19 Reviews

I love this recipe. I didn't have liquid smoke so I added the next best thing I had which was some corona beer. This sauce I make alot because I have changed the minds of some of my family &friends. To give carolina style bbq a chance. -From Tx

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dancingdeco August 10, 2015

I think it's clear the one star reviewer thought this would be a tomato or 'red' based sauce, not a Carolina mustard/vinegar sauce. Anyway I made it- it is true to the form of a Carolina mustard mop sauce. Had it on smoked pulled pork sandwiches and it was very, very good. Good recipe if you like a Carolina MUSTARD/VINEGAR based sauce!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom W. July 10, 2015

I'm not sure if the person who gave this one star messed up the recipe or what, but this was amazing on my pulled pork sandwiches. A little tangy, a little sweet, a little heat. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drlemon1 June 09, 2015

Terrific BBQ sauce! Looking forward to slathering it on grilled chicken tonight. For now, the taste right out of the bowl is spot on - tangy, slightly sweet, love the mustard base. Halved the recipe; yield was about 1 cup. Used about 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder in place of liquid smoke [none on hand].

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. June 24, 2012

My first Mustard Carolina BBQ. It is my boss's birthday and he said it was the best. Very nice! I love the balance of the heat, great kick, but not too much, the mustard and apple cider really come through.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christen M. October 31, 2015

If you don't understand what Carolina BBQ is, then you need to prepare yourself for something different. This has no tomato paste or sauce in it. It has no molasses in it. It is a mustard and vinegar based sauce that doesn't even compare to Memphis, KC, Texas or southwest BBQ. Having said that, I will now state with confidence that this basic Carolina sauce is wonderful for its simplicity. It is about as easy to make as one could hope and conveys all of the taste one would expect from a roadside pulled pork joint somewhere between New Bern and Durham. Simply a wonderful sauce that you can't go wrong with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenspicer111 September 06, 2015

Deeelish. After a trip to Myrtle Beach last year I have been searching for a mustard based BBQ sauce that is as good as the one they serve at Damon's. I have found it. I made some up last night to mix with some pulled pork and man oh man it is so close to the sauce at Damon's My next batch is going on baked wings. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rocket_j_dawg April 18, 2015

I want to first offer my apology for writing this as I hate having to give a negative review, but in the interest of others who may make this recipe based upon the reviews I want to offer some caution.<br/><br/>This review should have been written some time ago right after I had made and tried the sauce(I don't know why it wasn't), but the feeling and memory of the experience was so strong it lingers to this day. <br/><br/>I'd say about a couple of years ago I tried this recipe to use on some pork ribs and to me it was simply INEDIBLE.<br/><br/>While I had some reservations and doubts about the recipe, I choose to go ahead and make it based upon the many and overwhelmingly positive reviews which were posted. I think I read something about how it was the best of 3 different BBQ sauces which someone made, how even a picky child had liked it and stuff like that, people calling it great even when they don't really like barbecue sauce. So hearing this I went ahead and made it, I believe as written.<br/><br/>I realize it was "Carolina style" sauce, mustard and vinegar based and was fine with that because I love mustard, all types and could eat it straight out of the bottle, but for some reason, in this recipe it was simply intolerable.<br/><br/>I write this because I am still upset at all the time and food/condiments I had wasted. In fact, the recipe was so bad to me and I'm so die hard at not trying to waste anything, I tried to "fix" the recipe(after making it as written) by adding ketchup and more brown sugar, whatever I had, but it was still waaay too tangy or vinegary, or sour our whatever, just inedible. <br/><br/>If you want to make it go ahead, but I'll warn you that it does not taste like a traditional barbecue sauce and I would recommend maybe making it in a smaller quantity and sample it before you put it on your meat. You don't want to learn the hard way like I did, having to throw everything away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceruleanveritas February 04, 2015

One word: YUM! We did a 9 lb pork roast for shredding - need 2.5x recipe of this awesome sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys March 11, 2013

I just made this sauce, and after it cooled down, I took a taste, I cant stop tasting it because its so good, I am going to let it sit in the fridge a couple days, to use an a 12 pound pork butt shoulder blade I am going to smoke, cant wait to taste it on the meat, I tripled the recipe, I just cut down on the cayanne, and I did not use the liqid smoke, because I am going to smoke the meat with hickory chunks. cant wait to try on pork ribs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fussbudget1 July 04, 2012
Big Daddy's Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce