21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I left out 1/2 c rolled oats and used equal amounts of oat bran, mealed flaxseeds, and steel cut oats (1 cup total). I used 1 cup of applesauce (for the applesauce and the oil in the recipe). I left out the sugar and brown sugar and instead used a little less than 1/2 cup of honey. I added a couple tablespoons of slivered almonds. I used mixed berries for my fruit and top each serving (makes 8 servings in my opinion) with a spoonful or 2 of vanilla non-fat yogurt. I put my changes in a nutrition calculator and it said that each serving (of 8) has 200 calories, 13g of fat (less than .5g of saturated fat), 10g of fiber, and 12g of protein. It's also very high in iron. I don't usually like oatmeal but I think this is delicious and will definitely be making it again very soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CsMochilera January 11, 2008

This is really good. Add chopped appels and cranberries and white sugar on top to give it more pizzazz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kawyand February 09, 2014

This was so awesome! I did not have oat bran so I added whey protein powder, 1/4 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
innerreflectionyoga September 15, 2013

YUM! This is so good and so easy to make. I added dried blueberries, fresh bananas, and frozen rasberries. I didn't have oat bran, so just used extra rolled oats.
Cooked it at night and served it reheated the next morning. The kids ate all, even though they usually don't like fruit mixed with their oatmeal. Has a nice firm texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim R. May 11, 2011

I just made this tonight and wow!!!! What a great recipe! I altered it a bit for personal preference and I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I didn't have steel cut oats so I just added in an extra 1/4 cup of rolled oats instead. I still wanted the oatmeal to have a nutty flavour to it though, so I added a tbsp of ground flaxseed. I'm allergic to apples so I had to substitute the applesauce with pear sauce. I also used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of using a 1/4 cup of both white and brown sugar. Lastly, I added in a half tsp of almond extract and doubled the cinnamon for added flavour.
20 minutes into baking it, I stirred the oatmeal and added shredded coconut, walnuts and dried cranberries to half of the dish. I left the other side plain so that I could experiment with different add ins later on to mix things up.
I just had some of the plain oatmeal, added blueberries and blackberries and poured vanilla yogurt over it. DELICIOUS!
I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carter_crazy December 11, 2010

Yum-o. I made this as written one evening, kept it in the fridge, and enjoyed a week of hot breakfasts! This is in a whole other category from those little packets of instant oatmeal. Delish. I'm trying it tonight with cranberries and toasted almonds, and I can't wait to try some other variations... blueberries and cream, raisins and spice, maple brown sugar, banana walnut...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CTRmom December 08, 2010

This was delicious! I added in 2 cups of sliced strawberries after 20 minutes of cooking and it was the perfect consistency with the soft strawberries. As they bake the flavor melts into the oats. I stirred it really well when adding the berries which helped any of the sides from burning. I added about 1/3 cup of water as well because some of the oats were a bit too dry to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSabrina October 21, 2010

Good, easy to do serves a bunch. You probably have evberything you need to make it. It came out very firm for me, almost like a cake, not bad, but not exactly what I was expecting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha July 27, 2010

I am easily give this 5 stars. I have made this many times now and love it. I have tried different fruit in it such as dried apricots, raspberries, blueberries and raisins. I dont like it so much with steel cut oats as I found they didnt cook enough so I add wheat germ instead. I also add some vanilla, about a teaspoon and up the cinnamon. I have even tossed in some pecans. Very delicious. THanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheebies February 25, 2010
Better Baked Oatmeal