Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Better Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Butter

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2010

      I'm a fan of real food, and we always have some of this "spread-y butter" on hand! For a spread, I use salted butter for flavor and extra virgin olive oil for health benefits. For baking, I use unsalted butter and light olive oil for a more neutral taste. I first came across this recipe in The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook, so I use a food processor for mixing instead of a blender. I haven't tried, but I think it would be fun to add honey or herbs. Using tiny molds for individual servings would be fun, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      This has been a huge hit here at home with the fam and also with guests! Thank you so much for the recipe. I do make one change to the recipe. Instead of two cups olive oil, I use 3/4 to 1 cup each of olive oil and coconut oil. It tastes great and so much healthier than straight butter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I can't give this enough stars, DH and I love this stuff and not just for cooking. We had it on our baked potatoes (DH loves the taste of butter but I worry about his cholesterol) and this not only taste great but is healthier IMHO. I did cut it in half as wasn't sure how it would turn out and there's only the two of us, but next time I'll sure make the whole thing. I must say when I saw how watery it looked (like a thin cake batter) I was a little nervous but after placing in the fridg firmed up perfect and so easy to spread right out of the fridge. I used unsalted butter and EVO and we are thrilled with the results in looks, taste, ease of prep and spreadability. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This turned out great!! Thanks.. so nice and creamy. I'm a fan of whipped butter and this cuts down on the price quite a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I love having this stuff in the fridge! I have made this both the way stated and by cutting the oil to 1 cup. As a spread, I think we prefer it with only 1 cup of oil to 1 lb butter. Increasing the oil doesn't make it any more spreadable straight from the fridge and the flavor isn't as rich. In general, it reminds me of the spreadable butters you buy in the store, you still have to let it warm up a little before it spreads easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      This butter is wonderful. It spreads easily and it's alot healthier with olive oil instead of hydrogenated oils in margarine. The taste is great also. I only added 1 cup of olive oil to one lb of butter and it turned out great. Thank you so much for this recipe. It's nice to be able to eat real butter again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      Gosh TruckCook, what a wonderful idea!! I'm on my second container already! the butter is so easy so spread, and has a fluffy texture, and not to mention, wonderful for frying also. I used Canola oil in place of olive oil...and cut the butter to half a pound, and the oil to 1 cup.... I will always have this handy in the fridge, it makes things so much easier. Just make certain to really beat the butter and oil until really fluffy. Thank you so very much for a wonderful idea!...Kittencal:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      WOW! I have had trouble switching from Country Crock back to butter. Guess I was addicted to the flavor! Mixing the butter with the olive oil tones down the strong butter flavor. It is really nice to have a spreadable back! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      Great recipe! I have had this recipe saved for what seems like forever and just haven't gotten around to trying it. I wish I had sooner, it's wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      great stuff, i've been making this for years...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Truck cook , I totally agree with the other reviewers, this is great .. I used canola oil and 1/2 lb butter also.. so much better than just using butter to fry eggs and have it burn. Thanks for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I also cut the recipe in half but am now on my second batch. Great for summer weather when you have to keep the butter in the fridge. It is easily spreadable right from the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Simple and great for cooking. Convenient to have olive oil and butter combined for sauteeing chicken, veggies, whatever, since it comes out of the fridge very soft and melts quickly in the pan. Used this morning for scrambled eggs, and will continue to use it for all of my cooking needs, even boxed mac and cheese for the kids. Made 1/4 of the recipe, using EVOO from Costco which seems a little fruitier than others I've tried. A lighter olive oil would be preferable if you plan to use this for spreading on baked goods. Thanks, Truck Cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Wow, I don't have to buy butter/margarine style spreads anymore! I'd rather have the saturated fats from butter than all those hydrogenated fats in spreads; plus real butter tastes better, but it doesn't spread very easily. This way I get all the taste of butter, with reduced saturated fat & more "good" fat, plus it spreads just as well as any commercial spread! Brilliant! I also added a little flaxseed oil to mine to increase the levels of essential fatty acids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      This is totally awesome stuff! Great on toast or bread, and for cooking too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      This is wonderful, I use it in cooking, and also as a spread on toast or rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (886 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2358.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2400
    10%
    Total Fat 266.7 g
    410%
    Saturated Fat 97.6 g
    488%
    Cholesterol 325.3 mg
    108%
    Sodium 874.5 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites