487 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is just a really solid recipe. I didn't change a thing other than using black pepper as opposed to white pepper and we threw some shrimp in too. It turned out great, smooth and creamy. We were all dipping our garlic bread in the left over sauce. This definitely made it to the "Cookbook". Thanks for the recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VAGamecock November 14, 2010

This was super easy!!!! Although it tasted as if I spent all day in the kitchen. I used a combination of mozzarella, parmesan, and swiss because it was what I had on hand. I also used 1 cup milk and 1 cup half-n-half. Threw some shrimp in and voila - dinner! Highly recommend this recipe. Parker tell your mom I said thanks a bunch!!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Cecile August 17, 2010

If you make this dish with Parmesano Reggiano itll be OOTW! A hint of parsley also helps...JG

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julesbluesky December 15, 2010

I didn't have cream so I used two cups of 2% milk thickened with one Tablespoon corn starch, and it was still delicious.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sallymckibben February 13, 2008

This was so good! I was looking for an alfredo sauce that didn't call for cream cheese, this was the winner! Definitely use fresh garlic. Paired it with garlic cheese spread & made garlic bread from this site- Incredibly Delicious Cheese Garlic Bread Spread.

It was a hit, and will definitely be making again! Thank you for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holstang November 09, 2010

I made this tonight for my daughter and her 2 friends and this was so easy and came out terrific! I sliced a boneless chicken breast and sauteed it in some olive oil, salt, pepper, and about 2 cloves of chopped garlic and added about 1 cup of cut broccoli which I cooked until it was crisp tender. Instead of angel hair we used penne. I did add a bit of salt and about 1/4 cup of grated Asiago cheese to the sauce. When the sauce was done I mixed the pasta with the chicken and broccoli and poured the sauce over the top.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie August 29, 2010

I love this recipe! It takes a lot like Olive Garden's. I use a stick of sweet butter minus one teaspoon and black pepper instead of white pepper and I use a lot of mozzarella cheese so the sauce is thicker. We cook it in a cast iron skillet too, but I'm not sure if that makes a huge difference! By far my favorite recipe to make!! Thanks :-)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet528 July 29, 2010

I've never had Alfredo sauce before, but this tasted pretty good to me. My family really enjoyed it. However to me, it didn't taste as zesty as I was hoping it to be. Next time I think I might add some more garlic and maybe a dash of nutmeg.Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samee62 October 24, 2010

We are eating on this for the second day and I must say like many sauces it is better the second time around. The recipe is easy to make, but I found that using only the ingredients listed that the sauce lacks some flavor. I will tinker with it until I make it taste like I want it to. I am thinking some fresh garlic & maybe even some fresh mushrooms and spinach. Oh, who knows what I will do. :D
I don't care for Olive Gardens Alfredo Sauce so I can't compare the two. I do not like ANY of the store bought Alfredo Sauces so this one is definitely the winner.
Too easy but don't forget to stir, stir, stir!
Thank you for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommiesTreats August 01, 2010

This a classic recipe that is wonderful! As with any recipe it is OK to switch things up and make it your own. Some liked it with less garlic, some wanted more Parmagiano. I find that substituting Roasted Garlic for minced garlic creates a dish with a milder and more sophisticated feel. Just my opinion! Thanks for sharing :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Michael Callahan July 29, 2010
Better Than Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce