Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Better Baked Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Baked Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2008

      I left out 1/2 c rolled oats and used equal amounts of oat bran, mealed flaxseeds, and steel cut oats (1 cup total). I used 1 cup of applesauce (for the applesauce and the oil in the recipe). I left out the sugar and brown sugar and instead used a little less than 1/2 cup of honey. I added a couple tablespoons of slivered almonds. I used mixed berries for my fruit and top each serving (makes 8 servings in my opinion) with a spoonful or 2 of vanilla non-fat yogurt. I put my changes in a nutrition calculator and it said that each serving (of 8) has 200 calories, 13g of fat (less than .5g of saturated fat), 10g of fiber, and 12g of protein. It's also very high in iron. I don't usually like oatmeal but I think this is delicious and will definitely be making it again very soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      This is really good. Add chopped appels and cranberries and white sugar on top to give it more pizzazz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      This was so awesome! I did not have oat bran so I added whey protein powder, 1/4 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      YUM! This is so good and so easy to make. I added dried blueberries, fresh bananas, and frozen rasberries. I didn't have oat bran, so just used extra rolled oats.
      Cooked it at night and served it reheated the next morning. The kids ate all, even though they usually don't like fruit mixed with their oatmeal. Has a nice firm texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

    • on December 11, 2010

      I just made this tonight and wow!!!! What a great recipe! I altered it a bit for personal preference and I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I didn't have steel cut oats so I just added in an extra 1/4 cup of rolled oats instead. I still wanted the oatmeal to have a nutty flavour to it though, so I added a tbsp of ground flaxseed. I'm allergic to apples so I had to substitute the applesauce with pear sauce. I also used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of using a 1/4 cup of both white and brown sugar. Lastly, I added in a half tsp of almond extract and doubled the cinnamon for added flavour.
      20 minutes into baking it, I stirred the oatmeal and added shredded coconut, walnuts and dried cranberries to half of the dish. I left the other side plain so that I could experiment with different add ins later on to mix things up.
      I just had some of the plain oatmeal, added blueberries and blackberries and poured vanilla yogurt over it. DELICIOUS!
      I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Yum-o. I made this as written one evening, kept it in the fridge, and enjoyed a week of hot breakfasts! This is in a whole other category from those little packets of instant oatmeal. Delish. I'm trying it tonight with cranberries and toasted almonds, and I can't wait to try some other variations... blueberries and cream, raisins and spice, maple brown sugar, banana walnut...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This was delicious! I added in 2 cups of sliced strawberries after 20 minutes of cooking and it was the perfect consistency with the soft strawberries. As they bake the flavor melts into the oats. I stirred it really well when adding the berries which helped any of the sides from burning. I added about 1/3 cup of water as well because some of the oats were a bit too dry to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Good, easy to do serves a bunch. You probably have evberything you need to make it. It came out very firm for me, almost like a cake, not bad, but not exactly what I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I am easily give this 5 stars. I have made this many times now and love it. I have tried different fruit in it such as dried apricots, raspberries, blueberries and raisins. I dont like it so much with steel cut oats as I found they didnt cook enough so I add wheat germ instead. I also add some vanilla, about a teaspoon and up the cinnamon. I have even tossed in some pecans. Very delicious. THanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Tried two different recipes today. We enjoyed this one better. We liked the texture better and it is healthier. Stirring it better incorporates the fruit and makes it less cake-like overall. We added toasted sliced almonds which added to the texture. We also had no applesauce so had to substitute mashed banana. I am thinking of substituting ground fax seed for the oat bran but am going to do a nutritional comparison first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      We love, love this recipe. It's not soggy like other recipes I've tried, probably partially due to stirring it half way. I love the nutty flavor and texture that the steel cut oats give it. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      We've tried more then one baked oatmeal recipe in the hopes of finding "the one keeper". Our search is over. Made it with diced apple and raisins and used half and half. Will be trying other fruit combos in the future. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Made this for breakfast. Reduced the recipe to serve, believe it or not, 1! Replaced the egg with a reduced amount of egg substitute. It was very filling and stayed with me throughout the morning. Liked the addition of the steel cut oats. They add a nice nutty texture to the dish. Also, opted not to add the fruit during cooking but topped it with vanilla soy milk and fresh blueberries. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      This was excellent. Very easy to prepare. I didn't have oat bran, so I substituted wheat germ. To save time, I defrosted some frozen fruit I had on hand. Delicious. I will definitely make this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Everyone just loved this. I prepped everything the night before and stored in the fridge. In the morning I just popped my baking dish straight into the oven and baked. I baked sultana raisins right in with it from the beginning and added peach and apple wedges for the 2 cups fruit according to recipe instructions. I really have a tough time forcing myself to eat breakfast so it was a real treat to find something that this good to eat in the morning. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Yum, this was good! My family really enjoyed this. It was like serving a fruit crisp for breakfast. I used chopped apples and 1 banana to make the 2 cups of fruit. I'm looking forward to trying it with other fruits. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Ohh this was sooo good. I made it for Sunday morning Breakfast and my family loved it! I followed the recipe exactly and used 1/2 c frozen cranberries and 1 1/2 c chopped apples for the fruit. This will become a regular at our house. Great texture and flavor, just sweet enough. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This oatmeal is so much better than oatmeal made on the stove top. I had mine with peaches and blueberries. I reduced the recipe to serve one and I baked it in a small souffle dish. I also added extra oatmeal in place of the oil, used egg substitute (sue to measurement issues), and reduced the amount of granulated sugar by half. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      I just finised eating a piece of this and I don't think I'll be hungry again for awhile. I used dried cranberries and dates, and even though I soaked them in hot water, they absorbed a lot of the liquid from the oatmeal (I did mix them in before I started cooking), which was fine since I don't like my oats too mushy. Next time I will probably use less sugar. I also like that I can share this with my gerbil (she's enjoying a little bowl-full as I type).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Baked Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.2
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    36%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 181.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites