25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious. I used roast beef and I chose ciabatta as my bread and left off the pickle. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama November 02, 2008

Original review on Sept. 24, 2004: Needed to take something to a luncheon and this worked out great! I'm sure it would be a big hit at a Super Bowl party or similar situation. I made two 'sandwiches'. One with roast beef and one with turkey. The roast beef one was the most popular. I didn't add pickles. I also used homemade whole wheat French bread. Thanks, Windchime, for sharing such an easy yet flavorful and filling finger food! Updated: I've made this several times now and it is always a HUGE hit. I even get rave reviews when I use low-fat cream cheese and mayo. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 04, 2008

This was wonderful! DoryJean turned me onto it and I had to let my DS try it. I used shaved ham and shaved roast beef too and it's the perfect combo. I'm posting a picture of Dory's sandwich because it turned out prettier than mine. Thanks so much for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl September 06, 2007

This is the 3rd. time I made this sandwich, I found just about the same recipe in Taste of Home, I used a loaf of Itilian bread & hollowed it out some, added shaved ham & shaved roastbeef. My very good friend mydesigirl came for a visit & I served this to her, she loved it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoryJean54 September 03, 2007

I liked it, but it seemed more like a chip dip than a sandwich spread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sweet Sal August 07, 2007

Delicious! You can imagine how upset I was that there was no roast beef or french bread in the house. as suggested, i used onion powder as a subsitute and did it quite fine. :) It's in the fridge right now and I hope to have more tomorrow! thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovely Rita February 16, 2006

This was great! We took it camping for sandwiches. Excellent picnic food as it can be made ahead and bread won't get soggy. Tastes better the 2nd and third day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ July 17, 2005

Very yummy! Great for lunch or dinner and it would be perfect for a party. I made as directed using Marie's Homemade French Bread #117176. Thanks, Windchime, for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 04, 2005

Excellent!! I made this for a group of 12 women, and they all loved it. I made one with turkey and one with roast beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chardman June 29, 2005

This is very good. I was out of green onions so I used onion powder and also added some chives. I also chopped my meat up in the spread. Will definately be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanV April 19, 2005
Big Sandwich Spread