Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bierocks (German Hamburger- and Cabbage-filled rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bierocks (German Hamburger- and Cabbage-filled rolls)

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2010

      This isn't supposed to be a real spicy recipe, or tons of herbs. It is a true German recipe, so if you are familiar with it, they are perfect. I did use a store bought hot roll mix only because I had it on hand and it was getting old so I figured why not use it. I actually found this trying to use up my hot roll mix.

      Perfect flavor. I did add one carrot, because my grandmother did and cooked the veggies in the meat dripping as my grandmother did. But exact recipe.

      My grandmother served it with a horseradish cream sauce or mustard sauce. Probably more Americanized, but that is how we ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I, too, am from a small Kansas town and grew up on bierocks. They are as common as hamburgers in our area. The only adjustment I made to the recipe is to use Rhodes frozen Texas size hot roll dough for the dough. Also, the bierocks that I am familiar with are round, not square. The filling is much like my mom's only we season ours a little more heavily with salt and pepper. They are so good on a cold winter night. Would also make a great Super Bowl party food for a crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Fabulous! We really enjoyed these. I used more onion (2 medium) and added 2 shredded carrots, some chopped fresh parsley and a full 2 teaspoons black pepper to the filling mix. Since I used a lot of black pepper, I omitted the cayenne. I used packaged shredded cabbage sold as slaw mix to save time. This recipe is going to be a regular at my house! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Tjese were really good and the dough was awesome. I used Hot Jimmy Dean sausage instead of hamburger to give it a little extra spice. I also sprayed the tops with butter flavored Pam and sprinkled with garlic salt - yumm.

      Just made these again. I rolled out very thin so had lots of leftover dough. I rolled the leftovers out fairly thin and fried in hot butter flavored crisco, drained on paper towel and shook in a bag with sugar and cinnamon. Not very healthy, but very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Delicious! The dough was easy to work with and came together quickly. I added garlic and carrot as others suggested, and sauteed the veggies in the meat drippings. Eventually, I added some beef broth to help cook down the cabbage. I ended up with 20 4x4 squares, used a cookie scoop to help evenly portion the filling, and still had a little bit of filling leftover. I liked these dipped in A-1 sauce, but my husband and son liked them just plain. They were also very good cold.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I'm from NW Kansas and was really surprised to see all the Kansas reviews! I've made these a few times now and they are great! Well worth the effort. If you're not eating them all right away, wrap in foil, freeze and re-heat as needed for a quick meal or snack. Make sure you season the filling enough or they can be bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I made these for Oktoberfest this year but changed it up a bit. Instead of making dough (the idea is terrifying to me) I bought the Pillsbury puff pastry sheets which worked AWESOME. I definitely recommend that if you're not a dough person. I also bought the bagged "coleslaw mix" (I forget who makes it, but it's with the lettuce in the produce section). Everything tasted great, and they were even good cold the next day. I tried re-heating them in the microwave later that night but that didn't work out. Oh well! Thanks for a great recipe-- even my Italian family loved them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      I'm also from a small Kansas town...lol, my grandmother used to make this exact recipe with hot roll mix... it's nothing less then outstanding!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I love this recipe. I make these and freeze them for quick snacks. I also put other fillings instead of the hamburgercabbage. I sometiems put less sugar and add dried basil or garlic powder to the dough depending on what I am going to put inside. My favorite combo inside this pastry besides cabbage is a layer of Carmalized Onions Kittencal's Caramelized Onions, cooked rice, curry chicken and a dab of Lingonberry sauce. Its like a whole meal in a packet. I do still love the original hamburger blend because it is also good cold. By far this is my most often used recipe. My husbands coworkers call them starfish lol. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      My husband's Grandmother taught me how to make these shortly after we were married a long time ago,she called them Swevaks. Also the High School I attended also served these for lunch. Yummy, yummy. My whole family loves them and our grown boys make them for their familes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I come from Kansas also, and my Grandma always made these for us. Instead of salt, pepper, and cayenne, I used a couple of packets of dry onion soup mix. I also used frozen dinner rolls for the dough. They turned out wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      Loved the bread recipe here. I used half whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      I first tasted these 32 years ago when I first started teaching. I I worked at a very small rural school, and the cook was a sweet German lady named Shritter. These are wonderful!!! I've been making them for years without a recipe.8-)<br/>My hubby likes his hot with crushed red pepper added to the meat mixture. They can also be made with thawed frozen roll dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      These were pretty good. I thought they needed a little something for more flavor, though, so I'm going to play with it a little more. Oh, and they were done, almost over done, in 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      For the common folk, especially those who identify as Okies, we call a similar dish, "Grotlins." They are basically a hamburger based meat pie without a sauce. The standard is carrots (shredded), cabbage, and onion. They are great food for hunters and hikers. My aunt would have the girls make these for special occasions. However, when you are tired of burgers, spaghetti, or hamburger helper try these. Some cheese added for the kids is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      SO good! I did as others suggested and sauteed the veg in the meat drippings (used ground turkey), and added one shredded carrot and 3 minced garlic cloves. I also salt and peppered it generously along with garlic powder and did use the optional cayenne (which while tasting during the saute i thought it might be too spicy but it wasn't it just added a nice little kick). And because i really didn't want to fuss with the dough i took the lazy way out and used the pillsbury crescent rolls (while they are quite tasty they do make a much smaller roll) but will use something bigger next time or mAYbe make the dough suggested! These are really quite delicious, thanks for posting i'm glad i saw this and tried it out :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      never mind the 3 star rookie remarks...The recipe is very nice, I enjoyed every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Sorry, but the filling just didn't do it for me. I used a store bought biscuit dough that saved a lot of time and effort & worked well, but it was the filling that we were disappointed with. Didn't taste bad, but most thought it was just OK...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Everyone loved these. They where eaten up pretty quickly! The dough recipe is delicious. Well worth the time and trouble. the recipe looks difficult, but was actually very easy. Be sure to include the cayenne pepper, gives the biscuit a little kick! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Oh so good. I made these and my family ate more then I anticipated. Next time I will double the recipe so I can freeze some or send some home with DS. Thank you so much for posting, these were yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bierocks (German Hamburger- and Cabbage-filled rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (1769 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.6
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    34%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 58.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 233.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites