Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Better Than Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Than Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    476 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 476

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2010

      this is a good way to make yummy Alfredo/
      You may also wish to add white wine to your recipe as well as add roasted mushrooms and red peppers
      When adding white wine, use a dry white wine add your wine first with your garlic and reduce, then add your cream and reduce, then add your butter, parmasean and 1/2 C asiago,
      to die for!
      For Vegans we use a cashews, nutritional yeast, coconut milk, and garlic.... Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I was searching for an Alfredo recipe and when I saw this it was how I remember it being made. This is a basic recipe and people can add or delete what they don't want. I do add parsley to mine to give it a zip. It costs cheaper than going out to eat and you can add things to it, broccoli, spinach etc. You can take manacotti shells and stuff them with spinach and an italian meat mixture and put the sauce over it and cook in the oven on 350 for 40 minutes. My family loves it. Thanks for the post I needed a refresher on how to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Delicious! I don't what the Olive Garden is ( I imagine an Italian restaurant chain in the US ), but this is just scrummy! I did reduce butter (per other reviews) to 2 Tbsp, reduce cream to 1c., added about 1/4c. cooking cream cheese, and only put in 1/2c or so of grated cheese and served on tortellini (this amount served 4 of us)!! Kids asked for seconds and husband wanted to know if I had saved the recipe. I did throw in a tablespoon or so of fresh parsley, but I love adding parsley to all sauces! Will be a regular around this house!! Oh, always use fresh garlic and ground black pepper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I make this often as it is one of my daughters favorites. I made it again last night and noted my changes to make it more waist friendly. I used 3 T. butter and 3 T. flour to make the roux. I added 2 c. fat free half and half and stirred until it boiled. I then added both of the cheeses listed and continued stirring. To make it the consistency we like, I added 3/4 c. more of the fat free half and half and it was perfect. You can add whatever you want as extras, but I typically add fresh diced tomatoes, frozen peas and either sauteed shrimp or chicken. The possibilities are endless. We like to use bow tie or a penne type pasta that holds the sauce. We typically have leftovers and never have a problem with separation upon reheating. Maybe it's because I cut the fat content down. Try this one, you'll love playing around with different ingredients to suit your taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This needs some chicken and mushrooms. A little lemon juice and some nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      I love this recipe but my friend and I used to go to an Italian restaurant in Omaha where they served a dish called Gamberi y Gorgonzola. Well we duplicated the recipe by making an alfredo sauce and along with the parmesan cheese we added a creamy gorgonzola cheese , about 1/4 cup. Absolutely fabulous!!! I use large shrimp in the recipe and serve it over fettucinne. OMG to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      This is by far the best Alfredo sauce recipe I have ever tried! It is so easy to fix but tastes like you spend hours making it! I added chicken and steamed veggies (broccoli, zucchini, carrots, celery, mushrooms) to mine and just made it that much better! I prepared it for a group of friends that celebrate our birthdays together and they were so impressed! This is a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      Followed the recipe exactly, turned out delicious! We've made the alfredo recipe on Olive Garden's website many times, but we like this so much better... we'll never go back!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      LOVE this recipe & have made it dozens of times for my family. My husband says its WAY better than OG. My changes----> I saute some grilled chicken in butter, garlic and smoked black pepper and add that to the top. I also feel the recipe needs a little salt but I add a dash of garlic salt across the top after its done along w/ some fresh grated Parmesan.(not the Kraft stuff) It really tastes fabulous this way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      If you make this dish with Parmesano Reggiano itll be OOTW! A hint of parsley also helps...JG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This is just a really solid recipe. I didn't change a thing other than using black pepper as opposed to white pepper and we threw some shrimp in too. It turned out great, smooth and creamy. We were all dipping our garlic bread in the left over sauce. This definitely made it to the "Cookbook". Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      This was super easy!!!! Although it tasted as if I spent all day in the kitchen. I used a combination of mozzarella, parmesan, and swiss because it was what I had on hand. I also used 1 cup milk and 1 cup half-n-half. Threw some shrimp in and voila - dinner! Highly recommend this recipe. Parker tell your mom I said thanks a bunch!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I didn't have cream so I used two cups of 2% milk thickened with one Tablespoon corn starch, and it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      God, is it only me or do these pictures make the recipe make anyone NOT want to make it? Being a chef I know the bacic recipe is very good, so make it and add your personal touch as far as meat, seafood, or poultry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I made this tonight for my daughter and her 2 friends and this was so easy and came out terrific! I sliced a boneless chicken breast and sauteed it in some olive oil, salt, pepper, and about 2 cloves of chopped garlic and added about 1 cup of cut broccoli which I cooked until it was crisp tender. Instead of angel hair we used penne. I did add a bit of salt and about 1/4 cup of grated Asiago cheese to the sauce. When the sauce was done I mixed the pasta with the chicken and broccoli and poured the sauce over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      I love this recipe! It takes a lot like Olive Garden's. I use a stick of sweet butter minus one teaspoon and black pepper instead of white pepper and I use a lot of mozzarella cheese so the sauce is thicker. We cook it in a cast iron skillet too, but I'm not sure if that makes a huge difference! By far my favorite recipe to make!! Thanks :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      This was so good! I was looking for an alfredo sauce that didn't call for cream cheese, this was the winner! Definitely use fresh garlic. Paired it with garlic cheese spread & made garlic bread from this site- Incredibly Delicious Cheese Garlic Bread Spread.

      It was a hit, and will definitely be making again! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      We are eating on this for the second day and I must say like many sauces it is better the second time around. The recipe is easy to make, but I found that using only the ingredients listed that the sauce lacks some flavor. I will tinker with it until I make it taste like I want it to. I am thinking some fresh garlic & maybe even some fresh mushrooms and spinach. Oh, who knows what I will do. :D
      I don't care for Olive Gardens Alfredo Sauce so I can't compare the two. I do not like ANY of the store bought Alfredo Sauces so this one is definitely the winner.
      Too easy but don't forget to stir, stir, stir!
      Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is very good. I used salted butter and half n half and served with bowtie pasta and sliced kiolbasa sausage. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I've never had Alfredo sauce before, but this tasted pretty good to me. My family really enjoyed it. However to me, it didn't taste as zesty as I was hoping it to be. Next time I think I might add some more garlic and maybe a dash of nutmeg.Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 24

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Than Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 983.3
     
    Calories from Fat 620
    63%
    Total Fat 68.9 g
    106%
    Saturated Fat 38.9 g
    194%
    Cholesterol 213.5 mg
    71%
    Sodium 374.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites