Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Betsy's Lemon-Cranberry Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Betsy's Lemon-Cranberry Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      Finally got around to making this bread (1/2 quantity). Always follow a recipe exactly as written before rating. Love lemon and cranberries but felt that it needed 1/2 cup butter rather than 1/3. Maybe we like a richer taste. Next time (and there definitely will be a next time) I will make this change. A suggestion re using lemon rind. You get a more potent lemon taste if the rind is grated into the sugar and rubber together with your fingers. Thanks for posting.P.S. with the changes mentioned above they are now better than our Tim Hortons (so agree with other reviewer!!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Wonderful!! Great lemony taste. Doesn't really need the nuts, I liked them, but I liked the lemon and cranberry tastes best, and the glaze is great too - make with fresh squeezed lemon! I made these to take to a get together tonight, and I'm glad I made mini muffins for them and loaves for me, because when I get home I have a mini loaf for now and a mini loaf for the freezer. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This was excellent -- and got lots of totally unsolicited compliments at the two Christmas parties I took them to! As suggested by several people, I let the grated lemon rind macerate (that's prolly the wrong word, ah well) in the sugar for a while before incorporating into the mix. Also, I used fresh cranberries, and dredged them in flour before folding into the batter. Turned out lovely, and the glaze was nice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This was a really good bread. I think if fresh cranberries were in season, it would be even better. I tasted it with and without the glaze and definitely liked the lemon boost (it was very subtle without it). I used the almonds and added a little vanilla. When I checked (the regular loaf) at 45 minutes it was done. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      If anyone has been to Tim's (in Canada) they know how great their Lemon Cranberry muffins are. One of my and Billy's favourites. If I didn't know better Hokies, I'd swear you baked for them. Wait.....yours are better. :) These are tender and have a wonderful sweet-tartness to them. I used frozen cranberries that I chopped in the little food processor (poor kitty ran for cover). Omitted the nuts as our company has nut issues. I made the full recipe and baked one 8x4 pan and 12 muffins. On the muffins I sprinkled coarse sugar before baking (took 20 min in the toaster oven), but used the glaze on the loaf. Oh my.....make the glaze. :) I thought at first it might be overkill and might make the top sticky, but went for it anyway. Really glad I did. It was perfect. You've got a winner here HokiesLady. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      this is easy, delicious and perfect. I used Splenda so compnsated for voluyme with a smaller pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      omggggg, this is so gooooooooood! I just made 6 mini ones and i'm eating it as i type.Imade exactly as recipe stated, came out perfect. They will be perfect for my xmas gift baskets. Ty for posting Hokies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      Can't say anything except that this was the best loaf! My husband raved over it and I must say it was really good.<br/>I did use fresh cranberries instead of dried and the combination of lemon and tart cranberry was just right.<br/>Highly recommend this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I used fresh cranberries and didn't include the nuts. Very good. Very lemony ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      I was really hoping for an outstanding taste, from all the reviews. I normally make this with fresh cranberries, but didn't have any, so that was my reason for trying this recipe. It's not bad, just not as wonderful as all the reviews. Also, the glaze didn't look anything like the pictures. All I can think of is that maybe it should have been confectioner's sugar?? That's what I've always used in the past, but since the recipe didn't state conf., I used regular. Not a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe! I halved the recipe, used a cup of fresh cranberries instead of dried, and omitted the nuts. I baked it for about 35-40 min. I also topped it with a simple lemon icing instead of the glaze: 3 tbsp butter, 1.5 cups icing sugar, and 1.5 tbsp lemon juice. This will be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      This was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I will be saying what everybody's been saying - this loaf is amazing! I brought it with me to a get together with friends and everybody just loved it. I omitted the walnuts otherwise made as stated. I think next time I might add some baking powder. Made for Sweet Traditions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Well, I suppose I shouldn't review this just yet because the second loaf is still in the oven. A friend stopped by unexpectedly as the first one was coming out so we had some after our lunch and it was delicious! After we were halfway through our pieces, I realized we forgot the glaze! No matter, it was still delicious! My oven isn't the best for baking, so the outside was a bit browner than I'd like before the center was set, but that was no fault of the recipe. Great lemon taste with the tart cranberry. I'll make this one again, especially around the holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      There's no way I'd cut a recipe like this in half, not after all those other great reviews, & especially because we, here in my home, have a great fondness for this kind of bread, & your recipe makes for a very nice tasting loaf (or 2, as the case is)! Thanks for an absolutely wonderful taste treat! [Made & reviewed in Potluck tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Sooo good! The flavors were wonderful- we just loved the lemon and cranberry combo. I halved the recipe and it fit nicely into my 9x5". Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Lemon and cranberries, yes, that is a great combination! The batter was indeed way too much for the 9x5x3 inch pan stated so I used a 9x3 inch round pan in which it fit much better. This made a huge bread but oh, so tasty. It took 1 hour 15 minutes to bake but that could have been cause I used a round pan, and, not all ovens are the same. Will try to make half the recipe and see if that would fit into the size pan stated in the recipe. Very pleased I tried this. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This was delicious, just the right balance of tart and sweet. The batter mixed up beautifully, but I started to panic when it seemed it would overflow the 9x5x3-inch pan! It did puff up a lot while baking, and some did spill over. It ended up taking 70 minutes to bake, and I ended up with a GIANT loaf. I was not complaining after tasting it, though, and I will be making this again. Thanks for posting this lovely delight, Mel! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This bread turned out very tasty! I ended up leaving out the lemon juice and peel, and the glaze too, simply because I didn't have either, but I don't think I would have liked it any better. I ended up with 5 small loaves. Definitely will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Betsy's Lemon-Cranberry Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.6
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    40%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 45.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 237.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites