485 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a good way to make yummy Alfredo/
You may also wish to add white wine to your recipe as well as add roasted mushrooms and red peppers
When adding white wine, use a dry white wine add your wine first with your garlic and reduce, then add your cream and reduce, then add your butter, parmasean and 1/2 C asiago,
to die for!
For Vegans we use a cashews, nutritional yeast, coconut milk, and garlic.... Delicious!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Moms Catering December 30, 2010

Delicious! I don't what the Olive Garden is ( I imagine an Italian restaurant chain in the US ), but this is just scrummy! I did reduce butter (per other reviews) to 2 Tbsp, reduce cream to 1c., added about 1/4c. cooking cream cheese, and only put in 1/2c or so of grated cheese and served on tortellini (this amount served 4 of us)!! Kids asked for seconds and husband wanted to know if I had saved the recipe. I did throw in a tablespoon or so of fresh parsley, but I love adding parsley to all sauces! Will be a regular around this house!! Oh, always use fresh garlic and ground black pepper!!

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madonna 66 August 21, 2010

I was searching for an Alfredo recipe and when I saw this it was how I remember it being made. This is a basic recipe and people can add or delete what they don't want. I do add parsley to mine to give it a zip. It costs cheaper than going out to eat and you can add things to it, broccoli, spinach etc. You can take manacotti shells and stuff them with spinach and an italian meat mixture and put the sauce over it and cook in the oven on 350 for 40 minutes. My family loves it. Thanks for the post I needed a refresher on how to make it.

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggi930 December 21, 2010

I make this often as it is one of my daughters favorites. I made it again last night and noted my changes to make it more waist friendly. I used 3 T. butter and 3 T. flour to make the roux. I added 2 c. fat free half and half and stirred until it boiled. I then added both of the cheeses listed and continued stirring. To make it the consistency we like, I added 3/4 c. more of the fat free half and half and it was perfect. You can add whatever you want as extras, but I typically add fresh diced tomatoes, frozen peas and either sauteed shrimp or chicken. The possibilities are endless. We like to use bow tie or a penne type pasta that holds the sauce. We typically have leftovers and never have a problem with separation upon reheating. Maybe it's because I cut the fat content down. Try this one, you'll love playing around with different ingredients to suit your taste.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlinegar March 30, 2010

This needs some chicken and mushrooms. A little lemon juice and some nutmeg.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Di December 30, 2010

I love this recipe but my friend and I used to go to an Italian restaurant in Omaha where they served a dish called Gamberi y Gorgonzola. Well we duplicated the recipe by making an alfredo sauce and along with the parmesan cheese we added a creamy gorgonzola cheese , about 1/4 cup. Absolutely fabulous!!! I use large shrimp in the recipe and serve it over fettucinne. OMG to die for.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hi7roller@cox.net September 23, 2010

Followed the recipe exactly, turned out delicious! We've made the alfredo recipe on Olive Garden's website many times, but we like this so much better... we'll never go back!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teneillr March 25, 2011

This is by far the best Alfredo sauce recipe I have ever tried! It is so easy to fix but tastes like you spend hours making it! I added chicken and steamed veggies (broccoli, zucchini, carrots, celery, mushrooms) to mine and just made it that much better! I prepared it for a group of friends that celebrate our birthdays together and they were so impressed! This is a keeper for sure!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pac321 February 25, 2011

God, is it only me or do these pictures make the recipe make anyone NOT want to make it? Being a chef I know the bacic recipe is very good, so make it and add your personal touch as far as meat, seafood, or poultry!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lari G December 31, 2010

LOVE this recipe & have made it dozens of times for my family. My husband says its WAY better than OG. My changes----> I saute some grilled chicken in butter, garlic and smoked black pepper and add that to the top. I also feel the recipe needs a little salt but I add a dash of garlic salt across the top after its done along w/ some fresh grated Parmesan.(not the Kraft stuff) It really tastes fabulous this way!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its All About Flavor! February 04, 2011
Better Than Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce