Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Big and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2010

      I love this recipe. I use salted butter instead of margerine, and a small bag of milk chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet. Also bake for about 12 mins and make the cookies a touch smaller. People go crazy for the cookies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I just made these tonight. They taste great, but were certainly more "done" than the ones in the picture. 18 minutes was a bit too much. I used two different types of pans, a well-seasoned stoneware pan and a couple of Calphalon baking pans. I thought that there was enough butter in the recipe that I didn't need to grease my pans, and the recipe didn't mention it, either. I was wrong. These cookies stuck to both types of pans and were very hard to remove. The first ones into the oven were the size specified in the recipe, on the stoneware pan, as were the ones on the metal pans. I baked the ones on the stoneware pan for 18 min. and the ones on the metal pans for 17 min. The cookies came out well done and crispy on the outside (not just on the edges). I wouldn't call them thick, but they were certainly big in diameter and slightly thicker than the recipe I normally use. The last ones into the oven went on the stoneware pan again, which I scraped clean and then greased. Since it was already warm, the dough began to spread out (as would be expected). I made these ones a little smaller and baked them for about 15 min. I should have reduced the time further, as they came out overdone and very difficult to get off the pan. What a mess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Left out the white sugar, used half the butter and half applesauce and added a ripe banana- SO GOOD! I know I made a bunch of alterations, but I'm rating this recipe 5 stars because it's the first time I've made cookies and they're actually chewy and not brown on the bottom! Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      These were very good! I used 1/2 TSP. of salt rather than 1 TSP., and unsalted stick butter rather than margarine, for a less salty tasting cookie, and the cookies turned out great! I only had to bake them for 10 minutes at 350 degrees on a non-stick cookie sheet (ungreased) with 6 cookies at a time on the baking sheet. They came out golden brown, chewy, thick and tasty--the chocolate chips were perfectly melted as well! Good basic cookie dough recipe to use to add other yummy ingredients, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      I just made these and I can't believe how good they taste! I used whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the white sugar and they came out perfect. It only took about 12 minutes for them to cook, but that could have been because I had been using the oven to cook something else and so it had been on for awhile... Anyways, these are the best chocolate chip cookies that I have made and this will definitely be the recipe I use from now on to satisfy my cookie cravings. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      just too good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      These are sooooo good. I love a moist chewy chocolate chip cookie. I made a couple pans with big cookies and then some regular size for the kids ..should have made them all big, they ate twice as many of the little ones. This is a keeper recipe. Thanks a bunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I have been searching for that chewy yet crisp on the outter edge choc chip cookie and this was it! I made them much smaller than suggested and the cookie was crisp with a little chew just after the oven. I tried the suggested size and it turned out wonderfully. I cooked them 15 minutes and turned them around half way through cook time. I also added half a bag of mini morsels. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I must say the cookie dough alone is 5 STARS!!! YUUUUMMMM! Warning: it is EXTREMELY dangerous! One bite and you can't stop until you've made yourself sick! I most certainly am missing half a batch of cookies because the other half is already in my stomach.. I just finished making these cookies but I'll definitely have to try them again because my first couple of batches didn't work.. but that's because of my silly mistake... I'm pretty much famous for forgetting flour in my cookies.. I've lost count of how many times that has happened.. haha. But luckily I saved my last batch and realized my mistake. So I added some flour and they turned out incredible. Mind you the first couple of batches certainly didn't go to waste! Me and dad ate them all! Flat and chewy. I can't believe I haven't been sick yet... but I can't say I'm feeling too wonderful. Either way, thank you very much for a wonderful cookie recipe! Will undoubtedly try them again and try my hardest to remember the flour ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I LOVE chewy cookies. I had to decrease the time it takes to cook them by almost half with my oven (just 'cause my oven cooks things much too quickly.) But they turned out very good, and very chewy. They weren't very thick, but they were big, and spread out pretty large. Thanks for the recipe! ^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      I'm sorry to be the lone dissenting voice in a long list of 5 stars, but this just didn't work out for me. The recipe came together very quickly and I appreciated that all the ingredients are ones that I always have on hand. The batter was tasty (I know, I know!) but the cookies came out flat and toasty brown at 15 minutes. I know my stove is pretty accurate, but I decreased the time to 13 minutes and added about 1/4 cup flour and they came out a little better, but still not as thick and chewy as I wanted. Still tasty cookies, but I think I'll keep looking for different recipes. Thanks bailey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Nice and chewy--just the way I like cookies! I halved the recipe and made 19 cookies (they weren't "big," but they were a good size). By an error, I used only half the butter I was supposed to use, and, by another error, I left out a quarter of the chocolate chips. Whoops. But no one, including me, could ever tell the difference! Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Great recipe! Very simple recipe that produces soft chewy cookies. The whole batch was gone within 24 hours. Will definitely use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Great tasting cookie. I thinkt his recipe rocks. The only change I made was I used real butter instead of margarine because my family and friends like butter. Thanks Bailey46,this recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      These turned out great! I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend and they were very chewy and yummy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      These cookies were so good!!! The first time I made them I added mini peanut butter cups. The second time I made them with chocolate chunks and chips. They were excellent both ways. This is by far an excellent recipe. Thanks for posting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Super yummy! Very easy and quick, and the perfect chewy cookie. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

    • on May 08, 2006

      Fantastic. I did 3 parts margarine to 2 parts butter; and at first I was afraid I put too much flour in, but my fears were unfounded. Soft and chewy, as promised. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      I made 1.5 times the recipe and got 37 1/8 cup sized cookies. We love them this size and the flavor was excellant. Mine were slightly overdone at 18 minutes so I adjusted. I stored them tightly covered and did notice that they did kind of dry out BUT that only made them better for dunking in a big glass of cold milk! Thanks to bailey my adopted pick a chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.7
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    25%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 159.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 20.7 g
    83%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes