19 Reviews

Finally got around to making this bread (1/2 quantity). Always follow a recipe exactly as written before rating. Love lemon and cranberries but felt that it needed 1/2 cup butter rather than 1/3. Maybe we like a richer taste. Next time (and there definitely will be a next time) I will make this change. A suggestion re using lemon rind. You get a more potent lemon taste if the rind is grated into the sugar and rubber together with your fingers. Thanks for posting.P.S. with the changes mentioned above they are now better than our Tim Hortons (so agree with other reviewer!!!!)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 09, 2010

Wonderful!! Great lemony taste. Doesn't really need the nuts, I liked them, but I liked the lemon and cranberry tastes best, and the glaze is great too - make with fresh squeezed lemon! I made these to take to a get together tonight, and I'm glad I made mini muffins for them and loaves for me, because when I get home I have a mini loaf for now and a mini loaf for the freezer. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 January 15, 2011

This was excellent -- and got lots of totally unsolicited compliments at the two Christmas parties I took them to! As suggested by several people, I let the grated lemon rind macerate (that's prolly the wrong word, ah well) in the sugar for a while before incorporating into the mix. Also, I used fresh cranberries, and dredged them in flour before folding into the batter. Turned out lovely, and the glaze was nice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladydae January 04, 2011

This was a really good bread. I think if fresh cranberries were in season, it would be even better. I tasted it with and without the glaze and definitely liked the lemon boost (it was very subtle without it). I used the almonds and added a little vanilla. When I checked (the regular loaf) at 45 minutes it was done. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 08, 2010

If anyone has been to Tim's (in Canada) they know how great their Lemon Cranberry muffins are. One of my and Billy's favourites. If I didn't know better Hokies, I'd swear you baked for them. Wait.....yours are better. :) These are tender and have a wonderful sweet-tartness to them. I used frozen cranberries that I chopped in the little food processor (poor kitty ran for cover). Omitted the nuts as our company has nut issues. I made the full recipe and baked one 8x4 pan and 12 muffins. On the muffins I sprinkled coarse sugar before baking (took 20 min in the toaster oven), but used the glaze on the loaf. Oh my.....make the glaze. :) I thought at first it might be overkill and might make the top sticky, but went for it anyway. Really glad I did. It was perfect. You've got a winner here HokiesLady. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 March 27, 2010

this is easy, delicious and perfect. I used Splenda so compnsated for voluyme with a smaller pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba February 14, 2010

omggggg, this is so gooooooooood! I just made 6 mini ones and i'm eating it as i type.Imade exactly as recipe stated, came out perfect. They will be perfect for my xmas gift baskets. Ty for posting Hokies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
germie3 November 20, 2009

Can't say anything except that this was the best loaf! My husband raved over it and I must say it was really good.<br/>I did use fresh cranberries instead of dried and the combination of lemon and tart cranberry was just right.<br/>Highly recommend this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn in Toronto June 19, 2014

I used fresh cranberries and didn't include the nuts. Very good. Very lemony ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtmcookie December 06, 2013

I was really hoping for an outstanding taste, from all the reviews. I normally make this with fresh cranberries, but didn't have any, so that was my reason for trying this recipe. It's not bad, just not as wonderful as all the reviews. Also, the glaze didn't look anything like the pictures. All I can think of is that maybe it should have been confectioner's sugar?? That's what I've always used in the past, but since the recipe didn't state conf., I used regular. Not a success.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsmoore August 17, 2013
Betsy's Lemon-Cranberry Bread