293 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely fantastic! Everyone (inclulding pickey eaters) said it was the best spaghetti sauce they had ever eaten. Added 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes and tripled the garlic (we all love garlic), otherwise followed the recipe exactly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wingslady July 19, 2009

I have not made spaghetti sauce in over 25 years! What happened with that? This recipe has changed that, & it is so EASY to prepare!!! Like most cooks, I did make a few changes: Turkey Italian Sausage links. Split the links before cooking & scrapped out the sausage. Then cooked the loose meat along with the onions & spices. DH never even realized it was not manly beef! LOTS more garlic (good for the heart). May have been as much or more than 12 cloves, which was NOT too much for us!!! (I promise we will brush our teeth & gargle before leaving home!) 2 onions (thought to double the recipe, until I saw how much it was going to make & did not want to dirty another pan) I think I will stay with the 2 onions next time, too. Mexican oregano...yummy!!! The canned tomatoes had green chilies (all I had). Only a smidgeon of olive oil, used to give the mushrooms a bit of that flavor, along with garlic salt & a bit of spray butter, too. The mushrooms were fantastic on top of the sauce & spaghetti!!! I had never done it that way, had always incorporated the mushrooms. Not any more, the woodsy flavor of the mushrooms just sparkled within the sauce in my mouth!!! Brilliant idea, Bev! Whole wheat pasta, (which we are finally getting used to). Just a tiny bit of parmesan cheese on top, more for looks than anything. Speaking of on top...this recipe is OVER the top!!! We can hardly wait until tomorrow for leftovers! Given that I did make some changes, perhaps I should not rate with stars. However, it turned out so well that I want to award 5 stars to Bev for another simple, terrific recipe!!! Dan'l you have the right idea, Bev is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marusha July 07, 2009

Loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Concrete June 29, 2009

Very good Sauce. All I did was add a cup of milk to make it nice and creamy. Thank you, I will make this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haggislvr May 12, 2009

This was just what the doctor ordered. Ever since we started dating by bf has disliked every kind of spaghetti sauce I have made. This one passed with flying colors. It has made it into the regular rotation! On the advice of other reviewers I added the brown sugar and some finely diced green pepper. Thanks for a winning recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic May 06, 2009

This is a 5 STAR All the way!! I used Diced Tomatoes. However one was Pettie Diced and the other was Diced. I think everything turned out wonderful. I do not think anything can mess up this recipe. So very easy to do and fast to put together. Great Recipe!! Thank You and Hugs 2 U.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda January 12, 2009

This was excellent. I have a problem with other sauces being watery when I put it on the spaghetti, but not this recipe. My entire family loved it. This will become a family dinner I am sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEMAJO October 13, 2008

I made this sauce about a month ago. It was very easy and tasted great. I froze the leftover sauce. Today I thawed it for a quick lunch. It was even better than the day I made it! Thanks for the great recipe. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KG'smom September 12, 2008

This was delicious! My BF and I just loved it. I added a little more salt and some crushed red pepper for heat, and it was just great...reminded me of my grandmother's sauce. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea September 06, 2008

I was in the mood for spaghetti so came onto Zaar to see what the recipes looked like. I will be making several but this was the first one I wanted to try. It was delicous! I made following the recipe exactly the first time. I thought it was rich in flavor and I enjoyed every mouthful! I put this in my favorites and will make again when the mood strikes! Thanks Bev!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacygirly August 28, 2008
Bev's Spaghetti Sauce