Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bev's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bev's Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    250 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 250

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2002

      This is divine! I've never made macaroni and cheese from scratch and this is so delicious! I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly except for adding a little more cheese in the sauce then it calls for (because we like extra-cheesy food). It was perfect - lightly tangy and very flavorful. I think the dry mustard really makes it taste so good (although it doesn't taste like mustard at all). I used mild cheddar cheese and skim milk and I can't say enough about how good it came out. The only gray area for me was the measurement of the macaroni. I believe it should read 8 ounces dry macaroni (then cook it) rather than 8 ounces of cooked macaroni. And actually it made so much sauce that I was able to use a whole 12 ounce package of rotini pasta. Super good - a real keeper. I'll make this over and over again! Thanks, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      This was good. It needs a little work though, I'd mix the floor/butter mixture with halk a cup milk before heating up all the milk for 10. I strugled with the milk mixture being lumpy. We ate this all up. I'm going to try and double this next time. The measurments here only filled a 9X13 baking pan half way and I'll tell ya your going to WANT to make 2 batches of this. Also the recipe call for 8 ounces elbow this means 8 ounces dry. Measure 8 ounces THEN cook it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      My family and I sure love this one. Not only was it easy to make, it was rich, creamy and very cheesy. I threw in some crumbled cooked bacon. The best. Thank-you Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

      Bev, this simple dish is absolutely wonderful; very creamy -- real comfort food. My family's alltime favourite mac-and-cheese is my own version, but I like to try different ones as well and this one is sure a winner. It was very easy to put together (using ingredients I always have on hand, another plus) and was devoured by my family. This one's a real keeper; thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      This is truly how macaroni and cheese is supposed to be!! The flavor of the cheese heartily comes through and it is a perfect compliment to ham and spinach. This is a recipe I will keep and use over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      This was very good and creamy even though I usded 1% milk. I think I will add a little cayenne pepper the next time I make it as I felt it needed a little more zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      Hi Bev, Add me to your list of Macaroni & Cheese lovers. I have always made macaroni this way, although I have never used a recipe before. Your recipe is so much like my macaroni and cheese I decided to try it. Very, Very Good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      This was very easy and good! I loved this and couldn't stop eating it. Thank-you Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Bev...this recipe has been in my kitchen for the last 3 months. Ever since I found it I keep making it over and over and I even give it a little kick of my own with some pepperjack cheese and cayenne pepper and it's absolutely delicious! Thanks for the great recipe! For weight watchers just eleiminate the butter (or 1/2 the amount) and it still tastes great! This is so easy to make and very enjoyable for the whole family!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      Thought this recipe was pretty easty to put together. I did not have the dry mustard. My dish need a little zip, maybe that was what was lacking. My sauce was very creamy, I had no problems with the "lumpy" factor. Will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      !! I didn't realize I never reviewed this!!! Bev, we love, love, love your Mac and Cheese... I had a really hard time finding a decent mac & cheese recipe on 'Zaar that didn't contain Velveeta (yuck!) and I really struck gold with this one. We make this all the time- sometimes adding little extras like minced salami, onions, red bell peppers, etcetera but its always fabulous. One recommendation I would make, though- mix less cheese into the sauce and put more on top. The sauce kind of steals the distinct cheesy flavor (this is true and we even use extra sharp cheddar) and the browned cheesy crust is so tasty, besides. Thank you so much for posting a recipe for mac and cheese that uses ACTUAL cheese and tastes GREAT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Wow, what great comfort food! My kids and I had this for lunch, along with fruit salad, and it was a perfectly filling meal. My son was in heaven, he is a Mac and Cheese fanatic, and he loved this one. Very creamy and very tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I literally JUST made this for dinner and had to jump on the computer and review! This recipe is amazing!!! The creamiest homemade mac and cheese I have ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      This is so delicious! Love the flavors and how creamy and cheesy it is. Great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I make this mac n' cheese and every time I get asked for the recipe. Thanks so much for such a great staple recipe. It will be in my family for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This is the best mac n cheese ever. I have made it a dozen times in the last year and EVERYONE raves about it. It is so easy, but so creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I have to re-post, after 3 years of continually making this, it is by far the best. Thank you so much, Bev!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I have made this twice since first finding it, and both times it was awesome. My brother in law commented how good it was this last time (after finishing the last few servings). This is by far the best mac and cheese recipe I have come across. Thanks for making our taste buds tingle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I made this with 1 cup of colby jack and 1 cup of a mozzarella/provolone blend. I also added a couple of shakes of garlic powder to the cheese sauce. We ate it as a main dish, so we only got 2 (generous) servings out of it. I can't wait to try this again with different combinations of cheese. Thanks for a tasty yet simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Wonderful! Even my daughter, who keeps the company that makes Velveeta in business, really enjoyed this mac & cheese. ;) I loved it as it reminded me of what I had at family gatherings in Kansas when I was very young. Thanks for sharing with us, Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bev's Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.2
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    44%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 63.9 mg
    21%
    Sodium 707.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes