293 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used half ground beef and half ground sausage, 1 large onion and lots of fresh ground pepper. The only thing I did different was add 1 c. red wine when I began cooking for that special added flavor. It made enough for the 2 of us to have another meal. I froze to have later, when we feel like making something with sauce. Excellent Bev!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Crystal Cooks May 12, 2008

This is my second time making it....I didn't review last time since it was so good I thought it was a fluke! No, the sauce really is that good. This time around I just put the sauteed mushrooms in the sauce along with the tomato products. Just gave it that something extra. I also added just over a tbsp of sugar. Thanks alot!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bornagainst May 05, 2008

This was absolutely amazing!! I too added about a tablespoon or two of sugar and loads of mushrooms because that's the way i personally like it, but the base was to die for! I'm glad i had some leftover....totally plan on using it for ziti later this week! Thanks SO much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dustin B. April 24, 2008

Excellent sauce! Very easy, too! We followed the recipe as written but omitted the mushrooms as we don't care for them in our sauce and subbed ground turkey for the gr. beef. We served it over spaghetti and it got rave reviews from all ! Tasted so much better than any jarred sauce..and it was not time consuming at all! You will not be disappointed if you try this recipe! We WILL be making this again! Thanks Bev!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaseNNJ March 16, 2008

Made as directed and it was great! Had with linguine, and homemade rolls. Awesome flavors! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 March 10, 2008

YUM! I love this sauce. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added about two tablespoons of sugar and skipped the mushrooms. Makes a TON of sauce...I froze about half of it for later meals. Inexpensive and delicious! I'll never go back to the jarred sauce. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AltoRose March 09, 2008

Really good spaghetti sauce. Very easy to make and turned into a nice thick sauce with wonderful flavor. I didn't use the ground beef because I was making pork balls to simmer in this sauce. This is my "go to" recipe now for spaghetti sauce. Thank you for sharing your years of development, it was very generous of you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy March 01, 2008

This is a wonderful thick spaghetti sauce. I added a little bit of sugar and some more garlic, italian seasoning and a little onion powder to it. Just for my personal preferance. This is a great sauce and I will for sure be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee August 16, 2007

Absolutely wonderful. This is better than Ive had in most restaurants. My husband kept raving over it. I cut the hamburger down to 1# though, as it was plenty meaty for us. In my permanent collection. Thank You!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dontfencemein July 24, 2007

What a hit! I have always used can sauce because I just always thought making my own sauce was too hard or something. Then I was having my in-laws over for dinner and wanted to impress so I decided to attempt to make my own. I used this recipe and it turned out so good! Thank you for posting... I added a couple links of crumbled Italian Sausage and I did not have any bay leaves so I omitted them... Very very good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Buzzell July 17, 2007
Bev's Spaghetti Sauce