Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big John's Killer Caesar Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big John's Killer Caesar Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2010

      Hands down, absolutely THE BEST homemade Caesar dressing around. It's very tangy. My husband, two toddlers and I all LOVE caesar salad and this is better than anything I've ever made at any restaurant. It's easy, too. What could be better? The only TINY thing I change is that I use only 1/2 the amount of anchovy paste. Otherwise, I follow this recipe to the T. Also, I made this once with lowered fat Hellman's mayo and I've got to say, it was the most disgusting thing I've ever eaten. If you're looking to lighten it up and make it healthier, dip your fork in this TOTALLY WONDERFUL FULL-FAT dressing and enjoy SMALL QUANTITIES rather than destroying the flavor just to make weight loss even more miserable! ;) it's got a great, robust flavor and you don't need a lot. Don't mess with the recipe. Just use less. :) Thanks, Big John. YOU ROCK!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      FANTASTIC!!! Made it to go with Valentine's Day meal and we loved it! I did use 4 large cloves of garlic but we are garlic lovers. I did the rest of the recipe the same. Used an immersion blender on it in the end. Really good. A permanent recipe in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This is a nice creamy TASTY caesar salad dressing!! I am not a fan of mayo, but this recipe could make me change my mind on that!! I have tried a couple of caesar dressings with the EVOO as the base and this one tops all of the others. I did add a dash of Worchestershire sauce and a dash of Dijon mustard as I like the added zing. Thanks for this recipe!! Defiitely a killer recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I was extremely happy the first time I've ever attempted to make caesar dressing. My hubby who hates mayo loved this recipe! I omitted the egg and anchovy paste and it still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This was awesome! I CAN make my own mayo, but this was easy to make with ingredients I have on hand and it was way less dishes to wash. Family loved it and a little goes a long way, the flavors are powerful and perfect with crispy romaine, parm and croutons on top, I also grilled some chicken, served it on top too to make a meal. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This was a wonderful Caesar dressing! I used it on my Lu Lu's Bristro salad with chicken and penne and it was perfect to feed the hungry neighbors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I guess you can afford to br bold when you're right. This is THE BEST. Now if I only had all the money I wasted on bottled stuff that I ended up not using.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Pronounced Flavor! I only used 1 TBSP of anchovy paste, and for our taste buds it was perfect, I think more would make it too salty for us. Very garlicky-but we love garlic. This is a Perfect Caesar Salad Dressing and this is the one I will make in the future. Thank You so much for sharing this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Dear Big John, Killer. Regards, Pookatron

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Holy Smokes! This is the BEST salad dressing I've made in a long time! Subbed 1/2 a tin of anchovies & their oil for the anchovy paste ( a necessity thing), used real egg, fresh minced Italian parsley & bottled lemon juice (a real sin I know but I have a big bottle now during canning season & lime would be wrong). Added a dash of Worchestershire & Dijon mustard as aonther reviewer suggested - OMG made a SECOND salad just to have more! Big John, you are my hero - a container of this will be in my fridge for the rest of the summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Big John, I just want you to know that this has been our favorite salad dressing for several years. I add a dash of Worsteshire sauce and a dash of Dijon to taste on both and it is absolutely so delicious! You provided the perfect Caeser dressing, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      With this dressing I use romaine lettuce, crumbled boiled egg, diced lemon, diced purple onion, capers and parmasean cheese. Great salad if you use great ingredients

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I have to say that this is great. Perfect flavor. Not to strong and over powering but not bland in the least. I will be making this one of my keepers. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

    • on March 09, 2009

      WOW! I've tried this recipe a few times to double check how much I truly love it. Here's what I found ... must use fresh garlic and good parmesan. Once, I bought cheap already shredded parmesan and it made my dressing 'rubbery'. ew. Also, I bought one type of anchovy paste which made for a delicious dressing. But then the next time, I used one with an Italian flag logo (cause that's all they had at this store) which ended making my dressing terrible! Now I know what I need for a great combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I love this recipe! I used the raw egg and Kewpi brand mayo ( Japanese mayo). Raw eggs are no problem over here but will more than likely switch to egg substitute when we return to the US. We will be making this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      I did not like this because it still tasted very much like mayo to me. Followed the directions and let it sit for about 6 hr. I will post back if it improves with more time. As is, I would not repeat this recipe or finish what I've made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      I liked it, but it was definitely not the best Caesar dressing I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Sorry! It didn't suit my taste. It had a kind of chalky quality to it. I just thought that if only the people who liked it rated it, then the whole rating system would be bogus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I LOVED IT!!! The only change I made was to add 1 tbsp of worchestire sauce for my taste but this is truely the best caesar dressing I have ever had i'm tossing out the others this is the one and only now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big John's Killer Caesar Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    67%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 150.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes