115 Reviews

These were very easy to fix and full of just enough flavor. Don't expect hot wings - but do expect the right balance of sweet and salty, with terrific sticky texture. I ate more of these than I should have, and enjoyed every bite, down to the little bones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
You're A Good Cooker, Uncle S July 30, 2010

My family and I absolutely loved these wings! This recipe is very similar to the recipe I have used for wings but I think I'm going to keep and use this one forever! I had about 4.5 lbs of wings and that fed about 6 people. I marinated the wings for about 4 hours and the cooked then 75 minutes. They were fall off the bone yummy! Thank you for posting this recipe. It is definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CattieCann July 03, 2010

Awesome flavor,,,very easy to prepare,,,,and delicious. Made them 2xs now and everyone raved about them. Drain liquid after about 30-40 mins to brown better. I didn't on my second time and took longer to brown. In fact I couldn't get it to brown good before I overcooked them. Still good though. Thank you for this amazing recipe!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Guerra June 14, 2010

Great recipe. I've made it a couple of times and gotten raves from my guests. Great to make ahead and reheat. The too-much-liquid problem comes from not using a wide enough pan. The liquid will evaporate away as it cooks. Turn the wings a time or two to baste, and if there still seems to be too much liquid near the end, pour the excess off (save for basting) and finish cooking so they'll brown and glaze nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamC April 07, 2010

These wings were very good! Very tender and easy to cook. I used low-sodium soy sauce, and I think it made them less salty. After I took them out of the oven I drained them and broiled them. Everyone asked for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dutchy.b February 08, 2010

This was the most fragrant recipe ever! I read the reviews and incorporated the suggestions. I used bourbon instead of water. I added more spices, used low-sodium soy sauce, and added a tablespoon and a half of red pepper flakes. My son was upstairs and asked what the wonderful smell was coming from the kitchen. I'll make this recipe again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeDollarHoller February 06, 2010

fantastic! 5stars on it's own, but I will use more garlic, mustard, and maybe onion powder next time though, the salty/sweet balance was just right, but could use more savory flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XandersMom January 29, 2010

The flavor is awesome. Mine turned out a bit soupy instead of sticky. I'm not sure why. They were still good. We made them for a party and every last one of them was gone. I will probably try these again at the next party. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrysDanMom May 29, 2009

We made these on Sunday with homemade pizza. These were not only easy but tasted fantastic. We were only able to marinade them for 1 hour but it didn't seem to make a difference, they tasted great, my kids only wanted the wings they didn't even want any pizza. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z April 21, 2009

Good wings, delightfully different sauce. I thought they were ok until I doused them with Crystal's hot sauce...then they were awesome. I also used 3/4 cup of spy sauce and 3/4 cup brown sugar, and real garlic. I would recommend more real garlic! I found that the wings did not need to be drained or dried off prior to serving, just use tongs or a slotted spoon. Thanks Lennie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets March 02, 2009
Betty White's Chicken Wings