Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Breakfast Cookie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Breakfast Cookie

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2010

      I think these are fantastic, but if you are looking for something sweet (like a normal cookie), these aren't for you. They do taste like a good bowl of oatmeal, but in cookie form. Even though I like oatmeal, it never sounds appealing to me for breakfast. Since it is healthy, I keep trying to find recipes that use oatmeal, are still healthy, and reasonably yummy. This is it!

      BTW - I used brown sugar instead of Splenda and craisins instead of raisins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      These breakfast cookies were OK, but I'll probably go back to the instant oatmeal cookie instead. When they were fresh and cooled overnight, I could really taste the powdered milk (we just overcame dairy intolerance, so I can use a little, so I'm probably just very sensitive to the taste), but it got better the second day. However, that said, I think I've got some even yummier ideas to bring back to that recipe: cutting the sugar waaay back in the homemade instant oatmeal, using baking soda instead of baking powder (since I can taste that too, and it increases with age), and using more cinnamon! MmMmm ... so this recipe is a delicious start. Use this one if you like the extra protein from the powdered milk, and use the other recipe if you have issues with dairy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      A thousand thanks for this recipe. I love it! I love having the dry ingredients pre packaged. It makes the mornings a snap! The best thing about this recipe is how many easy modifications there are (try adding half a smashed banana and some walnuts. OMG) They are very hard to mess up and I eat them almost every day! Love em!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I tried it as a breakfast alternative for my kids. They didn't really like them either. I did use sugar instead of splenda and cranberries instead of raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      My 16 year old son made this last night for a late-night snack. He doesn't usually like anything healthy so I was surprised when he said he liked this. I also thought it was very good and like the fact that it is low fat and low sugar. Nice change of pace for breakfast. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Fantastic! Very yummy and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      We really enjoyed these breakfast cookies! Instead of raisins, I put in frozen wild blueberries and it turned out very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      My kids loved it. I increased the cinnamon and replaced the splenda with some stevia. Thanks for a kid friendly mom-on-the-go breakfast cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I cannot believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! It is one of my standbys. Every month or two, I make up 3 serving bags of the dry ingredients. It makes for an easy and mostly brainless breakfast that the kids adore. I do use real sugar instead of Splenda, but other than that follow the recipe exactly. I love this recipe and recommend it to everyone, especially my friends who are diabetic, and my friends with kids. THANK YOU so much for posting this recipe, it has been in my permanent rotation for months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Good cookie, but not great. Way too sweet even though I used 3/4ths of a Tablespoon of Splenda and I still have a horrible aftertaste in my mouth 30 minutes after eating it. If I make it again, I'll cut the splenda WAY down or leave it out all together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I was really hoping this would work out. The ONLY change I made was to use sugar instead of Splenda. While it is a filling breakfast, my family and I didn't find it to be very flavorful or texturally appealing. I was looking for something to make that would be a good grab-and-go breakfast for my kids before school. I'm glad I tried this recipe, but unfortunately, it won't be a repeat here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Excellent! It was moist and chewy and best of all, really quick to make! Using oats in my baking usually results in very dry cookies but these were perfect. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      the flavor is good but i don't like the texture w/ regular oatmeal. will try using quick cooking or leftover instant next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      I made this for my son the other morning to give him a bit of a change from the usual. I didn't have any applesauce- so I used grated pear that I had cooked in the microwave for a minute. I used only 1 teaspoon of sugar instead of splenda as the fruit had it's own sweetness. We got 1 big fat cookie which was very impressive to a hungry boy. Thank you Budgiegirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I didn't care for these at all ... they taste like uncooked oatmeal - only kinda gummy and not very flavorful. However, I have a 1 yr old who really liked them and since they are healthy I will make them for her as a snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This looks very good, but unfortunately I was missing several ingredients so I adjusted it quite a bit. Mine came out quite different than it probably would if I made it according to the recipe, so I'm not going to rate it this time. I substituted 1 T milk for the milk powder, used canola oil in place of the applesauce, and used sugar in place of Splenda. I also added 1 T cocoa powder for some flavor, as I didn't have chocolate chips or raisins. It came out tasty but crumbly, and not nearly as healthy as the original recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This is the -perfect- breakfast to make on a hurried morning before work. Fast to make (especially if you keep the dry ingredients mixed beforehand) and in the time it takes to take a shower and find clothes, you have a hot, portable, and filling breakfast ready! I've thrown random baking goods into these, including craisins, chopped pecans, and mini chocolate chips, and had them all turn out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Just made these, and they are geat. Made them as called for except I used a full tsp. of cinnamon, a bit of water (they were really dry), and a diced up apple. My son loved them, and since he is only 18 months and one day will eat a huge breakfast, and the next only a bite I love to have quick easy healthy meals for him. Just think of all the fruits and nuts you can get into a little kid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I did this on the recommendation of Saturn. I quadrupled the recipe and came up with 5 big (5-inch) cookies. I added a little more applesauce and think I got it too liquidy, so I baked it for 24 minutes and it came out great. Done on the outside and soft and moist on the inside. I might try subbing honey for the sugar and leaving the applesauce next time and see if it's moist enough. I subbed choc. chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was wonderful! I used some pear sauce that I had made in place of the applesauce and it turned out wonderfully. I also subbed chocolate chips for the raisins (DS's won't eat raisins in cookies). Also fantastic. For the flour, I used whole wheat. This is a great way to whip up a fun breakfast at any time of day! :) We will use this often! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Breakfast Cookie

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.5
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    84%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 325.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.3 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Splenda granular

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites