Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Ol Cowboy Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Ol Cowboy Cookies

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2005

      If you don't have a large bowl, a clean plastic dishpan works well! I bought one just to use for mixing large-quantiy recipes. When not in use as a mixing bowl, I store baking supplies in it in the cupboard. That way it doesn't take up extra room.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      these are awesome. i added mini m&m's to them just because i had them. makes alot. i just baked a few and rolled the rest of them into balls which i put into freezer bags and froze.it will be great to have on hand when the grandkids come over. this recipe is certainly a keeper and makes a good addition to my freezer cooking recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Well, my husband says rate this cookie a 9 out of 10 since there is no 10, I gave it 5 stars! This is a different cookie. It is extremely flavorful. I used M&M's, springtime chips, pecans, peanut chips. Also, I did not have Old Fashioned Oats so I replaced with Quick Oats and they came out fabulous. My coconut I toasted lightly beforehand. I used my normal cookie scoop and just dropped 9 cookies to a sheet to allow plenty of spread room. Fabulous and makes an enormous amount of cookies, but we are big cookie eaters here! Thank you for a great recipe!! I baked @ 350 for 17 minutes, beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      I needed to make cookies for Teacher Appreciation Day at my son's school and decided to do a double batch of these. I used both semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips. They bake up so nice and taste fantastic. I will be reccomending this recipe for years to come!!! I also want to try making it using M&M's or Chocolate raisins instead of chocolate chips as the dough is such a great start for almost any mix in! Yummy. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      This is my favorite cowboy cookie recipe! I made a batch without coconut this week because I was out and it makes a big difference. You can't really taste it so much when it is in the cookie, but I think it adds a great texture and moisture.

      This is in the keeper binder! You know it is serious when it gets printed out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      These are wonderful! I also made them just as written but could easily see substitions of the type of chips or dried fruit and type of nut. The recipe says 2 to 3 dozen but I got 5 dozen using an ice cream scoop. Great cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I made this for my Christmas Open House. When they first came out of the oven I thought they were too salty. I put them in the freezer until the party and once they were served EVERYONE loved these. Will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Holy cow! I couldn't stop sneaking bites of dough and the baked cookies are awesome as well. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      These are MOST excellent! I used about 1.5 cups of coconut, 1 cup raisens, 1 cup milk chocolate morsels, and 1 cup semi-sweet with 2 cups of chopped walnuts. My husband says I outdid myself with this recipe ... he and my 2 year old got up just now and gave a high-five over these cookies! As a side note, I melted my butter a little too efficiently ... I had to refrigerate my dough in order to make it firm enough to form into balls ... 11 minutes in the oven and cooling on the pan did the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      EXCELLENT!!!!!These are great when you get tired of regular chocolate chip cookies. I halved the recipe and thougtht I would be stuck with too many cookies. I had nothing to worry about they were gone before I knew it. I'll make the full batch next time. Thank you for posting this great tasting cookie recipe. I'll be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I forgot to rate these. I think this is the best cowboy cookie recipe out there. It doesn't need any tweaking. I've made them a few times and I'm getting ready to make 200!!! of them in the next two days. SIgh... I must be crazy. They get raves and they are really good frozen and eaten right out of the freezer. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This in one of my family's favorite cookies. They are a great combinations of flavors. It makes a lot! Much more than the 2-3 dozen stated. I'd say it's closer to 9 dozen! It barely fits in my kitchenaide mixing bowl. I hide some in the freezer to save for later. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I had these cookies at a charity function...and I have been looking for the recipe ever since. These are AMAZINGLY wonderful cookies...and my all time favorite, now. I used butterscotch chips in the recipe along with the chocolate chips, but I didn't like them. Next time (which will be real soon) I will use all chocolate chips and some type of dried fruit, possibly cranberries or cherries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This recipe was HUGE! Not only that but they were amazing. I spent the whole day baking cookies with my Grandma and by golly we sure had fun making this batch. We couldn't help but sneak a bite of the dough here or there, it was delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I received so many complements on these cookies… even though I forgot the oatmeal! I can’t wait to make them again… with the oatmeal :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I forgot to rate this months ago when I first tried this recipe! It became my Husbands very favorite cookie, and he asks me about twice a month to make "those good cookies"! Since he just finished raking the yard, and clipping the dog this afternoon I decided to make a batch for him even though he hadn't asked. He will be happy to have these to snack on this next work week! I've tried different recipes similar to this, but this one has the perfect amount of everything, and it is the best in our opinion! Makes a large amount as well, so if I only have time to put a couple sheet fulls in the oven, I just put the remaining batter in a large zip lock bag and refrigerate or freeze until I need it again! Thanks a bunch for posting this one! I'm editing this today to add the 5 stars I forgot to give it yesterday!!!!! It is a recipe that well deserves 10 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I made a half batch of these cookies last night, and used two small eggs instead of trying to divide an egg in half. I also used two cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the 1.5 I should have used. These cookies are soooo good. I like the fact that they are semi-healthy too. even though they are high calorie because they have large amounts of cinnamon, coconut, oats, and nuts in them, all of which are very good for you. I can actually feel good about eating this dessert in moderation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I made this last night and they are frickin awesome! I followed the recipe to a "T" and they are now my favorite cookie. Hubby and people and worked also loved them to death! I think someone should re-post this with the words "chocolate, coconut, and oatmeal" in the name so people find the recipe when searching those words. Just fab!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      These are the same cookies my mother always baked and used them in her gift-giving Christmas tins. The only difference is that she used the quick type oats. I am now carrying on the tradition by using the same recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Ol Cowboy Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (2701 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.0
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    50%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 35.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 291.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 27.4 g
    109%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes