467 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've used this oven method before, and it really does give tender, fall off the bone ribs, but this rib-rub knocked my ribs out of the park! I found the hickory salt in a spice shop, but I've seen it for about $5 on ebay. I'm sure the sea salt with liquid smoke method will work in a pinch. Great rib recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii July 08, 2013

Super easy and super good! I used a prepared rub mixture because I was short on time. With only 4 hours marinating, the meat was, indeed, falling off the bone, quite literally. (Save for a couple of very thick, lean end pieces which, while falling apart, were a bit dry, something which probably could have been remedied with longer marination.) We, too, finished them on the grill, with Trader Joe's Memphis BBQ sauce. The ribs even outshone the blue crab! Oh, an I used applewood smoked salt. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snickerspotpie July 04, 2013

I'd like to add my 5 stars to the other reviews! We made this tonight and the hardest part in this recipe was waiting for them to cook! We couldn't find any hickory smoke salt so we just used Adobo seasoning instead. We did use the ground red pepper and will probably cut back a bit on that the next time as it was a bit too hot for the kiddos...but for us..we enjoyed the kick! Also we used Jack Daniel's Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce since we figured the smokehouse taste would be a good add since we didn't have that hickory smoke salt. It took only 2hrs for our ribs to start pulling away from the bone. Loved the foil cooking technique. We did place the entire foil packet on a cookie sheet, but I must have made a tight seal because none of the juices leaked out. It was an awesome clean up..just ball up the foil and throw out. Thanks for a great recipe! We can't wait to make it again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaseNNJ July 03, 2013

Fantastic! My husband is not easily impressed when it comes to food, but as he put it "I've outdone myself" with these. Couldn't find the hickory salt either, so used liquid smoke, worked great. I don't have a favorite BBQ sauce, so I just used Sweet Baby Ray and it was awesome. We all ate too much. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fishystar May 24, 2013

Giving this recipe 5 stars because of the seasonings! Outstanding!! The only difference I do is after rubbing the meat down with the seasonings and brown sugar, and double wrap in foil, shiny side out and meaty side down (right?), I put mine on the cookie sheet (2 slabs) and keep in frig overnight. Then the next day I put in oven.. and bake on 300 for 2 1/2 - 3 hours.. Take out the oven and carefully very carefully open the tin foil and fold back. Then add your fav bar-bq sauce, turn oven up to broil for 5-10 mins per side.. be careful turning the ribs over, because chances are they will fall off the bone because so tender! You can actually cut the ribs into pieces before adding bar-bq sauce to make it easier.. Anyway, thank you for sharing your oven ribs recipe.. We loved it!! I posted a picture of my ribs!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick January 03, 2013

Best ribs I've ever made. I also made this recipe with dark brown sugar once and the taste was very rich. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blairf November 17, 2012

Very good and so easy to make. I used country style spareribs which turn out so tender and meaty. I spread some liquid smoke on the ribs before I rubbed it with the seasoning mixture.
I also used smoked paprika and yes I did use a little ground red pepper. When I put them under the broiler I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar barbecue sauce. There was very little clean up work by using the tin foil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 September 18, 2012

Awesome!!! Made this using a split chicken and it turned out soooo good, thanks Not-2-Sweet! Will definitely be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozark_Chef March 21, 2012

The ribs came out perfect. Made it for a get together with friends and there was no one that didn't love the ribs. Being that I am not a great cook, I followed the recipe to a T and the results were perfect. Even surprised myself. Great Recipe and crowd pleaser!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
solomente January 22, 2012

Theses are AMAZING!!! I never liked ribs until I came across this recipe! I did make a few *little* changes (I added a dash of cinnamon and ground cloves to the rub) and I brushed the ribs with liquid smoke before I put them in the oven. I also cooked them for 3 1/2 hours instead of 2 1/2 and i had the cleanest bones I have ever seen! =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cevyn June 12, 2011
Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)