9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I usually bake cakes from scratch only, but this recipe sounded good because I love pineapple and bananas. This cake was very easy to make and tasted good and was more delicious 2 days later. I think I will try it again using a scratch cake and drain the pineapple somewhat so the cake will be less soggy. All the people who tried it loved it, even my husband who insists I bake from scratch.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Chandler May 04, 2002

I made this about a month ago and forgot to review it! I was looking it up again for a friend and noticed. This cake is fabulous, even without bananas. My bananas were too ripe to slice so I left them out. I also left off the coconut since I made it for picky folks who did not like it. It's worth the tiny extra bit of effort involved for sure. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanita June 22, 2010

Made this for my husbands birthday, we all loved it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse November 17, 2008

I made this on Thursday morn...and then took it to my Friday night Bible Study/Potluck. Everyone loved it! They asked me to e-mail them the BTS recipe. It is worth the time it takes to make it. Jamie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamieoliver2000 December 08, 2006

Very easy to fix and very good. My whole family loved it. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Button October 01, 2005

This cake was delicious. I added strawberry cream cheese instead of regular gave it an extra somthing. Everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissybel79 November 18, 2003

Easy to make, moist, delicious! Perfect summer dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave Mayer August 08, 2001

This was a vert tasty treat! However, I subsituted the pecans with almond slivers. I am thinking next time to crush the almond slivers an try it that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyd St Clare April 13, 2001

I haven''t tasted it yet because I''m just trying it for the first time for a family member''s birthday party. I am boiling the pineapple and sugar at the moment and tomorrow, I will put the pudding/cream cheese mixture on it and add the bananas and whipped topping and coconut and cherries. It sounds just marvelous! I intend to put a red transparent g-string on the finished product as it seems quite appropriate! I''m sure it''s going to taste fabulous so I will give it the highest rating! Mahalo for the great recipe and looking forward to more... Aloha, Ijeva -----I finally baked the cake and changed it to chocolate instead of yellow cake mix. It is absolutely delicious. I would however, not put 2 cups of sugar because it is awfully sweet but might reduce the quantity or even substitute with some kahlua and milk instead. Other than that, my son devoured the rest of the cake. Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ijeva Bambridge February 13, 2001
Better Than Sex Cake with Bananas