152 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Super Good! However, please bake the potatoes initially, rather than microwave. It will make them sturdy enough to contain the goodness without falling apart! Rub with olive oil and kosher salt and bake at 375 for an hour or more until done. Don't overbake or they'll wrinkle. I also used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and topped them with chives, which makes them healthy, right? :-)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becky716 December 30, 2010

I made this along with rib eye steaks for my husband%u2019s church board Christmas party. I received so many compliments. I was told more than once that "this was the best twice baked potato I have ever eaten". I did do a couple of things different, I didn't cook potato in microwave because I think the taste is better in oven I also didn't cook potato all the way through i.e. instead of 1 hr cooking time I only cooked for 45 min. this makes sure the potato skin does not fall apart while digging pulp out. I also used sea salt instead of table salt and I added cheese and bacon to potato instead of putting on top. But I did put cheese on top of potato after cooking through. These are wonderful. These also have a wonderful presentation.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cookinNC December 21, 2010

Yummy! I made these the day before christmas, stuffed them, and put them in the fridge. The next day I put them back in the oven for about 30-45 minutes while the ham finished cooking. Perfect!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodi7 December 26, 2009

Absolutely awesome!!! I did bake the potatoes as becky716 suggested. Followed the rest of the diretions other than added green onions (green parts only) to the mix. What a great potato. Lots of flavor and oh so good!!! Thanks for sharing. Will be making again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 March 12, 2011

I've made a recipe similar to this for years but decided to try something a little different and I'm so glad I did. These are so good! The only things I did differently was to use seasoning salt in place of the salt and pepper and I didn't have sharp cheese so I used mild cheddar. I also mixed part of the bacon into the mix and put the rest on top with some extra cheese.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshleyMiranda April 10, 2010

Finally success! I tried making these potatoes once using larger potatoes and I don't think they cooked long enough because the inside filling ended up really lumpy, hard to remove from the shell, and not creamy I was bummed but they were edible, I decided to give it another go. The second try was perfect I use a bit smaller potatoes which I rubbed w/olive oil and tons of sea salt before baking and also set them directly on the oven rack the skins ended up just as flavorful as the inside, Thank you LorenLou!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewWifey November 11, 2009

The taste on these is magnificent. I however apparently don't have the knack for taking apart baked potatoes and putting them back together. My potatoes kept breaking and after about two potatoes I gave up and diced them and then mixed them in the potato stuffing ingredients and baked them in a casserole dish. I'm going to try to go threw all of the reviews and see if I can get some tips on how to properly make these, because I think they would be very well received in our family. Thank you for a yummy tasting dish LorenLou.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely February 04, 2014

Super easy recipe that I will make again. Loved the crumbled bacon on top. I also sprinkled more grated cheddar over the bacon and placed back in the oven just long enough for the cheese to start melting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug September 04, 2013

Bravisimo! Wonderful recipe. I rubbed olive oil on the outsides of the skins and that gave them a firmness that allowed for stuffing to the hilt~ Was so great. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buffaloroaddesign December 12, 2012

Very good recipe for the stuffing! Thanks for sharing. I prefer baking the potatoes in the oven rather than microwaving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen January 16, 2012
Best Twice-Baked Potatoes