Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big Batch Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Batch Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      To Steve, I make spaghetti sauce every year. I process in a boiling covered canner for 35 minutes. I hope you find this helpful. Good Lick :-), from Darla

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      I made this recipe exactly as stated with fresh tomatoes. I agree it's a great sauce but thought it tasted a bit salty and needed more spices. Next time I will cut the olive oil to 2 TBSP, use half the salt called for in the recipe, and double the sugar, garlic, basil and oregano called for in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Needed to use up some of my garden tomatoes, so made a batch of this. I had everything in my pantry already, so it was great to throw together. Loved the flavor!! DH, who is very picky, thought this tasted great. I canned mine and got 4 qts out of it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      After making this and canning it, I told my husband, "This better be some pretty good stuff, or it's not worth the effort, when You can buy it at the grocery for a dollar" Boy. Was it worth it. This is the best pasta sauce, ever!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      Amazingly delicious! I had a lot of tomatoes and was looking for a recipe and decided to try this one....OMG,it is very delicious sauce. I followed the recipe, cooked onions and garlic separetely, and added them after an hour of cooking tomatoes.I did not remove skin,but I will next time.I wish I did, I know a very easy way to remove tomato skin. Fill a Pot with hot water and boil water,put tomatoes in a spaghetti drain pan, and put in hot water let them boil for 1 minute, let them cool off and the whole skin comes off. I will do it next time, the skin is annoying me now in the sauce,but the sauce is very good! I will eat it anyway! I love it THanks for sharing it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This recipe is great!!! I made this today, exactly as written. I canned the sauce, my yield was 7 pint jars. I cant wait to use it!!! I tasted it before I canned it and it tastes wonderful. The only thing that I did different that the recipe is that I used my immersion blender and pureed it, my kids think that it has to look like the sauce that comes from a can before they can eat it. It worked perfectly! Will definately be making this again!!! * UPDATE* Used this over noodles for supper tonight, also added hamburger to it, the kids loved it and so did my husband and I. Will so be making again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      A good sauce, this is my second time making it, I made it last year too. This year I made it with tomatoes I had froze last year and I made a triple batch using my roaster oven, I used leeks and onions and add 8 bay leaves while it was cooking. After cooking this I added all cooked ingredients (2-3 lb hamburger, 3 carrots shredded, 3 c shredded zucchini, sliced mushrooms, 1 diced red pepper, 2 stalks sliced celery), extra brown sugar, extra seasonings, and beef bouillon powder. I used this sauce to make lasagnas, 11 (5x9) lasagnas (enough for 6 meals), and had enough leftover sauce to freeze for spaghetti, enough for 7 meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This sauce is delicious! I've never made my own spaghetti sauce, so I was a bit worried. I did not peel my tomatoes (mainly because I didn't know I was suppose to until right now!) and the sauce still turned out fine. I put the tomatoes in the food processor, so it must have taken care of the skin! I canned my sauce, so I'm very excited to enjoy this throughout the winter! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      What a wonderful fresh flavor! I can't wait for my tomatoes to ripen just so I can make this. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I think it is very good. We did about 6 batches and water bathed them. I do have a concern for botulism though since the recipe does not call for lemon juice or to be pressured. Anyone else???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This is such a good, basic sauce. I added some thyme and a little red wine. Very good result. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Great recipe!! I canned 12 pints and I am very pleased with the taste and consistency of the sauce! I did add more garlic and a little more canning salt then the recipe indicated. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes. I am planning to make another batch because this amount will not last all winter. Thank you for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Great!!!! I added 4 med chopped Greens Peppers, 1/2 tea garlic powder and 5 cups h2o. All I can say is GREAT!!! My boyfriend doen't like Speghetti but he loves this sauce. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      Absolutely delicious! I am so delighted in using my garden tomatoes in such a wonderful way to enjoy all winter. I did make some minor changes. I omitted the sugar and used 1/2 tsp dried minced garlic instead of fresh. For peeling the tomatoes, I first cored off the top stem, and cut a very shallow X on the bottom of the tomatoes. I dropped them in boiling water for 30 seconds, then plopped them into a big bowl of ice water. When they had cooled, I just pulled off the peels very easily! My family LOVED this sauce!! Thanks so much for sharing Steve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2004

      This was very good, Steve. I used fresh basil and oregano, and put it in the blender with 1/2 cup burgundy to grind it. I used about 6 cloves of garlic. I used 4 packets of Splenda and still found it a little tart, so I mellowed it by adding another 1/2 cup of wine. I also added a small pinch of red pepper flakes... just a tiny pinch. The yield was 11 pints. I'm looking forward to enjoying this over the winter! -- posted Sep 22, 2004

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Delicious sauce!! I added more garlic, fresh basil & balsamic vinegar to it. It turned out so tasty that my mother-in-law wanted to make a batch too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      Our local grocery store always has great deals on Roma Tomatoes, so I make this sauce with them. I made it exactly the first time and it was really good. Then when we needed sauce again I was in a rush so I just rough chopped the tomatoes and left the skin and seeds, add some fresh parsley and basil I needed to get rid of and when the tomatoes were nice and soft I used my immersion blender to mix it all together. Saved a ton of time and still tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      I just don't know. I am beginning to give up on pasta sauce. I have tried several recipes, and the taste of the sauce is not very good. As a matter of fact the sauce isn't edible until I add parmesan cheese. Is it me, or does sauce really not have any flavor until it is added to something else?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      My first attempt at spaghetti sauce and it rates a success! Easy to make, easy to can, and tastes great too. Made as written. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Had bags of frozen tomatoes to use up and this recipe met the criteria of having most ingredients on hand - we were short on the tomato paste so will just add when more when ready to use as a base for whatever recipe we will use. Plus we will probably add more spices

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Batch Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.3
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    28%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 731.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites