10 Reviews

This was very easy to make, however I found that after 15 hours of cooking on the low setting the meat was burning - I have a new crock pot that perhaps cooks a bit hotter than the old ones - I would recommend watching the meat closely after 10 hours and am sure the results will be tasty

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heart 'N Soul March 19, 2004

I threw this together during my last oamc session. Defrosted last night and put it in the crockpot this morning. I thought these were pretty good (dh says not better than arbys though lol.). It is pretty easy, but only gets the three stars from me because it didn't wow me. We will probably have it again sometime though. I did love the onions after they cooked down as well. Thanks for sharing something so easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach October 18, 2006

I have made this twice now and it is so good! I'm usually not a fan of roast beef but somehow this recipe makes me drool, lol! I used Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix for the soup mix. After cooking, I shredded the meat with 2 forks and served on Homemade Buns. Thanks for posting! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * September 27, 2006

Fluffy, I felt the same as Mary. After 8 hours, the meat was falling to bits so I let it go for 10 and that was long enough. I will say that the meat was very tender but you could taste the brown sugar and if I do it again, I would not add the sugar at all. It didn't need the sweetness in my opinion. Thanks, Fluffy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert March 20, 2004

One of the more expensive recipes I've made, first the money I spent on a barely edible dried out, overly sweet shredded roast, and then the money I spent going to Arby's. It's not even a particularly decent roast recipe overall. This recipe should never allowed to masquerade as a copycat Arby's recipe. I didn't expect perfection but I at least expected a decent roast. I would never serve this to my family, even my dog seemed disappointed. Be warned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew L. July 12, 2015

I made this today. My wife said, "Don't lose that recipe!" I used a 3lb top round roast which was on sale for $2.99. I also had a slicer. Don't use a slicer, just shred it. I'm not a fan of well done roast beef, but this was REALLY good! To paraphrase Jaws, "You're gonna need a bigger roast!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
franzcooks March 31, 2014

Don't call this an Arby's roast beef sandwich. The only thing they have in common is the bun. Arby's roast beef is some processed, pressed meat product, more indicative of cold cuts than roast beef. Your recipe may be fine for someone who likes well done beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Litoralis April 14, 2013

We have had this a couple of times now, it is wonderful! Thank you so much for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Kisha*~ February 04, 2010

My fifteen-year-old son made this for supper last night. He put it in the crock at 730am and it was perfectly done at 430pm [we used a blade roast, and it was still partially frozen when we started]. We shredded the meat and served it on cheese buns. Very good, very easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell September 17, 2008

This roast turned out so moist and tender. The flavor was very good. I put it in the crockpot and cooked it overnight so it would be done for Sunday dinner. It's a keeper Thanks Fluffy. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle January 18, 2007
Better -Than-Arby's Roast Beef Sandwiches