552 Reviews

Holy God, I was in rib heaven.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nachoz2005 January 30, 2011

Wow! I've made ribs twice in my life now; the first time they turned out dry and tough, I hesitated to make ribs again but these were amazing!!!! I only made 2 lbs of ribs and so they only needed to cook for 1 hr 45 minutes. I also didn't have the smoked salt and just used sea salt instead and the flavor was perfect. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life December 22, 2010

Great Ribs. Had one foil pouch spill in oven. Lots of smoke. Made the second time on charcoal grill. Grilled 3 hrs indirect @ 250 unfoiled. 1 hr foiled and last hr unfoiled with BBQ sauce. Even better than oven method

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim K July 10, 2010

The biggest problem most people have is finding the smoked salt. I have found that the best seasoning for me is "McCormick's GRILL MASTER APPLEWOOD RUB". It has a perfect blend of smoke and spice. If I'm cooking only in the over, I follow the recipe as written. If I'm finishing the ribs on the grill, I shorten the cooking time by 15 minutes. The reason for that is that if you cook for the full time, the ribs are too tender and fall apart easily, and makes it a little harder to transfer them to the grill. Shortening the oven time helps keeping the ribs intact, and the heat from the grill will soften the meat further. For some people, shortening the cooking time might be preferable because it leaves them a little chewy and reduces the steamed meat flavor a little, so that it tastes just like the ribs were slow cooked on a grill for hours. This is a great, easy recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fladonn June 04, 2015

Best ribs I've ever had. Cooked to perfection the meet was so tender almost falling off the bone. Used liquid smoke instead of hickory smoked salt. Grilled it towards the end. Highly recommend this recipe. It definitely will be the only way I cook my ribs. ?

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dina P. April 19, 2015

I'd like to add my 5 stars to the other reviews! We made this tonight and the hardest part in this recipe was waiting for them to cook! We couldn't find any hickory smoke salt so we just used Adobo seasoning instead. We did use the ground red pepper and will probably cut back a bit on that the next time as it was a bit too hot for the kiddos...but for us..we enjoyed the kick! Also we used Jack Daniel's Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce since we figured the smokehouse taste would be a good add since we didn't have that hickory smoke salt. It took only 2hrs for our ribs to start pulling away from the bone. Loved the foil cooking technique. We did place the entire foil packet on a cookie sheet, but I must have made a tight seal because none of the juices leaked out. It was an awesome clean up..just ball up the foil and throw out. Thanks for a great recipe! We can't wait to make it again!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaseNNJ July 03, 2013

I have made this recipe several times - sooooo good - the family loves it. Followed recipe except substituted hickory liquid smoke for salt... just brushed ribs before applying rub.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CactusAZKaren January 16, 2012

WOW! These are without a doubt a must make recipe. Too bad that there are only 5 stars to rate them. The suggestion to use smoked paprika was dead on! WOW! We've just moved to Memphis and have been trying to find the best ribs in town.. guess what?? We've found them in our own kitchen!!! WOW! These are simply WICKED GOOD. WOW! Next time we have company I'm going to fire up the grill to finish these off with a little BBQ sauce and I bet there will not be any leftovers! Just follow this very straight forward recipe and you will be the rib master!! Thanks for sharing this top notch recipe. WOW! (Did I mention WOW! ?)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Centsableone May 03, 2015

Fantastic! I'm not a very good cook, but this was so easy! My husband loved them. I've made them twice. The first time, we bought the ribs fresh from the local meat market. The second time, we bought prepackaged. We could tell the difference. They were still good the second time, but nearly as mouthwatering as the first time. So I highly recommend buying fresh from the meat department. If you follow this recipe and decide you DON'T like the ribs, then you've done something wrong or bought a bad rack of ribs. These are delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth D. February 16, 2015

WOW! I made these tonight and registered for Food.com just so I can write this review. These ribs are AMAZING! I was skeptical that the ribs would be "melt in your mouth" or "fall off the bone" after only 2 - 2 1/2 hours?but they were! They were incredibly tender and flavorful, wow! I even used pre-packaged ribs because they were on sale at Cub Foods. I think the one I used was just over 3 lbs (I followed the recipe for the 4 lbs anyway and it was perfect). I tried some meat before adding the BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar) and it was killer even on its own! My boyfriend is a rib snob and he raved about these - win! I can't wait to make these for my parents who love ribs as well?I know they will be super impressed. Thanks so much for the recipe! It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emhennessey February 04, 2015
Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)