I halved the recipe for the 2 of us, used 2 LARGE chicken breast all the veggies & spices that the recipe called for. Instead of chicken bouillion, I used chicken base. The leftovers was delicious for lunch. Thanks, Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      Another Texan who absolutely loved this recipe! My five year old daughter enjoyed helping me roll out and cut the dumplin's- the whole family gobbled it up! Much better than the "drop" dumplings grandma used to make! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      Very good! I've never made dumplings that were rolled before, and they were delicious and easy to do with the pizza cutter. I rolled out on a wax paper covered counter. Only changes I made were to use butter for margarine and 2 tablespoons chicken soup base for the bouillon cubes. I wouldn't cut down the amount of dumplings, but more chicken could be added if desired. Reheats beautifully. So comforting on a cold winter day! Thanks, Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Fabulous dish!! The dumplings are the best! One tip: if you want to make the dumplings ahead, after cutting them, dip one side with a little flour so they won't stick together and put in refrigerator until you are ready to use them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This recipe was very good. The meat, the broth, the dumplings were all very flavorful. The only problem I had was that when I halved the dumplings to roll them out, that half was plenty for the pot, so I had a whole half of dough to roll out. I when ahead and cut the extras, froze them flat, and bagged 'em for later. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      perfect!! i used some leftover chicken and cut the dumpling recipe in half (cause there are only two of us to eat it). the dumplings were great, the flavor was great, and my husband couldn't stop moaning. he gave this recipe 10 stars. thanks for the awesome recipe, susie :) you texans sure know your chicken and dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      The best chicken dumplings I've had in a long time! The flavor was just how we like it; the dumplings were nicely seasoned. The only change I made was to use butter instead of margarine. This is now a favorite for us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      Just perfect! I'm so glad I found this recipe--I have always had trouble getting it just right. I followed the recipe with the exceptions of making half as many dumplings and adding homemade egg noodles (which was not necessary). I used Seasoned Salt where poultry seasoning was called for, same amount and white pepper rather than black pepper. This dish got rave reviews and is definitely a keeper. I can't imagine it any better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

    • on November 10, 2005

      Absolute perfection! This is one of my family's favorite meals, now! Excellent flavor and consistency. And it's really quite easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      I normally don't like to give star ratings if I don't follow a recipe EXACTLY as written but in this case I will make an exception. The only thing I changed was the dumpling. The chicken part I followed to the letter. The DH thought he would like to have biscuit-type dumplings. This recipe is so delicious. Today's left-overs are going to become chicken noodle soup. I will make this again and again! Thank you, Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      I made this for dinner last night and it was a big hit. I will add this to my recipe collection. I served this on top of homemade mashed potatoes and it was fantastic. Perfect comfort food for cold days! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      The best Chicken and Dumplings that the family ever had! True southern comfort food. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      This was a very good chicken and dumplins. I used four bone in, skin on chicken breast instead of a whole chicken because I don't care for leg and thigh meat. It turned out just wonderful and will feed us for a few days. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      This is a great recipe. The dumplings are very simple to prepare. My picky six year old and 3 year old twins had 2 big bowls each. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      This was the best chicken & dumpling recipe I have ever tried, each step explained very well. It took me awhile & I made huge mess but it worth it! The dumplings turned out GREAT! It was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      Fantastic Recipe!!!!! My whole family loved it, I used the paper bag trick described in one of the reviews. It worked! I had to tape the bag down so it would stay put. Thank you Susie for sharing your recipe, It has become a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      I had to review this one! I made it one night when I was looking for a "different" dumpling recipe - I looked at the 6 cups of flour and decided I only needed half the recipe, well... my 8 year old would not stop eating the dumplings as they cooked, so I had to make the other half recipe. Unfortunately, I hadn't saved this to my cookbook, and I wasted 30 minutes tracking it down to make again tonight at the request of my kids -it is cold and snowing! My kids give it 5 stars!! (my picky 6 year old son actually gave it 11 stars!) The kids even helped make this one. They LOVE this recipe. Makes a TON!!! Nice cross between a dumpling and a noodle! Thanks for posting - these are far better than bisquick and better than the tortilla "dumplings". These are terrific!!! A must try!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      Great recipe!This is very similar to the recipe that I use--just better:)The only thing that I would change in the future would be to cut back or eliminate the poultry seasoning in the dumplings--and that's just a personal preference kind of thing---**neat tip--ask for the paper bag from the grocery store and tear that open and lay it(inside out) flat on your work surface. lightly dust with flour and then roll out your dough and cut it on the paper.*works like a charm then you just throw it out:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      This was wonderful! The dumplings are the best ever, and using a pizza cutter makes it a breeze to cut them. I also found it much easier to use my fingers to incorporate the margarine into the flour mixture. The only thing I did different was omit the carrot. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.3
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    46%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1572.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes