293 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipe for spaghetti sauce. You can really tell a difference between jar sauce and this sauce. I will use this as my go to recipe for sauce in the future! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ax January 30, 2011

This is delicious! My picky eaters love this and ask for 2nd and 3rds. It is a nice, even blend of all flavors without anything overwhelming. I only omitted the mushrooms, since I am not a fan of those. I used this sauce for spagetti as well as lasagna. I also put this sauce on a pita and topped with cheese, put it in the toaster oven, and voila, we had mini pizzas! This sauce did not last long in our house! This is now our favorite spagetti sauce recipe!! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakingmom July 14, 2010

Finally found the spaghetti sauce recipe I have been looking for. I browned & drained the beef and then put all in a crockpot (low) & cooked for around 6 hrs. The only changes I made, after tasting, was a sprinkle of sugar to taste & no mushrooms. Thanks so much Bev, my search is over with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Va. March 31, 2010

This sauce was delicious! I admit that I made a lot of changes, but it didn't really change the sauce much (minor ones). First, I cut the recipe in half. Even though I changed it to 2 servings, it made 4. Instead of beef, I used Morningstar Farms crumbles (low fat, cholesterol free, vegetarian), adeded an extra garlic clove, omitted the italian seasoning, added a little bit of sugar and red pepper flakes (suggested by another cook), and for the mushrooms, I sauteed them until they were soft and added it to the sauce 10-15 minutes before it was done. I didn't simmer the sauce for 90 minutes, only about 30 and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing, Bev!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danakscully64 August 28, 2009

Excellent recipe! I used fresh tomatoes, pureed in the blender to match the needed oz., and added more garlic to our personal taste plus green pepper and green onion that needed to be used up. Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Measi August 23, 2009

I had never made homemade spaghetti sauce before tonight and I can honestly say... I won't be going back to Ragu! Even my spaghetti hating husband commented on how much he loved this! Thank you so very much!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy August 14, 2009

Excellent stuff! I used ground turkey, and because I had no tomato paste, I simmered with the lid off to thicken it a litte. I definitely want to make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindWanderer August 12, 2009

There is not enough stars to give for this delicious Spaghetti Sauce. I followed the recipe, with no changes and everyone in the house raved about this great Spaghetti Sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Collins August 03, 2009

Oh wow, this is SOOOO good! It's not even done simmering yet and it tastes amazing. We can't leave it alone, we keep going in the pot to taste it. This one is a keeper for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz July 25, 2009

My sister invited 20 for dinner and was going to go buy some jarred sauce. I talked her into trying this instead. She quaded the recipe and will be eating spaghetti for months to come (It froze well and maintained its fresh taste) 1 batch should feed 10 easily. Anyway she sent some to me and it is hands down better than anything on a store shelf! Cheaper too! Thanks Bev for a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie in North Carolina July 23, 2009
Bev's Spaghetti Sauce