22 Reviews

I love this recipe. I use salted butter instead of margerine, and a small bag of milk chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet. Also bake for about 12 mins and make the cookies a touch smaller. People go crazy for the cookies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LunaLoo November 18, 2010

I just made these tonight. They taste great, but were certainly more "done" than the ones in the picture. 18 minutes was a bit too much. I used two different types of pans, a well-seasoned stoneware pan and a couple of Calphalon baking pans. I thought that there was enough butter in the recipe that I didn't need to grease my pans, and the recipe didn't mention it, either. I was wrong. These cookies stuck to both types of pans and were very hard to remove. The first ones into the oven were the size specified in the recipe, on the stoneware pan, as were the ones on the metal pans. I baked the ones on the stoneware pan for 18 min. and the ones on the metal pans for 17 min. The cookies came out well done and crispy on the outside (not just on the edges). I wouldn't call them thick, but they were certainly big in diameter and slightly thicker than the recipe I normally use. The last ones into the oven went on the stoneware pan again, which I scraped clean and then greased. Since it was already warm, the dough began to spread out (as would be expected). I made these ones a little smaller and baked them for about 15 min. I should have reduced the time further, as they came out overdone and very difficult to get off the pan. What a mess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ameliabedelia January 14, 2010

Left out the white sugar, used half the butter and half applesauce and added a ripe banana- SO GOOD! I know I made a bunch of alterations, but I'm rating this recipe 5 stars because it's the first time I've made cookies and they're actually chewy and not brown on the bottom! Good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starlight17_12979236 March 02, 2011

These were very good! I used 1/2 TSP. of salt rather than 1 TSP., and unsalted stick butter rather than margarine, for a less salty tasting cookie, and the cookies turned out great! I only had to bake them for 10 minutes at 350 degrees on a non-stick cookie sheet (ungreased) with 6 cookies at a time on the baking sheet. They came out golden brown, chewy, thick and tasty--the chocolate chips were perfectly melted as well! Good basic cookie dough recipe to use to add other yummy ingredients, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinyBuddha February 13, 2011

I just made these and I can't believe how good they taste! I used whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the white sugar and they came out perfect. It only took about 12 minutes for them to cook, but that could have been because I had been using the oven to cook something else and so it had been on for awhile... Anyways, these are the best chocolate chip cookies that I have made and this will definitely be the recipe I use from now on to satisfy my cookie cravings. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* chocoholic * November 13, 2009

just too good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosborou November 14, 2008

These are sooooo good. I love a moist chewy chocolate chip cookie. I made a couple pans with big cookies and then some regular size for the kids ..should have made them all big, they ate twice as many of the little ones. This is a keeper recipe. Thanks a bunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn May 06, 2008

I have been searching for that chewy yet crisp on the outter edge choc chip cookie and this was it! I made them much smaller than suggested and the cookie was crisp with a little chew just after the oven. I tried the suggested size and it turned out wonderfully. I cooked them 15 minutes and turned them around half way through cook time. I also added half a bag of mini morsels. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusted_essence March 30, 2008

I must say the cookie dough alone is 5 STARS!!! YUUUUMMMM! Warning: it is EXTREMELY dangerous! One bite and you can't stop until you've made yourself sick! I most certainly am missing half a batch of cookies because the other half is already in my stomach.. I just finished making these cookies but I'll definitely have to try them again because my first couple of batches didn't work.. but that's because of my silly mistake... I'm pretty much famous for forgetting flour in my cookies.. I've lost count of how many times that has happened.. haha. But luckily I saved my last batch and realized my mistake. So I added some flour and they turned out incredible. Mind you the first couple of batches certainly didn't go to waste! Me and dad ate them all! Flat and chewy. I can't believe I haven't been sick yet... but I can't say I'm feeling too wonderful. Either way, thank you very much for a wonderful cookie recipe! Will undoubtedly try them again and try my hardest to remember the flour ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GBakes February 24, 2008

I LOVE chewy cookies. I had to decrease the time it takes to cook them by almost half with my oven (just 'cause my oven cooks things much too quickly.) But they turned out very good, and very chewy. They weren't very thick, but they were big, and spread out pretty large. Thanks for the recipe! ^^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The lurvley cook : ) October 13, 2007
Big and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies