Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)

    Average Rating:

    426 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 426

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2011

      This method is awesome! For those trying to find the hickory smoked salt, the brand I use is "Spice Islands" they have it some of my local grocery stores, but it is available online too. I cook the ribs 2 hours in the foil packet as suggested, and I place the packet on a cookie sheet (in case of leaks. After two hours I remove them from the oven. I then turn up the oven temp to 350 degrees. I open the foil and roll back the edges to expose the ribs, (watch out for the steam!) and tilt the pan and use a small measuring cup to remove the excess liquid. Then, I slather the meaty side of the ribs with sauce, and return them to oven for 30-45 mins. Just our preference, as the sauce doesn't burn or char and I don't have to watch them so closely. Fabulous ribs, and clean up is so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      These ribs are absolutely wonderful! Even my picky eater had bbq sauce from ear to ear and a big smile on his face. Just a couple of quick notes. I've made this recipe twice, the first time using a roasting pan to cook the ribs in the oven and the second time I used foil as the recipe calls for and there was a noticeable difference in the ribs. While the roasting pan ribs were really excellent, using the foil took the flavor and tenderness of the ribs to a whole new level. Also, the smoked hickory salt can be made by mixing liquid smoke with sea salt and letting it dry out on a cookie sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Today was the second time I have made these ribs...and they are the BEST and the EASIEST ribs ever! I do not know what bandcphilly did wrong, but even before I put the BBQ sauce and broiled them, they were SO good! I followed the directions exactly, but I did not have any smoked salt, so I just used mesquite liquid smoke rubbed on prior to adding the rub, as suggested in the instructions. Just be careful not to use too much liquid smoke, or it will make it better. Liquid smoke is definitely one of those things, more is NOT better, and a little goes a long way! Again, the best ribs I have ever made, and some of the best I have ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      This is my first attempt at making ribs and I was so surprised at how easy and delicious these were! I baked them in the oven, but finished them on the grill. They were absolutely fall-off-the-bone tender. I also read about an easy way to take the membrane off the ribs that I'd like to share. Just grip one end of the membrane with a dry paper towel and pull towards you. The membrane came off so easily and quickly! I honestly avoided making ribs because I was never sure how to get the membrane off. What have I been missing?! These really are great, though. I'll be making them again VERY soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      These are the best stinkin ribs I've ever eaten. Holy cow! My husband wanted to marry me all over again. Single ladies: you WILL get proposed to should you chose to make these! We couldn't pick up a rib bone without the meat falling off. I used liquid smoke and they turned out great. Addendum: I made these again and they didn't fall off the bone because I bought pre-packaged ribs. Now, they were still incredible, but they had a different texture. Try not to buy the pre-packaged stuff. Find fresh meat from your grocer's meat department.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      PERFECT RIBS!!!!! This recipe needs nothing. I know it wasn't needed , but I prepped them with the rub the night before and they sat in the fridge until I was ready to cook them about 12 hours later. I'll never again use the "boil first" method because this way produces much more flavorful and moist ribs. So easy and the results blew me away. If you love ribs, then this is the way to go. I know I won't ever have to look for a new recipe after trying this one. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Thank you sooo much, this recipe is by far the best I've found for ribs, they DO melt in your mouth. I will never make them any other way again!

      Update: Tried this tonight with boneless/skinless chicken thighs. They were so tender, falling apart and juicy, wonderful!

      Update: I wasn't able to find hickory smoke salt either, but I substitute smoked paprika for the regular to get the smoky part. And I like Bulls Eye original sauce the best on them. Making these again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Folks, if you don't try this recipe you're missing out on easy and great tasting BBQ ribs. We tried this recipe yesterday when we found out the night before that we'd be having guests to a non-existent Labor Day party and everyone thought that ribs would be great fun to make ribs. ...ribs? ...fun? ...for who, ME? Memories of slaving over "great" rib recipes that included boiling, marinating, and grilling all day haunted my thoughts of a relaxing day with friends and family.

      NOT THIS RIB RECIPE! Easy to prepare and they taste better than anything you can get in a restaurant. We actually decided on a slab of thick boneless ribs and extended the cook time due to the thickness of the meat. My daughter, who can sometimes be a picky eater, got up this morning and had ribs for breakfast. Now that's some GOOD RIBS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      This recipe is GREAT!! So moist and tender. I used my own rub since I already had some made. Will try Beth's the next time. The ribs were just great and so tender that the meat fell off the bone. No more parboiling ribs for me!! THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Created an account here just to say thanks for a fantastic recipe! Didn't know I could make such delicious ribs at home, and so easily. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Honestly incredible. Not sure if people will read this due to all of the other raving reviews, but I joined just so I could say how great this was. My boyfriend kept asking all these questions about how I made it to get it so tender and if I really could just leave it in the oven for 2 1/2 hours and do something else. (He clearly wanted to try this recipe himself!!) It was so fast, so easy, and so simple. Not to mention that it only takes a few ingredients. I was however worried about the smoke salt. I literally spent about 20 minutes at my local grocery store (Vons) in the spice aisle looking for it. Sadly they didn't carry it. However, I WAS able to find liquid smoke in the aisle that had BBQ Sauce in it. The cap is very small and I only used about half a capful for both sides combined. It ended up being just the right amount. Seriously though, this recipe is SO great and you will NOT regret making it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      DEFINITELY A 5 star Recipe! Thank you Beth! This was going to be my final attempt at making ribs because I have had such bad luck making them over the last several years. If you are looking for a delicious and easy rib recipe, THIS IS THE ONE, I PROMISE YOU! If I can make this recipe anyone can! I followed the recipe except used my own rub and didn't have the smoke. I am severely inept at removing the membrane, but it still turned out FABULOUS. I grilled them at the end and used Famous Daves Rich and Sassy bbq sauce, but plan to try Sweet Baby Rays next time as I've heard such raves about that. My husband and I will use this method from now on. I can't wait to try this with company sometime!! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I have made this recipe several times - sooooo good - the family loves it. Followed recipe except substituted hickory liquid smoke for salt... just brushed ribs before applying rub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      I told my husband it would be an insult to order ribs in a restaurant now. These were outstanding. He wants to try them with a sweeter BBQ sauce than I used but said they were excellent the way they were. I used smoked paprika and 1 tsp of kosher salt instead of smoked salt as well as a combination of cayenne & red pepper. To bandcphilly - you got bad ribs. You should be complaining to the store for selling you bad meat NOT about this recipe. This IS a 5 star recipe - just look at every other review. I'm a really picky "foodie".. - I've never rated ANY recipe 5 stars. This IS The recipe for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This was my 1st time making BBQ ribs as they've intimidated me, but they were fabulous, very moist and fall-off-the-bone tender. I used the meatier country-style ribs, I tried a longer bake - 5 hrs @ 250 and poured off the fat after the bake, then applied the BBQ sauce to broil. I also used the smoked paprika. I've made it 3 times now, and have been told these are the best ribs they've ever had. They were so easy. The reader's comments convinced me to try this and I'm so glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      killer ribs !!! Very easy to prepare and cook.They were the most tender ribs that I ever cooked.
      Extremeley easy to cut into serving sizes which I feel deters alot of people from cooking ribs.
      Can't wait to have people over for barbecue this summer.I will now be the rib king during gatherings
      thanks to you.As far as not wanting to share this recipe I'm glad you did.I feel if your not planning
      on making money off of something why not share with other so they can enjoy.The key is not to share with others in your own circle so you always impress. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      We made these months ago, and I just now saw that I didn't rate them. We loved them. And tried Sweet Baby Rays Sauce for the first time, and now it's all I use. Love IT!
      We used baby back ribs and then after I got braces we used boneless, only adjusting the cooking time so they didn't dry out. My husband is deployed right now and is already talking about having these when he comes home...and thats 3 months away. He had a lot of fun making his own rub. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Holy God, I was in rib heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Wow! I've made ribs twice in my life now; the first time they turned out dry and tough, I hesitated to make ribs again but these were amazing!!!! I only made 2 lbs of ribs and so they only needed to cook for 1 hr 45 minutes. I also didn't have the smoked salt and just used sea salt instead and the flavor was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Great Ribs. Had one foil pouch spill in oven. Lots of smoke. Made the second time on charcoal grill. Grilled 3 hrs indirect @ 250 unfoiled. 1 hr foiled and last hr unfoiled with BBQ sauce. Even better than oven method

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beth's Melt in Your Mouth Barbecue Ribs (Oven)

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1229.3
     
    Calories from Fat 692
    56%
    Total Fat 76.9 g
    118%
    Saturated Fat 27.8 g
    139%
    Cholesterol 278.0 mg
    92%
    Sodium 872.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 48.5 g
    194%
    Protein 71.1 g
    142%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hickory smoke salt


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites