Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Better Than Bubbe's Matzo Ball Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Than Bubbe's Matzo Ball Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2011

      Excellent and authentic! I love the lemon zest and dill in the soup. I put all the carrots in while cooking the broth, then fished out the carrots used in cooking the broth and put them back into the finished soup, because I knew my husband would like the super-soft carrots because that's the way his mother made her matzoh ball soup. I made this using a bunch of chicken backs/necks I had been saving in the freezer, so I didn't have a lot of chicken meat in my soup, but it was still great because the broth was so good, and the matzoh balls were the star. I made the broth the day before and refrigerated so the fat separated and I could remove it easily. Otherwise, I would remove the fat with a gravy separator.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This soup was delicious, spot on with flavour it reminds me of the same style they serve at Jerry's Deli. I did make one adjustment - I used instant Matzo Ball Mix (kosher/passover friendly) which was a timesaver when compared to the method listed in section 2. Definitely will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I served this to my temple for the Passover Seder and everyone commented on how good the broth was! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This recipe was a big hit in my first experience creating a Passover feast. Having never made soup from scratch before, it was more work than I had expected but WELL worth it. I have made it several times since, each time to rave reviews. The only thing that I do differently is that I add a bit of dill to the matzo balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This reminds of of my non-relative grandmother's matzo ball soup. The smell of this cooking brings back all those great childhood memories! I used chicken, onion, carrots, garlic and celery to make the broth, but didn't add them to the finished soup. The matzo balls are so tender and flavorful! I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      I have one word for this soup....really really really good!!! Followed the recipe to the last detail, and strained the broth through cheese cloth at the end for clarity. The broth was delicious with the dill and lemon zest, and it had great body. We adjusted the salt at the end to bring out all the flavors, and....wow. Made the matzo balls using rendered chicken fat augmented with veggie oil, and they turned out flavorful and fluffy. Thanks for sharing this recipe...we will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

    • on August 02, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Than Bubbe's Matzo Ball Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.0
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    53%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 226.8 mg
    75%
    Sodium 1068.4 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 37.4 g
    74%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes