262 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very good! I felt like the dumpling ratio was perfect, and so did our guests. when making the dumplings, i added a teaspoon of powdered chicken stock into the flour mixture and thought it gave it a bit more flavor than it would have had other wise. also, I sauteed the onion, carrots, and celery in a tea of olive oil for 5-8 minutes covered in the stock pot before adding the broth back in. I chilled the broth slightly after removing the chicken to separate the fat out. don't feel it was lacking any flavor from removing the fat. we feel like it could have fed 6 adults as a main dish.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
healingtouch05 November 06, 2010

Old time Texas food!...I made a batch for "Wednesday Special" at my small cafe in Uncertain, Texas... Had to make two more batches that day...It is the best the we, "River Rats", have had!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammy D. July 13, 2003

HOLY SMOKES BATMAN! These dumplings are crazy wonderful! It does make a huge huge amount. But I think they taste better the next day. The soup is tasty too! I have recommended this recipe to many , many. It also is my stand by for making a dish to give away. The poultry seasoning in the dumplings make the difference..I actually upped it too 2tsp. Try this recipe , you wont regret it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leigh in WA May 17, 2010

The dumplings were gummy and pasty. I like mine puffy. I did like the poultry seasoning in the dumplings. I browned my chicken in a dutch oven first, then removed the skin and added chicken broth (not bouillon), boned the chicken and returned to the broth with the celery and carrots. The recipe was easy to follow and the flavors were good.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef J Bell November 23, 2010

This was a huge success with my family. I used Wondra to prevent the dumplings sticking to each other and froze the dumplings I didn't cook on single layers of waxed paper sprinkled with Wondra. The Wondra, in addition to preventing sticking, also helps thicken the broth without changing the flavor. Tasted great!!! Thanks so much!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EstherRN March 04, 2010

I made this for my family last night... they LOVED it! Including the kid's! Instead of rolling and cutting the dumplings, I just dropped them by spoon fulls in like my g-grandma used to do. So Easy and So Good!!! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flaming Red July 01, 2008

I'm just getting ready to make this for the second time. I've always had the "puffy" dumplings until i tried this one. The family loves these just as much. (I love them because there is always enough to go around!) Quite often i will take leftovers into work for me & the doctor i work for to eat for lunch. Today she requested this recipe for tomorrow's lunch. The weather just went from high nineties to low sixties & we're all ready for some good ole comfort food. This is going to go into the permanent recipe file. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** September 10, 2003

Wow! This recipe is the one! FABULOUS!!! I made these tonight and changed up a few things. I didn't do any of the vegetables. After the chicken got done boiling I put my 2 cups of broth to the side to cool. After I got the two cups out it didn't seem like enough juice for me. I like a lot of juice so I opened up 3 can of chicken broth and added 4 cubes of the chicken seasoning and 2 cans of water and and added a tad bit of chicken season. I then let that cook for about 15 minutes while I was making the dumplings. Rolled out the dumplings in 2 sections and they turned out AWESOME! This recipe Rocks!! Thanks for sharing it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerridean1 January 10, 2012

This dish is truly restaurant quality. As a matter of fact, it beats the chicken and dumplings I last had at a restaurant. The broth was just insanely good. The dumplings -- yes, there were a ton of them, were chewy and just-right-dense (scrumptious). I did add more veggies, and used chicken breasts; and froze half of the dumplings, not so much because there were too many, but I wanted some in the freezer for a quick repeat of this meal on a busy night. Susie, you made me look like a master cook! Try this recipe. I'm so glad I did.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitan January 08, 2012

WoW! This one is a real keeper! Not the easiest thing in the world to put together, but the instructions are like gold! This was really homey- delicious Thanks so much for taking the time to instruct on making the perfect chicken n dumplins in my opinion!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes October 16, 2010
Big Thicket Chicken and Dumplings