13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Responding to Bonnie G from last December. Tips that might help alleviate graininess (I've had that problem). Cut boiling to 1 minute(later versions do that). Use less confectioners sugar. Sifted 3 cups is less than unsifted. Less sugar also cuts down on the sweetness factor. I have made this fudge more times than I want to admit since I got this cookbook when it first came out in 1957. Each time it is a little different in final texture but still very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cnhoke July 08, 2010

I'm not rating this with stars because I'm sure I did something wrong. I've never been able to make fudge with that creamy texture that I love (think I cook it to long) and I'm afraid that I did the same thing here so it's my error not the recipe. The I made this recipe as part of my holiday tray and it came out hard and grainy - but I did want to review as the taste is wonderful and chocolaty so I know if I can get the timing right we are going to love it. I will sure be trying it again just must figure out how to make fudge as it's my grandkids very favorite at this time of year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 23, 2009

Andi -5 fudgy stars as this is the first time I have had any success with fudge !! I am thrilled especially as I didn't have to fiddle with thermometers etc . It has actually set and I am so happy - taste yummy too !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew November 02, 2009

Unbelievable!!! This is the first time I have ever made fudge that has set! Tastes just like my granny's used to. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abeyer2173 August 27, 2009

Andi this is really good fudge, couldnt keep DH out of it! I added chopped walnuts to my batch and will try pecans next time. My grandma used to make the fudge for Christmas and this will be nice to have on the table Christmas morning. Thank you for posting hon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 06, 2007

I love this fudge! It will be top on the list of Christmas goodies to make to give away for Christmas! Its rich fudgey, and ohhhh so good!I would not change a single thing about this recipe! This recipe is a real keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Baroness December 02, 2007

My first attempt at fudge and I thought it worked out really well. The directions were perfectly written and DH and I both thought it was good. I added 1/2 cup slivered almonds and that was a great touch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 October 14, 2007

Oh this fudge is so delicious! I am a chocolate lover and this is fantastic - beyond words. I will definitely be making more of this fudge!! Thanks, Andi for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 17, 2007

*reviewed for Zaar World Tour3* Wow Andi- Fantastic Fudge! So easy to make! You were sure right about the fudge not being around long enough to cool! I had to try and hide some so I could take a photo! The recipe states 6 serves, but I cut into 16 well proportioned sizes. I think though that the 4 of us here will manage to woof it all down....no troubles at all. Andi-Thanks for another great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 09, 2007

These were good. I was out of powdered sugar, so I tried making my own by mixing white sugar and corn starch in the blender. It came out very close. I did have to add a little milk after mixing the powdered sugar in. I greased the pan too. I cut them into 30 squares and served them at my DD's 13th b-day party. All but a few are gone. I think the homemade powdered sugar made it a little granular, which accounts for having to sift it. But it was still yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead April 22, 2007
Betty Crockers' Boys and Girls Cookbook - Fudge!! Longmeadow