293 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bev, your recipe for this spagetti sauce is similar to my own. I usually add just a bit of sugar to offset the acidity of the tomatoes. A pinch of msg, a portion of chopped green pepper, and a splash of gallo's sweet vermouth or wonderful reunite lambrusco wine (lambrusco is the perfect wine to serve with a spaghetti meal)...voila...spaghetti sauce a'la ruth. I can see why you are getting rave reviews. My family wants me to start an italian restaurant! Not at my age (54), i'll continue to serve it to my family, thank you. I look forward to checking out your other recipes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RUTH CARRAWAY December 07, 2002

WOW, Bev!! This is a great spaghetti sauce! I couldn't remember if I had rated this yet, lol. I have used your recipe so many times! (with a few additions.) Hubby doesn't like meat in his spaghetti so I omit it when I make for spaghetti nite. I use 5 cloves garlic, ( love garlic )minced, and also 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes for heat and brown sugar. I simmer for about 4-6 hours, very low simmer. I have used your spaghetti sauce recipe to make Baked ziti, ( I do use the ground beef in this ) and this sauce recipe for Kittencal's Famous Italian Melt-In-Mouth Meatballs for meatball subs. I always have leftovers, as its only my hubby and I at home now. I freeze and use when needed. This is the only sauce my hubby wants me to use for saucey Italian meals! Thanks again Bev for another amazing recipe!....carmen

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmen in PA September 17, 2009

Made this minus the meat and it was still pretty good! Tossed in some vegan eggplant "meatballs" toward the end. I liked the addition of the mushrooms too. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 30, 2011

As a beginning cook examining the recipe, it looks like a 5-star! As a pre-diabetic, I recommend making 2 substitution to the recipe as is: replace the salt with equal amounts of "No Salt," and replace the ground beef with equal amounts of 100% ground turkey breast.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruralgentleman December 27, 2010

we made this tonight (minus the mushrooms because i forgot them ha) and we used textured vegi protien instead of the meat (we are vegan, for health) it was AMAZING thanks you so much for sharing this.. yummy

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metcalf.lisa February 06, 2010

After trying many spaghetti sauces I finally found One that I like that is just right! Thanks for a great recipe and will be my regular for now on. I used diced tomatoes with mixed herbs as I had no plain ones so I omitted the oregano and dried basil but used everything else and it turned out yummy! It's great to use a recipe that also doesn't need sugar!It made more than 4 servings for us so I might half it next time or put some in the freezer! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oriana December 05, 2004

Bev, I must admit that I have never made my own spaghetti sauce. This is mainly because my hubby isn't fond of spaghetti sauce, so it never seemed worth the time to make my own. But I decided to try it out, and man, am I ever glad I did! It was VERY easy to make and VERY tasty as well. Hubby actually told me that he would eat more spaghetti if I "bought" this kind of sauce for it. Boy, was he ever surprised! Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlipC January 24, 2004

This sauce should come with a warning to leave the house as it simmers! This is the best combination of spices I've ever had in a spaghetti sauce. I hope there is some left for my family: )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammyk April 21, 2011

This is very delicious spaghetti sauce! I made it just as stated and it turned out perfectly. My family enjoyed it immensely. I had plenty left over so I am freezing it to use at a later date for lasagna or stuffed shells. Thanks for sharing another wonderful recipe, Bev.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 April 04, 2011

This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever made. It has a good flavor, and is easy to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
william4444 February 18, 2011
Bev's Spaghetti Sauce