10 Reviews

I've been making this for years, and it's always a big hit at tailgates and camping. I do have a couple of suggestions;

- After a couple of near-catastophic foil packet failures, I started using a disposable aluminum lasagna pan. Much easier to check the progress and stir things up during cooking, and far less mess.

- I always slice the smoked sausage lengthwise and put it on the grill to get a bit of a char going before cutting into chunks. Improves both the flavor, and especially the texture of the final product quite a bit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikeOK September 24, 2011

I've had this dish several times made by a friend. I finally made it myself. I did half and half red and green bell peppers. The red bell peppers are a great addition. I followed the recipe for the amount of tabasco and found it to be a little much. I eat a lot of tabasco on almost everything and think the dish would be better with less of it. I also used the foil pan instead of just foil and found it to be very easy. I will post after next tweaked recipe. I will keep the red bell pepper, use about half the tabasco, and probably add more sausage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsheen2 June 04, 2013

Thanks for posting this. I lost my marlboro cookbook five years ago and was excited to see one of my favs. again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t.777 July 03, 2010

I stumbled on to this recipe after trying to figure out what to do with a pound of chipotle-flavored smoked sausage a friend gave me a couple days ago. I didn't have any jars of sweet and sour sauce, so I used #350238 from here on the site, and set out to create my own sensational sweet and sour smoked sausage skillet (say that 5 times fast). I used Tiger sauce added to said recipe for sauce and thinned it out a bit for your dish, I also used a can of pineapple chunks toward the end and left out the jalapenos since I had none, and served the mess over rice. It was pretty good stuff, better than I expected in fact. I will definitely keep this one around for that next camping trip where I bet it will taste even better. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks September 14, 2009

Tried this last weekend on the charcoal grill, was tasty, but a little to sweet for my family, we give it a 4.5 star rating. I will add more hot sauce to offset the sweet next time. Thanks for posting this Pat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shadows July 18, 2009

I have this cookbook and have done this recipe many times and it is always a hit. One of my favorite things is that it is so easy to play with. I have used different sausages (spicy, sweet, etc. ), different hot sauces (Tobascco, Red Hot), and my favorite different peppers for a different kick (Habanero, etc.) This is easy and great. I have also done this in a crock-pot when when I am not grilling. Great Recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjmougs February 10, 2009

I used alot more hot sauce and I also think it would be 5 stars if I had used a yellow onion so I will make it again like that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICook4danny&Puddin September 01, 2008

Instead of sweet and sour sauce, I use a mango chipotle salsa... MMmmmmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Dude Bob February 04, 2008

We love this and eat it like every weekend. We toss in carrots and potatoes and whole onions also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondieco02 July 27, 2006

Delicious and simple to make. I prepared this the day before, then tossed it in the cooler for the camping trip. Tossed the whole thing on the grate that evening and it was delicious. Will definitely use this recipe again, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! July 14, 2006
Big Ol' Mess (Smoked Sausage in Spicy Sweet Sauce)