Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Grandma's Best Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Grandma's Best Peanut Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    287 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 287

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2010

      Great! I used butter instead of Crisco because I was too lazy to go to the store and they turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This recipe really doesn't need another 5 star review, but here it is anyway! These are the best, most super-delicious PB cookies ever! I've made them a bunch of times and here's what I do: I use butter instead of Crisco, I add a pkg PB chips to them to punch up the peanut buttery-ness,and I don't sift or pre-mix the dry ingredients. (I have made it both ways and there wasn't a discernible difference).

      I also don't roll them in sugar-personal preference-and they turn out so well that when I bring these to events, people always think I got them from some high-end bakery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      I have recipe "adhd" so I never follow anything to the "t" oh and I always run out in the middle of baking and a bake at like 1 or 2 am so not goin out just gonna make it work...........I doubled this recipe added almond extract to it with the vanilla then realized I was an egg short so substitutited a small banana for the egg so I have peanut butter banana cookies that are quite amazing, chewy and crunchy and a really great flavor. I also decided to drizzle with a chocolate ganache and sprinkle with crushed almonds and crushed honey roasted peanuts............I have found the cure for pms!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      If you live in Florida (low altitude) make sure you only use 1 1/2 cups of flour. Otherwise your cookies will be big "balls" instead of cookies. Otherwise, the recipe is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      My first time baking cookies and they turned out really good, thanks to this recipe. Baked at 180*C for 15 mins, center rack. However, I will reduce the white sugar next time to 3/4 cup, and probably increase the peanut butter by a little bit. Would probably be just as good with the chunky peanut butter too. Will definitely make these again.
      Updated (28-Aug-11) Tried these again with Skippy's chunky peanut butter and it was even better than the smooth ones (IMHO, anyway). That's how I'll be making these cookies from now on. TY for posting, LiisaN.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I really wanted a good peanut butter cookie that was more that just peanut butter/sugar/egg. Next time I will substitute 1.5 cups peanut butter against only .5 cup of Crisco for a richer peanut buttery flavor. But in no way were these bad tasting! First batch I made were per directions and came out a bit on the crispy side, so the other batches I only did for 10 minutes and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      OMG.... I've died and gone to peanutbutter cookie heaven. Made the recipe exactly, but did leave out the sugar on the top. Melt in your mouth, cant stop at one cookie. I will be making these cookies all year round. YUM.. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      I have been looking for a good Peanut Butter Cookie recipe. This one is by far the BEST. There is no comparison. I did use butter in place of the crisco and added 2 tsp of vanilla. I forgot to add the salt but they still turned out Fantastic. I cooked for 13 minutes and cooled on cookie sheet for a couple of minutes before transfering to a cooling rack. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      I did not have enough Crisco, so I made up the difference with whipped butter. I baked mine for about 12 minutes and got a crisp outside with a chewy inside. I froze the balls that I didn't cook to bake later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I made these today as a Valentine's Day gift. They are so good! I love how they come out perfectly round and dense. This is from now on my favorite peanut butter cookie recipe.
      The only thing I changed was I added some chocolate chunks to the batter. They came out so nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      these cookies are unbelievable! for those of you who like healthy eating, i made these cookies much healthier and they were absolutely unreal! even my husband, who can taste something healthy a mile away thought that these were incredible! so here is what i changed: instead of crisco i used a half cup of margarine and half a cup of applesauce baby food (which doesnt have the fructose syrup found in regular apple sauce). because i used the apple sauce which has natural sweetener, i was able to use just 3/4 cup of white sugar and 3/4 cup of brown sugar. lastly, i used 2.5 cups of whole wheat flour (i began with 2 cups but it definitely needed another half cup...i cooked these for 12 minutes at 350 on greased parchment paper.....they were amazing...rose beautifully and had nice height and a beautiful round shape....what a great healthy cookie to have around the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Wow, this recipe deserves every 5-star review it's gotten!! We used 1/2 butter, 1/2 Crisco like many others did. Also skipped rolling the dough in sugar- didn't miss it! These do have wonderful texture and peanut butter taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Yummy! The first pan didn't get sugar coated, and they were still good. Also didn't feel like rolling them, so I just used my cookie scoop and then sprinkled sugar over the next batches and it worked fast and well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      yummmmmmmmm. made exactly as it said. a good mix between snickerdoordles and a faint peanut butter taste...really liked it. I also reducded cook time to 10 minutes, they were a little crunchy, and left on pan on stove for 1-2 minutes before moving onto cooling rack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      These are really good! I usually make a flourless PB cookie but I wanted something with flour this time so I made these. I love the crunchy sugar on top and the combo of sugars. Very yummy! I got 4 dozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I have baked these cookies several times, and as always... they are "the best" tasting peanut butter cookies I've ever had. I have used both Skippy's Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter, and Jif's Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter. Both are great in this recipe. I think the extra crunchy peanut butter makes these cookies taste even better. I ended up with 53 cookies. Also, I started out baking the cookies 12 minutes, then I had to reduce the baking time to 11 minutes, but now that I much prefer baking these cookies on my Pampered Chef baking stones, and using a small Pampered Chef cookie scoop, I did bake these cookies exactly for 13 minutes. Once removed from the oven, I immediately removed them from the baking stone to cool. Note: If you don't care to use 1 cup of the butter flavored Crisco, you can use a 1/2 cup of regular Crisco, and a 1/2 cup of butter. One more thing... I did use 2-1/4 cups of flour in this recipe, and I chilled the cookie dough in the refrigerator for an hour or two. Liisa, this recipe is now the #1 peanut butter cookie in our house. Thank you LiisaN, for this great cookie recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Yummy! My first peanut butter cookie recipe and i love it. The cookies come out soft and moist. Made a few changes though. I added less white and brown sugar. Subsituded half butter for the crisco and used regular criso. Next time i might add just a lil bit more peanut butter. But for all who havent tried this recipe should :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I love these cookies! I baked mine for 12 minutes and they were crunchy on the outside edges and chewy in the middle. I refrigerated my dough for about 10 minutes before rolling the cookies into balls because the dough was very soft. After a few minutes in the fridge it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      I made this recipe exactly as it was written, I did not change it like so many others did (and then give it 5 stars). Firstly I was terribly alarmed by the taste of the dough (yuk) but I went ahead with making them anyways. The bake time was 12 minutes for perfect cookies, so those who say it was 10 means their oven runs hot or they have poor quality pans. These cookies were just okay. You can barely taste the peanut butter, it is over powered by the fake butter taste you get from the artificially flavoured crisco. The texture is very nice and they are just the right mix between crunchy and chewy. I think that can be attributed to the shortening. My best guess as to what will make this recipe better... either using margarine instead of the butter flavoured crisco, using just regular crisco, or using 0.5 cup of regular crisco, and 1.5 of peanut butter. After using this butter flavoured cisco, I have decided it is not going near by kitchen again. yuk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I can see why this recipe would be a cherished one!!!! First of all this was super easy, no thinking skills required and secondly the taste was out of this world! I have made dozens of peanutbutter cookies (using dozen's of different recipes) in the past and none have ever turned out like this or even close to this! I followed the recipe to a "t" EXCEPT rolling the balls of dough in the sugar. I like sweet but not overly sweet(personal preference). This was worth the trip to the store for the Crisco as I wanted to make sure I had all of the correct ingredients. The next time I make these I might get bold and try half peanutbutter and half Nutella. :-) This batch made 26 cookies and I think they are almost gone, everyone in my house loves them! Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Grandma's Best Peanut Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.7
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    51%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 13.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 140.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites