Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    261 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 261

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2010

      very good! I felt like the dumpling ratio was perfect, and so did our guests. when making the dumplings, i added a teaspoon of powdered chicken stock into the flour mixture and thought it gave it a bit more flavor than it would have had other wise. also, I sauteed the onion, carrots, and celery in a tea of olive oil for 5-8 minutes covered in the stock pot before adding the broth back in. I chilled the broth slightly after removing the chicken to separate the fat out. don't feel it was lacking any flavor from removing the fat. we feel like it could have fed 6 adults as a main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      Old time Texas food!...I made a batch for "Wednesday Special" at my small cafe in Uncertain, Texas... Had to make two more batches that day...It is the best the we, "River Rats", have had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      HOLY SMOKES BATMAN! These dumplings are crazy wonderful! It does make a huge huge amount. But I think they taste better the next day. The soup is tasty too! I have recommended this recipe to many , many. It also is my stand by for making a dish to give away. The poultry seasoning in the dumplings make the difference..I actually upped it too 2tsp. Try this recipe , you wont regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      The dumplings were gummy and pasty. I like mine puffy. I did like the poultry seasoning in the dumplings. I browned my chicken in a dutch oven first, then removed the skin and added chicken broth (not bouillon), boned the chicken and returned to the broth with the celery and carrots. The recipe was easy to follow and the flavors were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was a huge success with my family. I used Wondra to prevent the dumplings sticking to each other and froze the dumplings I didn't cook on single layers of waxed paper sprinkled with Wondra. The Wondra, in addition to preventing sticking, also helps thicken the broth without changing the flavor. Tasted great!!! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I made this for my family last night... they LOVED it! Including the kid's! Instead of rolling and cutting the dumplings, I just dropped them by spoon fulls in like my g-grandma used to do. So Easy and So Good!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      I'm just getting ready to make this for the second time. I've always had the "puffy" dumplings until i tried this one. The family loves these just as much. (I love them because there is always enough to go around!) Quite often i will take leftovers into work for me & the doctor i work for to eat for lunch. Today she requested this recipe for tomorrow's lunch. The weather just went from high nineties to low sixties & we're all ready for some good ole comfort food. This is going to go into the permanent recipe file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Wow! This recipe is the one! FABULOUS!!! I made these tonight and changed up a few things. I didn't do any of the vegetables. After the chicken got done boiling I put my 2 cups of broth to the side to cool. After I got the two cups out it didn't seem like enough juice for me. I like a lot of juice so I opened up 3 can of chicken broth and added 4 cubes of the chicken seasoning and 2 cans of water and and added a tad bit of chicken season. I then let that cook for about 15 minutes while I was making the dumplings. Rolled out the dumplings in 2 sections and they turned out AWESOME! This recipe Rocks!! Thanks for sharing it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      This dish is truly restaurant quality. As a matter of fact, it beats the chicken and dumplings I last had at a restaurant. The broth was just insanely good. The dumplings -- yes, there were a ton of them, were chewy and just-right-dense (scrumptious). I did add more veggies, and used chicken breasts; and froze half of the dumplings, not so much because there were too many, but I wanted some in the freezer for a quick repeat of this meal on a busy night. Susie, you made me look like a master cook! Try this recipe. I'm so glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      WoW! This one is a real keeper! Not the easiest thing in the world to put together, but the instructions are like gold! This was really homey- delicious Thanks so much for taking the time to instruct on making the perfect chicken n dumplins in my opinion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Made this for the family last night. I am not a dumpling fan and neither is my oldest daughter, but my husband and youngest daughter loved it. My Husband said it reminded him of the chicken soups his mom and aunt made when he was a child. I thought it was seasoned perfectly, except I did add quite a bit more salt and pepper as well as veg then called for. Also the recipe wasn't clear as to when to add the veg, so I added about 1/2 way through the boiling and then removed with the chicken while the dumplings were boiling. I think out of personal preference next time I will bake the dumplings like biscuits and then add them individually to each bowl. Thank you for posting, this will be my new chicken soup base recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Why is there no 10 star options for recipes as fantastic as this one! Despite the fact that it was over 90 degrees on the day I made this, every last bite was eaten in one meal by my family guests! I have already been asked to make this again! And have also been told to "can & sell it"! So to say it's a hit, is an understatement! Total perfection!! The time it takes to make it, is completely worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Have made this a dozen times with the leftover rotissierie chicken from Costco. Works perfectly. I toss the entire chicken into a large pot of boiling water, add boullion cubes, carrots, garlic, onion. A few hours later I remove the "chicken" and take all of the meat off the bones and proceed on with the regular recipe from there. My 3 kids beg for this recipe whenever we have leftover chicken. I usually serve it with mashed potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I found the dumplings to be tough. I like a more fluffy dumpling and the broth wasn't what I expected. A little too bland for my liking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This is my FIRST time of ever fixing chicken and dumplings. I have not had this since my mother passed away in 1996. I love to cook and I really suprised my DH. DH says,"this taste just how mom would make it." LOL Thank you for posting this wonderful reciept and making my life easier. I added more carrots, onions and celery plus added chicken broth for a little more flavor! This is an awesome reciepe that will be in our household forever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I halved the recipe and modified it (because I only had three chicken breasts on hand), stewed it in the crockpot for seven hours on low, dumped it in a large pot and threw in baby carrots, onion, and three diced potatoes. It got raves from five of my party guests and my mom and I ate two bowls myself. Awesome recipe. Reminds me of my grandma's homemade noodles too! Remember not to make this too far ahead of time (I let them sit for 3 hours on warm), the dumplings will absorb all the broth and you'll be left with dumpling stew. However, no one complained ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      I only made the dumpling part of this recipe and it was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a dumpling that didn't crumble apart during cooking and these were just right. I only made half the recipe and still had a decent amount of dough left once I filled my pot of soup full of dumplings. I used the leftover dough to make some thick, country style noodles, once I rolled the dough out a bit thinner, and froze them. Can't wait to try them in some beef Stroganoff. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      If you just "drop" the dumplings, they aren't real Texas or Southern Dumplings. They must be rolled or they are just dough balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Very satisfying on a cold winter evening. I did cook the chicken the night before, also skimmed the fat off the broth. This was great because of all the dumplings. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Can I give this 10 stars? This recipe is excellent! Very easy! This tasted just like my grandma's recipe! I used 3 big boneless chicken breasts for this and cooked as directed, and still had a ton of flavor. The dumplings was easy to make, and tasted awesome! Even my picky kids loved it! The next night we had left over's, and I fried up some chopped bacon, and added it to the soup, and oooh LA LA! It was wonderful. I paired this with home made biscuits to sop up the juice. This recipe will be filed in my recipe box! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 839.3
     
    Calories from Fat 391
    46%
    Total Fat 43.4 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1572.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites