Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)

    Average Rating:

    433 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 433

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2013

      Absolutely amazing. I brought two racks of these these ribs to a pot luck holiday party tonight, they were gone in minutes. People absolutely loved them. I was quite skeptical as I did not feel there was enough salt in the recipe, there was no moisture added during cooking, and while cooking the house stunk of garlic. Prior to cooking I watched a few youtube videos to get some tips. <br/><br/>I purchased two racks of back ribs from my local butcher, they were pre-packaged from somewhere in Indiana and frozen. Fresh ribs in central Connecticut around Christmastime seem to be reserved for those who own pigs. They thawed in the refrigerator over night. The next day I dried the ribs using paper towels. <br/><br/>I searched for hickory smoke salt to no avail, so I made some myself. Using coarse sea salt and Stubb's Hickory Liquid Smoke, (found at Big Y) mixed it together and then dried it in the oven on a cookie sheet at 200F for 10 minutes. I did add more than the suggested 1 teaspoon to the rub, worked out well. Smoked paprika was what I had in my pantry and that is what went into the rub in lieu of paprika. Using wide heavy duty foil, doubling it and packaging them separately. I allowed the ribs to soak up the rub for an hour in the refrigerator and the into the oven they went. At first I had the racks on two cookie sheets, by the end of the cooking I had put them onto one large cookie sheet. I allowed them to cook for two and a half hours at 300F. Opened them up, they were beautiful, not gray at all. <br/><br/>I allowed them to cool for a few moments and then basted with Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar Barbeque Sauce and broiled on each side. They went into a serving dish covered with two layers of foil and were driven to the party and reheated in a 300 degree oven for a few minutes. <br/><br/>Thank you for the fantastic recipe. I will never add liquid to my ribs again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      First let me say that I always mess up ribs...they always come out as "burnt ends" (the whole thing)...dry, no matter how much sauce you put on it and barely palatable....this time I HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK!!!!!...The is hands down the best recipe I've tried and succeeded at (I'm usually a pretty good cook, according to everyone I've cooked for ... except ribs) I did use Bobby Flay's Brown Sugar Rub (just because I already had rubbed the meat down), cooked the meat in the foil packet (I usually cook in a baking pan covered with foil...the foil wrapped meat definitely makes ALL the difference in the world!!!!) on a baking sheet as directed. After 2 1/2 hours (probably could've taken them out at 2) I removed the meat (as suggested by another reviewer, turned the oven up to 350F), cut open the top of the packet, folded back the foil, drained some of the juice, then put my homemade BBQ sauce on the meat (I live in Austria and don't have the selection of sauce choices like in the states). I baked them for about 30 more minutes turning them once and putting more sauce on them. I took them out, placing them in a heavy covered pot to rest for about 15-20 minutes. The smile on my husband's face said it all with a lot of "mmmm-ing" throughout the meal! I love being able to share some great BBQ with him and my new in-laws (Vienna is NOT a big BBQ town...lol)...Thanks Beth for the great method of cooking. I can't wait to try it on chicken as was mentioned in some of the other reviews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Amazing and super easy! I put in some onion powder and cayenne pepper for a kick for 1 rack for the grown ups. Omg this one is a keeper. Kids, hubby and my mom want me to make this at least once a week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      I have not made these ribs yet with the smoked salt but I have made them with smoked paprika and they were AWESOME!!!! I made them for a large group of people and only had one oven where we were cooking something else at 300 degrees. So inadvertently these ribs were cooked at 300 for 3 hours and they were falling off the bone as I took them out of the tin foil. Was not able to grill them at the end for two minutes. Every single person raved about them and most of them asked for the recipe. This is the best rib recipe my husband and I have ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      I made these tonight and they where "AMAZING"! They where falling off the bone tender with a wonderful flavor. I made my own smoked salt with 1 tbs of kosher salt and a 1/8 tsp of liquid smoke. I like to take the juice and drain it into a sauce pan and reduce to make my own sauce. If is it not getting thick enough you can add a little bit more brown sugar. If you don't like to make your own sauce Sweet Baby Rays is wonderful; and can be modified with some hot sauce if you like a little more kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This is the best recipe for BBQ Ribs I have ever seen. It's so easy to make. I use mccormicks steakhouse maple instead of the hickory smokesalt only because thats what I had in my cupboard. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      I've used this oven method before, and it really does give tender, fall off the bone ribs, but this rib-rub knocked my ribs out of the park! I found the hickory salt in a spice shop, but I've seen it for about $5 on ebay. I'm sure the sea salt with liquid smoke method will work in a pinch. Great rib recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      I'd like to add my 5 stars to the other reviews! We made this tonight and the hardest part in this recipe was waiting for them to cook! We couldn't find any hickory smoke salt so we just used Adobo seasoning instead. We did use the ground red pepper and will probably cut back a bit on that the next time as it was a bit too hot for the kiddos...but for us..we enjoyed the kick! Also we used Jack Daniel's Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce since we figured the smokehouse taste would be a good add since we didn't have that hickory smoke salt. It took only 2hrs for our ribs to start pulling away from the bone. Loved the foil cooking technique. We did place the entire foil packet on a cookie sheet, but I must have made a tight seal because none of the juices leaked out. It was an awesome clean up..just ball up the foil and throw out. Thanks for a great recipe! We can't wait to make it again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      Fantastic! My husband is not easily impressed when it comes to food, but as he put it "I've outdone myself" with these. Couldn't find the hickory salt either, so used liquid smoke, worked great. I don't have a favorite BBQ sauce, so I just used Sweet Baby Ray and it was awesome. We all ate too much. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      I don't eat pork. Period. But my fiance requested pork ribs for our Christmas dinner and I decided to take a change and try this recipe. Being the most finicky eater I've ever seen, his fingers, face, and eyebrows told me all I needed to know. It was a HUGE hit. He said these were the best ribs he's ever had in his life. I didn't have any smoke, so I didn't use any. I was skeptical that they would cook so fast, but they absolutely did. I think the secret is in the foil. Don't use a deep pan. The double foil is all you need. I also did the same thing with beef ribs at the same time, so I could eat something too, and they were phenominal. I soaked them in orange juice overnight and followed suit. I will be making these again. Thanks, Not-2-Sweet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Giving this recipe 5 stars because of the seasonings! Outstanding!! The only difference I do is after rubbing the meat down with the seasonings and brown sugar, and double wrap in foil, shiny side out and meaty side down (right?), I put mine on the cookie sheet (2 slabs) and keep in frig overnight. Then the next day I put in oven.. and bake on 300 for 2 1/2 - 3 hours.. Take out the oven and carefully very carefully open the tin foil and fold back. Then add your fav bar-bq sauce, turn oven up to broil for 5-10 mins per side.. be careful turning the ribs over, because chances are they will fall off the bone because so tender! You can actually cut the ribs into pieces before adding bar-bq sauce to make it easier.. Anyway, thank you for sharing your oven ribs recipe.. We loved it!! I posted a picture of my ribs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      Best ribs I've ever made. I also made this recipe with dark brown sugar once and the taste was very rich. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      Very good and so easy to make. I used country style spareribs which turn out so tender and meaty. I spread some liquid smoke on the ribs before I rubbed it with the seasoning mixture.
      I also used smoked paprika and yes I did use a little ground red pepper. When I put them under the broiler I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar barbecue sauce. There was very little clean up work by using the tin foil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      Awesome!!! Made this using a split chicken and it turned out soooo good, thanks Not-2-Sweet! Will definitely be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      The ribs came out perfect. Made it for a get together with friends and there was no one that didn't love the ribs. Being that I am not a great cook, I followed the recipe to a T and the results were perfect. Even surprised myself. Great Recipe and crowd pleaser!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      Theses are AMAZING!!! I never liked ribs until I came across this recipe! I did make a few *little* changes (I added a dash of cinnamon and ground cloves to the rub) and I brushed the ribs with liquid smoke before I put them in the oven. I also cooked them for 3 1/2 hours instead of 2 1/2 and i had the cleanest bones I have ever seen! =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      These were the worst ribs I ever had. They basically steamed in the foil packets and the meat came out gray and smelled terrible. Even after broiling and adding bbq sauce they still looked awful. My husband and I took one bite each and ended up throwing away two racks of ribs. If you like real bbq, this isn't the rib recipe for you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I made these ribs using country style pork ribs (that's what I had on hand) and increased the cooking time. Super moist, super tender, and super delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      These ribs are very good. The cooking method is fantastic. They turned out very tender and clean up was super easy. The only thing I will do differently next time is cut back on the garlic powder. We like garlic, but it was a little too much for my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      this recipe is awesome i used it on a split chicken it was the best bbq chicken i ever made juicy tender very flavorful made as stated and 2 1/2 hours at 300 for a 4 1/2 pound chicken was right on the money then i put on steven raichlens nashville sweet bbq sauce #215373 on "my favorite" this could of won a bbq contest it was so good i also have a few more good bbq sauce recipes on here they are copycat K.C. masterpiece sauce #215866 and copycat Bull's Eye sauce #216017

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1229.3
     
    Calories from Fat 692
    56%
    Total Fat 76.9 g
    118%
    Saturated Fat 27.8 g
    139%
    Cholesterol 278.0 mg
    92%
    Sodium 872.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 48.5 g
    194%
    Protein 71.1 g
    142%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hickory smoke salt


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites