13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Once again, a back to basics recipe proves to be the best. I found these to be the perfect peanut butter cookies. Unlike other reviewers, I used all shortening (Crisco butter-flavored) but followed recipe to the T, even banging the sheets on the rack! A nicely crisp, perfectly round cookie, and not flat as one reviewer experienced. Thanks, tomsawyer--my search for the perfect p/b cookie ends here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 18, 2014

This recipe is really close to the one I normally use so I tried it out. These taste wonderful, but I must say that even after chilling the dough overnight even, these cookies are way too flat. Its almost like they melt. Maybe its because I used butter? But it does say margarine or butter. I was a little aggravated because I usually make the best pb cookies. I think I will add less shortening next time. Flavor a 5 appearance a 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie S. September 25, 2013

This was one of the first cookies I ever made! Love the Betty Crocker recipes. The cookies come out wonderful. Definitely a standby recipe for a sure thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 06, 2010

These were stand-out cookies, to say the least. First, the dough is so light and fluffy but was very easy to work with and formed perfectly shaped cookies. And the cookies were soft and just packed with a peanut butter taste. I followed the recipe as originally written [using 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening]---not 1/2 cup butter, as mentioned in Step #11 could be a possibility. And I thought the cookies were so yummy. I will keep this as my standard Peanut Butter Cookie recipe. Thanks, tomsawyer! Made for 2009 Fall Pick-A-Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal September 17, 2009

These are a stand-by; time tested over and over! I used all butter and chilled for over 6 hours (that was the plan!) My yield was 38 cookies and they are GOOD! Maybe next time, I'll throw some peanut butter chips in, just for fun! Thanks for posting a classic, tomsaywer. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 19, 2009

You can't go wrong with these cookies - there's nothing like a great peanut butter cookie! I added 1/2 cup of peanuts, for a little crunch. You can store the dough in the fridge and make a dozen at a time, if you wish, which is what I did with half the recipe. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen June 13, 2009

My dad loves peanut butter cookies so I made these for a surprise for him! I followed the recipe exactly as written and we all enjoyed them. (Of course we had to test them before giving them to my dad LOL) Made for Zingo ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 12, 2009

Well, there won't be any left tomorrow at my house! I made half a recipe using only the egg white for '1/2 egg.' Even after refrigerating for several hours, the dough was quite soft, it was workable and I used my cookie scoop to get evenly sized cookies - they don't spread much at all. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 11, 2009

So very retro, these old-fashioned cookies embody the very definition of what peanut butter cookies should be. Excellent! They taste they same way they did when I made them 40 years ago. What else needs to be said? Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT5 Zingo by a Saucy Senorita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau June 10, 2009
Betty Crocker Peanut Butter Cookies