Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bev's Sauteed Yellow Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bev's Sauteed Yellow Squash

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      Bev, this was delicious! We loved the buttery taste the squash gets. It gets cooked, but not too soft. This is a simple basic recipe with a minimum of ingredients, yet it could be on the most elegant table! We used the salt and pepper and also a sprinkling of paprika for color. Thanks for a recipe I will use often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      Mmmmmmmm. This recipe is perfect! I don't eat squash a lot but this recipe could change that. It brings out the flavor flawlessly. I had no idea that squash could be so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      This is the ONLY way to eat squash! It melts in your mouth!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      This was so yummy. I love this recipe because it requires just a few ingredients, is simply seasoned and tastes delicious. The squash was so tender but not mushy. My kids even liked it. Thanks Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      My mother-in-law taught me how to cook squash like this years ago. It is quite delicious! The only thing she did different was add a little sugar to help bring out the natural sweetness. The kids will eat this up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      This is perfect for fresh from the garden squash. Just onion, butter, salt and pepper. The ingredients accentuate the fresh flavor without interfering. This is the one time you should splurge and use butter, lots of butter! Thanks Bev for a simple pleasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      Bev This is so much better than the ones I cook. I use bacon grease....The butter is so much better. I used to put the onins in at the last. Nope no more this is the way I will do the squash we love so much. Thank You for new and wonderful ideas with our favorate foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      Too much meat on your grill and no room for veggies? Then try this simple, stove-top, sauteed squash side-dish some summer Sunday. It is very delicious, and practically cooks itself. One non-vegetable eater stated, "Not bad".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      This was exactly what I was looking for. Simple to prepare, basic ingredients and great taste! The key indeed is a lot of salt and pepper. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      Bev, this was just wonderful!! The flavors just melded together...ummm...I can't wait to have this again! It will be making MANY return appearances at our table!! Thanks for the GREAT recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I'm new to the world of cooking squash as I didn't grow up eating it, but was curious enough to try this recipe. I cut the ingredients in 1/2 for 2 of us. I followed the directions to cook for 20 minutes, and mine came out quite mushy, but very delicious! Looking at the photos, I think I'll cook it for maybe 15 minutes next time to preserve the shape. Very tasty and so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      Super delicious!!! I added a clove of minced garlic. A great recipe to use up all of that crookneck squash. Thanks for sharing a recipe that I wil use over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This is the way my mother taught me to make yellow squash! It is one of my daughter's favorite summer veggie dishes. I will some times add some sliced zucchini along with the yellow squash just for some added color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Just made this for dinner using a winter squash I picked up from my local Farmer's Market. Followed recipe as directed and added some ground coriander to the seasoning. Very delicious as a side to BBQ Baked Chicken and rice! Now I know a quick and easy way to cook up squash and incorporate vegetables anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This is a great way to cook summer squash. My husband started doing this on his own several years ago and it's our favorite way to cook summer squash. You can throw in all kinds of summer squash together in one pan. Makes an interesting combination and tastes so-o-o-o good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Delicious! Great way to use summer squash. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Sometimes the most simple recipes are the best!! Everyone, young and old, loved this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      We love our veggies "au natural" but this recipe for squash was oh so good. Simple and tasty. I sauteed 2 cloves minced fresh garlic with the onions. Next time I will try with mixture of zucchini and yellow squash. Recipe does not take away from the natural flavor of the veggies, only enhances it. Thanks Bev for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      Wonderful! My non-squash eating husband gave this a definite thumbs up, and I just loved it as well! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I have been looking for a good squash recipe and I found an exceptional one!! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Bev, I can't go wrong when making one of your recipes. While I am not the world's biggest fan of squash, this recipe made me get up for seconds. My only change was to omit the salt, and me and my usually-salt-loving husband didn't miss it at all. Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bev's Sauteed Yellow Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.7
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    67%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 108.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites