Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Sandwich Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Sandwich Spread

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2006

      Another hi rating for this speard. Loaded the french bread down with turkey, ham and lettuce after very generously using the spread. This was for a large party we had for my sister. Everyone was very impressed. Had sone extra left over and used it on tortillas just as a snack.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      Very good and easy to make. I halved the recipe for me and my husband. Wasn't over-powered by the cream cheese. This would be a good spread for almost any kind of sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Very very good sandwich spread, better than some restaurants! I half the amount as there's only DH and me and it's MAJOR YUM! I was worried that it would be too 'cream cheesy' but boy was I wrong. All the ingredients melded together beautifully and gave such amazing taste. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      This is our go-to sandwich spread. I use this quite often to make french bread sandwiches for my family. As a matter of fact, they call it Big Sandwich when they ask for it. I use it as it is given in the recipe, although I only use it on one side of the bread. I use plain mayo on the other and I get more sandwiches out of one recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      I tried it and this is fantastic! Halfed the recipe - did a few tweaks as I used what I had on hand -- cream cheese; subbed feta for the cheddar and mayo -- omitted the wor sauce since I was gonna use it on turkey sandwiches and left out the onion powder as well. Also makes a great dip as I had it with tortilla chips too. Delish! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      For a change I didn't have to crank up the stove and the prep was downright easy. I used my free time to watch a California car chase on the news. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This is a very good recipe to take to a picnic. The spread is tasty,and didn't make the bread soggy. I made this as directed, and loved all of the flavors. The only negative thing, for my taste, was the amount of Worcestershire Sauce. It was pretty strong, IMHO. I will definately make this again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This was so good! :) We used the roast beef and didnt have the onions so we did the onion powder. I was making dinner at the same time for my kids (ages 3 and 11 mos.) and forgot the worchestire sauce so I just put a little bit after I spreaded it. I couldnt use all the spread on my sandwich though. Either way my husband loved it as well and satisfied the pregnancy craving I was having. :) Ohhh, and we used banana peppers on our sandwich, no pickles. Husbands preference. Thanks so much for something quick and easy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      YUM! Really rich, I only used 1/2 lb. roast beef for a whole loaf of french bread, next time I will use 1 lb since the amount of spread to meat was way too much. I will also try the sandwich toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Delicious. I used roast beef and I chose ciabatta as my bread and left off the pickle. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Original review on Sept. 24, 2004: Needed to take something to a luncheon and this worked out great! I'm sure it would be a big hit at a Super Bowl party or similar situation. I made two 'sandwiches'. One with roast beef and one with turkey. The roast beef one was the most popular. I didn't add pickles. I also used homemade whole wheat French bread. Thanks, Windchime, for sharing such an easy yet flavorful and filling finger food! Updated: I've made this several times now and it is always a HUGE hit. I even get rave reviews when I use low-fat cream cheese and mayo. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      This was wonderful! DoryJean turned me onto it and I had to let my DS try it. I used shaved ham and shaved roast beef too and it's the perfect combo. I'm posting a picture of Dory's sandwich because it turned out prettier than mine. Thanks so much for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This is the 3rd. time I made this sandwich, I found just about the same recipe in Taste of Home, I used a loaf of Itilian bread & hollowed it out some, added shaved ham & shaved roastbeef. My very good friend mydesigirl came for a visit & I served this to her, she loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I liked it, but it seemed more like a chip dip than a sandwich spread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Delicious! You can imagine how upset I was that there was no roast beef or french bread in the house. as suggested, i used onion powder as a subsitute and did it quite fine. :) It's in the fridge right now and I hope to have more tomorrow! thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      This was great! We took it camping for sandwiches. Excellent picnic food as it can be made ahead and bread won't get soggy. Tastes better the 2nd and third day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      Very yummy! Great for lunch or dinner and it would be perfect for a party. I made as directed using Marie's Homemade French Bread #117176. Thanks, Windchime, for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      Excellent!! I made this for a group of 12 women, and they all loved it. I made one with turkey and one with roast beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      This is very good. I was out of green onions so I used onion powder and also added some chives. I also chopped my meat up in the spread. Will definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Great flavor! I used 1 tsp. onion powder. Assembled in mere minutes, Thanks Windchime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Sandwich Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.6
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    30%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 817.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites