Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bev's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bev's Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    286 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 286

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2003

      Truly wonderful Spagetti sauce, Bev. My husband and I really enjoyed this. But it sure makes more than 4 servings and I am glad it does!!!! Thank you. Sunbeam :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Simple, Easy, and Taste Great! What more can you ask for. Prepared it the night before and placed it in the liner of my crockpot. All I had to do is take it out of the refrig and cook it on low for 8 hours. Served it with garlic fettucine, Three Cheese Texas Toast and side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This sauce was truly wonderful. I made this to use with my Eggplant Parmesean, and it turned out really well. The sauce was easy to prepare, simple ingredients, and tasted so great. I had sauce left, froze it, and can't wait to use it on another pasta dish. Thanks for a real keeper here, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      Very similar to mine except I don't use italian seasoning and I only use one can of sauce. It was very good but I think it would be even better with a little wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This is a regular in our home. If you want to kick it up a little and give it a bit more of an exotic taste, add about 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon toward the end of cooking it. The cinnamon seems to work with the acids in the tomatoes to give it a hearty flavor unlike any sauce you will ever taste. I usually cook mine on low for around 3 hours. That makes it thick and really cooks the flavors into it. Great recipe Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      This is a fantastic spaghetti sauce recipe that I have made time and time again over the last few years and I'd give it more than five stars if I could. I have made it for dinners at home, large extended family dinners, for spaghetti dinners for my son's Cub Scout Pack (we have now moved on to Boy Scouts, but the Pack still uses this recipe for spaghetti dinners), and for dinners with friends. I have been told that this is the best sauce ever and asked for the recipe more times that I can remember. It is simple to make and freezes well so I usually double or triple the recipe and freeze portions for future use. Due to personal preference, I add a couple extra cloves of garlic when making the sauce, but otherwise follow the recipe as written. We like it both with and without the mushrooms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      I am new to cooking and love spaghetti so I decided to give this recipe a shot and boy am i glad i did. The sauce is so good i can't even believe it! Amazing! I had two plates worth and had to refrain from a third but did have plenty of sauce for leftovers. The only thing i did change was that I put the diced tomatoes in a blender before mixing since I don't like seeing chunks of tomatoes in my sauce :) Great receipt and very easy to make so glad I found it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      This was a great sauce. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Delicious! I usually make this with ground beef; but today used a combination of mild and hot Italian sausage. Just wonderful! While I usually make this exactly as the recipe states, I also added a half cup of grated parmesan and a tablespoon of sugar this time. I doubled the recipe and froze dinner-size portions so I'll have this perfect sauce for any number of dishes in the next month. It freezes so beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I made this for the first time yesterday, and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe, and it was enough for dinner, leftovers, and a couple more meals in the future (froze the sauce). I always change things a bit, as sauce simmers, so I tasted this sauce and ended up adding in the equivalent, for a single recipe, of 1/2 cup of red wine, 1/2 cup of grated parmesan. I added in a couple extra cloves of garlic while sauteing the onions. I also added in the "secret ingredient" that pioneer woman recommends - one jar of pre-made sauce. yeah. I know. It's kinda crazy. But the spices are already there, etc, and it adds a secret oomph to the sauce that gives it another depth of flavor. Since it only makes up about 1/6th of the total volume of the sauce, it doesn't overpower the actual sauce flavor, just adds something extra. I used plain Prego, my family's favorite jar sauce. (don't hate me!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Used for a lasagna recipe. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      I used this as the sauce part of a lasagna and it was delicious! Two changes. I added the mushrooms while browning the beef & onions rather than doing that separate. I also added a little tiny bit of sugar as I like my sauce on the sweet side. The family ate it up! This made a large batch of sauce & I plan to freeze the leftovers. Crossing my fingers that it will be tasty too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      GREAT spaghetti sauce recipe! Bet this sauce will be awesome in lasagna. The only thing that I did diiferent is that I used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 mild Italian sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I can only rate this recipe with the changes I made. I had to make some changes. I did not have all the canned tomato products. I used 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes in place of one the cans of tomato sauce. I pureed the cans of diced tomatoes in my food processor. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar and 1 cup of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Definitely the best!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      This sauce was a huge hit with my family! I will definitely be making this again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      This is quite possibly the best spaghetti sauce I've ever made. I'm a college student trying to find something as similar to the sauce my mom would make (I get a bit homesick). I made this recipe and I can honestly say IT'S AMAZING! It's exactly what I was looking for. I did make a bit of an alteration. Instead of plain tomatoes, I buy the kind that has oregano, basil and garlic already in it and I also use a bit more of spices than the recipe calls for. Other than that, I go exactly by the recipe. The best part about it is if you don't eat it all, just freeze it and when it unthaw it, it tastes exactly the same! This is the BEST! THANKS BEV :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      This spaghetti sauce is so good and easy.This is my new go to recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      This sauce is just as delicious as everyone says! I have always wanted to try making my own spaghetti sauce, and I am so glad I finally did, and with this recipe! It was easy, smelled amazing, and was so yummy! This will be how I eat spaghetti/lasagna/etc. from this day on! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      everyone loved it. It made lots so I put half in the freezer for the next pasta night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bev's Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 565.0
     
    Calories from Fat 299
    53%
    Total Fat 33.3 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 115.6 mg
    38%
    Sodium 2241.4 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 21.3 g
    85%
    Protein 38.6 g
    77%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites