62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A thousand thanks for this recipe. I love it! I love having the dry ingredients pre packaged. It makes the mornings a snap! The best thing about this recipe is how many easy modifications there are (try adding half a smashed banana and some walnuts. OMG) They are very hard to mess up and I eat them almost every day! Love em!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanninurse January 16, 2010

I think these are fantastic, but if you are looking for something sweet (like a normal cookie), these aren't for you. They do taste like a good bowl of oatmeal, but in cookie form. Even though I like oatmeal, it never sounds appealing to me for breakfast. Since it is healthy, I keep trying to find recipes that use oatmeal, are still healthy, and reasonably yummy. This is it!

BTW - I used brown sugar instead of Splenda and craisins instead of raisins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wild123 July 30, 2010

These breakfast cookies were OK, but I'll probably go back to the instant oatmeal cookie instead. When they were fresh and cooled overnight, I could really taste the powdered milk (we just overcame dairy intolerance, so I can use a little, so I'm probably just very sensitive to the taste), but it got better the second day. However, that said, I think I've got some even yummier ideas to bring back to that recipe: cutting the sugar waaay back in the homemade instant oatmeal, using baking soda instead of baking powder (since I can taste that too, and it increases with age), and using more cinnamon! MmMmm ... so this recipe is a delicious start. Use this one if you like the extra protein from the powdered milk, and use the other recipe if you have issues with dairy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope March 08, 2010

I enjoy making these as a breakfast treat. They are very large and quite filling. Instead of the sugar, I use maple syrup. I also prefer a mix of golden raisins and currents. I made homemade applesauce to keep in the fridge. I tried it both smooth and chunky and I thought the chunky applesauce was way better in the cookies. Lastly, while I like the large cookie, my husband prefers them more bite sized, so I split his into 3-4 smaller cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoVols February 08, 2015

I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I tried it as a breakfast alternative for my kids. They didn't really like them either. I did use sugar instead of splenda and cranberries instead of raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CACook March 11, 2012

My 16 year old son made this last night for a late-night snack. He doesn't usually like anything healthy so I was surprised when he said he liked this. I also thought it was very good and like the fact that it is low fat and low sugar. Nice change of pace for breakfast. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 08, 2011

Fantastic! Very yummy and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AltaJoy November 12, 2010

We really enjoyed these breakfast cookies! Instead of raisins, I put in frozen wild blueberries and it turned out very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jedimindtrick4 August 23, 2010

My kids loved it. I increased the cinnamon and replaced the splenda with some stevia. Thanks for a kid friendly mom-on-the-go breakfast cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YumYum4TheTumTum! April 22, 2010

I cannot believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! It is one of my standbys. Every month or two, I make up 3 serving bags of the dry ingredients. It makes for an easy and mostly brainless breakfast that the kids adore. I do use real sugar instead of Splenda, but other than that follow the recipe exactly. I love this recipe and recommend it to everyone, especially my friends who are diabetic, and my friends with kids. THANK YOU so much for posting this recipe, it has been in my permanent rotation for months.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout February 22, 2010
Big Breakfast Cookie