9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! The best hamburger bun recipe I've tried. Less oil than other recipes which I think is the key, also the addition of potato flakes and cottage cheese gives a perfect texture. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour, the rest unbleached. Tender buns that stay soft even after storing. After mixing the dough in the Kitchen Aid, cottage cheese was no longer chunky and wasn't evident at all in the finished product. Made 12 buns, which were still large, but I always forget to form them a little higher, my buns always end up a little too wide. Would be great for hot dog buns, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 22, 2009

Very nice receipe! W<br/><br/>We have a wheat allergy in our family, so we used spelt flour. <br/><br/>We also left out the sugar because we don't like sweet buns and choose sesame-oil as vegetable oil which gave an extra bit of flavour. <br/><br/>We tried it three times and will definetly keep it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShellaLaRoche April 01, 2013

super recipe! SIL declared the recipe a "keeper" which is the highest praise. Made as stated, the buns are HUGE. When I make them again (and I will) I'll scale them down to make smaller buns. They look like they come from a specialty bakery. I did not have a problem with the cottage cheese, but I made them in my stand mixer, so it was completely incorporated into the dough. Great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook November 13, 2010

Excellent buns. Nice and soft. the 4 1/2 cup of flour is spot on. They rose so high and big. I made 10 buns but the next time, I will try 12 buns. However, mine baked up with these little black/brown dots from the cottage cheese. Was wondering if there was a way I could completely dissolve them into the dough? Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 24, 2009

Great recipe! I also substituted part whole wheat flour (about half) and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Easy to make, although even though you can make 12 "smaller" ones, they're still huge! Great flavor, kids liked them, not fattening, so this one's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells April 07, 2008

These were fabulous!! I have owned a KitchenAid stand mixer for about eight years and have never been brave enough to make bread with it until now. Your instructions were very clear and easy to follow. This was a great first recipe to try in a stand mixer! The results were simply amazing! I have enough cottage cheese left to make another batch tomorrow! Thank you again for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose June 27, 2007

easy to make, outstanding results every single time! An awesome recipe, I depend on it. Thanks so much for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goegirl April 05, 2007

If I could give these more stars I would. Incredible. These came out perfect. So big and fluffy. I will never buy store bought again. Can't wait to serve these to guests this summer with smoked pork or bbq burgers! Thank You for an awesome recipe! ~Andi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi March 23, 2007

This is our favorite bun recipe by far! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac October 22, 2006
Big Soft Hamburger Buns