Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Better Than Chicken and Dumplings! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Than Chicken and Dumplings!

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2011

      Convenient comfort food! I have made this dish several times, making small alterations for convenience and to accommodate what I had on hand. It has turned out delicious EVERY time. In place of the chicken breasts, I often use canned chicken, with perhaps not equal, but satisfying results. Rather than boiling the first six ingredients as the recipe states (if using regular chicken breasts), I simply saute the celery, onion and carrot and mix it with the soup, 2 cups of water and some chicken soup base/bouillon in place of actual chicken broth. In place of the self-rising flour, I use 1 c flour, 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tsp baking powder. I do follow the same basic assembly instructions as the recipe states, but first putting the melted butter in the pan, then the chicken, then the flour and milk mixture, and lastly the soup/vegetable mixture. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe, Koechin! I think I'll go make it again right now! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      5 star for taste, but 3 star for the way the recipe is written. I agree with a previous reviewer that this was too confusing. This is how I "rewrote" it...I fried all of the veggies (not in two separate ways) in the butter, then I mixed it with the seasoned salt, cream of chicken soup, and two cups of chicken broth after it was cooked. I fried the chicken separately and sprayed the pan with Pam. I cooked for 35 minutes. The taste was delicious, though the dumplings were a little weird as it was more of a layer of dumpling then regular ones. I would probably make this again, but I would use my directions above vs. the ones written!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Great easy tasty recipe! I added italian seasonings to the flour mixture before add milk to it. Also I double the about of "dumplings". There is never any leftovers at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is a very good and is a great quick fix if you are hungry for chicken and dumplings. N.B. - to those reviewers who said it was soupy and did not form dumplings - you have to use self-rising flour in this recipe, no other flour will work - ALSO - self-rising flour goes stale after a while and will not "rise" if it is stale. If you have had the self-rising flour for more than 6 months (or don't know how long you've had it), it is probably stale, so throw it out and buy new self-rising flour before you try to make this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      This will be soupy when you place it into the oven, I was skeptical, yet delighted with the results. I am a Southern Lady who knows her chicken and dumplings and this recipe makes a meal filled with comfort and flavor. The first step in making the chicken stock and cooking the chicken really adds a lot of the flavor. I've seen chicken stock sold in cartons like broth in the stores, but I've never tried it. . . . it would save a little time in this preparation. And, yes, use fresh SR Flour or make your own - my dumplings were light as a feather. I followed several reviewers advice and made additional dumpling mixture and increased the stock. And, added a little poulry seasoning and garlic to the vegetable mixture (didn't add green peas). I enjoyed this meal so much, I doubt that I will roll out dumplings again. I don't agree that it tastes like chicken pot pie without the crust and I may add a little more chicken next time, personal preference. Chef Koechin, hats off to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      One word.......DELICIOUS! I used one cup frozen peas and carrots which i sauteed first..I put the peas & carrots on top of the chicken and then added the flour and milk and then the soup mixture.....I did increase the flour and milk to 1 1/2 cups each because I like alot of dumplings/dough......first time I have ever made a casserole and there was nothing left....one more thing, it taste more like a chicken pot pie than chicken & dumplings, but soooooo good..Thank you for posting!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Pretty good! I skipped the butter and spray some olive oil on the dish instead. The "dumplings" stuck to the pan as a result, but were delicious nice and browned. I added some ground pepper. Next time I may add some more spices to give it more kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Tasty and was colorful as well with the pretty peas and carrots. You could easily just cook the chicken in a little broth or even water, but the extra veggies gave it some good taste. I just poured those veggies from the chicken stock in with the rest since they still had some life in them. I also just put the baking dish with the butter in the microwave to melt so as not to use another dish. Mine didn't form into any sort of dumpling and next time might make more of the dough since mine was a bit soupy. (But then again chicken and dumplings usually is a little soupy...) Overall, tasty and doesn't take too long to make. Components can be made ahead of time, then assembled right before baking which is what I ended up doing. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Very good! We loved it. I had to cook for longer than stated and was worried that it wouldn't set up with all the liquid, but it turned out great. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      4/2012 had 1/2 rotisserie chicken and fixed a large (for 2) casserole. perhaps my flour was a tad old, but the "biscuits" didn't quite rise -- but provided a left-over meal for a few days -- tasty and easy

      Lovely Comfort-Food !! I had 2 BIG rotisserie chicken breasts (left over) and made the rest according to recipe directions. Did not have self-rising flour, so made my own with 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt per cup of flour(according to Google), and it worked just fine. Sprayed the casserole with butter-spray instead of melted butter. Made an enjoyable Monday night supper. Thanks, Chef Koechin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      WOW great Recipe! I wasn't sure about this dish based on some of the reviews and how this dish is put together. I agree it was very similar to Chicken pot pie which the family loves. I had left over chicken so I didn't simmer the chicken and used Chicken stock I had in the freezer. This had alot of flavor with little work. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Great dinner for cold weather. I used leftover chicken so skipped the boil steps. Thanks for a tasty dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I made the cream soup, and followed the rest of the recipe. This is deelicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Let me start off by saying it tasted good. It tasted like a chicken pot pie without the crust. I followed your recipe exactly but I didn't get any dumplings which I was longing for. This makes a lot for one person so I think I'll be eating it for sometime. I'll make some of it into a small pot pie and the rest I'll try over rice. 4 stars for the taste, can't judge for how it turned out since I am the only one who didn't get dumplings. I boo-booed some how.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Great recipe! Quick and easy and delicious - what more could you want. I always make a recipe as posted and then tweek it - no tweeking here! Just be sure to watch it to be sure that it doesn't dry out during the baking process.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Very good indeed! I come from a family who has always done the type of dumplings that you roll out and cut. This was not the same type of thing, but still very good! DH and DD both immediately said "chicken pot pie?" when I set it in front of them, and that was ok too! Everyone ate and enjoyed this dish so that makes it a winner around here. I used a rotisserie chicken from Sam's Club as I decided to try this at the last minute. I don't keep self rising flour on hand so I used one of the ones listed here on 'Zaar and that worked well too! Thanks for a great dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Very good..I had to make my own self rising flour and cream of chicken soup. The kids loved it. This is a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I found this recipe a few months ago when my 14 yr old suddenly decided he wanted to try chicken & dumplings. Remembering the last time I made them (which was more than 14 yrs ago I realize now!) and what a big, messy pain it was, I set out to find a simpler way. Well, this recipe was it and everybody loved it. I'm making it again tomorrow night. As suggested, when the top looks golden, it's done. Pull it out and let it rest for a couple minutes and you'll find it has a great texture sauciness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      We thought this was pretty good. It was very liquidy when I pulled it out of the oven, but did set up more upon cooling. It was not really what I was expecting- it seemed to be a creamy, chunky soup, but somewhat lacking in flavor. I would have preferred more "dumplings," so if I do make this again, I think I will increase the milk and flour mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This turned out great! It was very easy to put together and came out hearty and creamy!! I followed the recipe exactly except for making my own self rising flour and sauteeing some minced garlic with the rest of the veggies. Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Than Chicken and Dumplings!

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.6
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    47%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 114.6 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1533.2 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes