467 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great Ribs. Had one foil pouch spill in oven. Lots of smoke. Made the second time on charcoal grill. Grilled 3 hrs indirect @ 250 unfoiled. 1 hr foiled and last hr unfoiled with BBQ sauce. Even better than oven method

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim K July 10, 2010

First let me say that I always mess up ribs...they always come out as "burnt ends" (the whole thing)...dry, no matter how much sauce you put on it and barely palatable....this time I HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK!!!!!...The is hands down the best recipe I've tried and succeeded at (I'm usually a pretty good cook, according to everyone I've cooked for ... except ribs) I did use Bobby Flay's Brown Sugar Rub (just because I already had rubbed the meat down), cooked the meat in the foil packet (I usually cook in a baking pan covered with foil...the foil wrapped meat definitely makes ALL the difference in the world!!!!) on a baking sheet as directed. After 2 1/2 hours (probably could've taken them out at 2) I removed the meat (as suggested by another reviewer, turned the oven up to 350F), cut open the top of the packet, folded back the foil, drained some of the juice, then put my homemade BBQ sauce on the meat (I live in Austria and don't have the selection of sauce choices like in the states). I baked them for about 30 more minutes turning them once and putting more sauce on them. I took them out, placing them in a heavy covered pot to rest for about 15-20 minutes. The smile on my husband's face said it all with a lot of "mmmm-ing" throughout the meal! I love being able to share some great BBQ with him and my new in-laws (Vienna is NOT a big BBQ town...lol)...Thanks Beth for the great method of cooking. I can't wait to try it on chicken as was mentioned in some of the other reviews.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dandylicious10 March 16, 2014

I have not made these ribs yet with the smoked salt but I have made them with smoked paprika and they were AWESOME!!!! I made them for a large group of people and only had one oven where we were cooking something else at 300 degrees. So inadvertently these ribs were cooked at 300 for 3 hours and they were falling off the bone as I took them out of the tin foil. Was not able to grill them at the end for two minutes. Every single person raved about them and most of them asked for the recipe. This is the best rib recipe my husband and I have ever had.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Waverly Hughes August 25, 2013

I don't eat pork. Period. But my fiance requested pork ribs for our Christmas dinner and I decided to take a change and try this recipe. Being the most finicky eater I've ever seen, his fingers, face, and eyebrows told me all I needed to know. It was a HUGE hit. He said these were the best ribs he's ever had in his life. I didn't have any smoke, so I didn't use any. I was skeptical that they would cook so fast, but they absolutely did. I think the secret is in the foil. Don't use a deep pan. The double foil is all you need. I also did the same thing with beef ribs at the same time, so I could eat something too, and they were phenominal. I soaked them in orange juice overnight and followed suit. I will be making these again. Thanks, Not-2-Sweet!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WisdomTucker January 26, 2013

Fantastic! I'm not a very good cook, but this was so easy! My husband loved them. I've made them twice. The first time, we bought the ribs fresh from the local meat market. The second time, we bought prepackaged. We could tell the difference. They were still good the second time, but nearly as mouthwatering as the first time. So I highly recommend buying fresh from the meat department. If you follow this recipe and decide you DON'T like the ribs, then you've done something wrong or bought a bad rack of ribs. These are delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth D. February 16, 2015

WOW! I made these tonight and registered for Food.com just so I can write this review. These ribs are AMAZING! I was skeptical that the ribs would be "melt in your mouth" or "fall off the bone" after only 2 - 2 1/2 hours?but they were! They were incredibly tender and flavorful, wow! I even used pre-packaged ribs because they were on sale at Cub Foods. I think the one I used was just over 3 lbs (I followed the recipe for the 4 lbs anyway and it was perfect). I tried some meat before adding the BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar) and it was killer even on its own! My boyfriend is a rib snob and he raved about these - win! I can't wait to make these for my parents who love ribs as well?I know they will be super impressed. Thanks so much for the recipe! It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emhennessey February 04, 2015

Made these today and they are awesome. I''ve never made ribs before and my hubby says they are better than his. I bought pre-seasoned ribs at costco and cooked them just like the recipe. Will be making these again. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desertdigz February 01, 2015

Amazing and super easy! I put in some onion powder and cayenne pepper for a kick for 1 rack for the grown ups. Omg this one is a keeper. Kids, hubby and my mom want me to make this at least once a week!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pay80_2085771 January 28, 2014

I made these tonight and they where "AMAZING"! They where falling off the bone tender with a wonderful flavor. I made my own smoked salt with 1 tbs of kosher salt and a 1/8 tsp of liquid smoke. I like to take the juice and drain it into a sauce pan and reduce to make my own sauce. If is it not getting thick enough you can add a little bit more brown sugar. If you don't like to make your own sauce Sweet Baby Rays is wonderful; and can be modified with some hot sauce if you like a little more kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol.Johnson August 23, 2013

This is the best recipe for BBQ Ribs I have ever seen. It's so easy to make. I use mccormicks steakhouse maple instead of the hickory smokesalt only because thats what I had in my cupboard. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JDiMare August 04, 2013
Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)