290 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great! I used butter instead of Crisco because I was too lazy to go to the store and they turned out beautifully.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilverOpera December 29, 2010

This recipe really doesn't need another 5 star review, but here it is anyway! These are the best, most super-delicious PB cookies ever! I've made them a bunch of times and here's what I do: I use butter instead of Crisco, I add a pkg PB chips to them to punch up the peanut buttery-ness,and I don't sift or pre-mix the dry ingredients. (I have made it both ways and there wasn't a discernible difference).

I also don't roll them in sugar-personal preference-and they turn out so well that when I bring these to events, people always think I got them from some high-end bakery!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AJ_Seattle November 11, 2011

I have recipe "adhd" so I never follow anything to the "t" oh and I always run out in the middle of baking and a bake at like 1 or 2 am so not goin out just gonna make it work...........I doubled this recipe added almond extract to it with the vanilla then realized I was an egg short so substitutited a small banana for the egg so I have peanut butter banana cookies that are quite amazing, chewy and crunchy and a really great flavor. I also decided to drizzle with a chocolate ganache and sprinkle with crushed almonds and crushed honey roasted peanuts............I have found the cure for pms!!!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kalamitykris September 30, 2010

If you live in Florida (low altitude) make sure you only use 1 1/2 cups of flour. Otherwise your cookies will be big "balls" instead of cookies. Otherwise, the recipe is awesome!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlelovemuffin June 01, 2011

I really wanted a good peanut butter cookie that was more that just peanut butter/sugar/egg. Next time I will substitute 1.5 cups peanut butter against only .5 cup of Crisco for a richer peanut buttery flavor. But in no way were these bad tasting! First batch I made were per directions and came out a bit on the crispy side, so the other batches I only did for 10 minutes and they were perfect!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silly_Mommy June 06, 2010

My first time baking cookies and they turned out really good, thanks to this recipe. Baked at 180*C for 15 mins, center rack. However, I will reduce the white sugar next time to 3/4 cup, and probably increase the peanut butter by a little bit. Would probably be just as good with the chunky peanut butter too. Will definitely make these again.
Updated (28-Aug-11) Tried these again with Skippy's chunky peanut butter and it was even better than the smooth ones (IMHO, anyway). That's how I'll be making these cookies from now on. TY for posting, LiisaN.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Devil August 29, 2011

OMG.... I've died and gone to peanutbutter cookie heaven. Made the recipe exactly, but did leave out the sugar on the top. Melt in your mouth, cant stop at one cookie. I will be making these cookies all year round. YUM.. Thanks for sharing

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlobato June 27, 2011

I have been looking for a good Peanut Butter Cookie recipe. This one is by far the BEST. There is no comparison. I did use butter in place of the crisco and added 2 tsp of vanilla. I forgot to add the salt but they still turned out Fantastic. I cooked for 13 minutes and cooled on cookie sheet for a couple of minutes before transfering to a cooling rack. Thanks for the great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1 tuff cookie March 16, 2011

I did not have enough Crisco, so I made up the difference with whipped butter. I baked mine for about 12 minutes and got a crisp outside with a chewy inside. I froze the balls that I didn't cook to bake later!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose August 23, 2010

I made these today as a Valentine's Day gift. They are so good! I love how they come out perfectly round and dense. This is from now on my favorite peanut butter cookie recipe.
The only thing I changed was I added some chocolate chunks to the batter. They came out so nicely.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BubzBaker February 16, 2012
Big Grandma's Best Peanut Butter Cookies