Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Twice-Baked Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2010

      Super Good! However, please bake the potatoes initially, rather than microwave. It will make them sturdy enough to contain the goodness without falling apart! Rub with olive oil and kosher salt and bake at 375 for an hour or more until done. Don't overbake or they'll wrinkle. I also used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and topped them with chives, which makes them healthy, right? :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I made this along with rib eye steaks for my husband%u2019s church board Christmas party. I received so many compliments. I was told more than once that "this was the best twice baked potato I have ever eaten". I did do a couple of things different, I didn't cook potato in microwave because I think the taste is better in oven I also didn't cook potato all the way through i.e. instead of 1 hr cooking time I only cooked for 45 min. this makes sure the potato skin does not fall apart while digging pulp out. I also used sea salt instead of table salt and I added cheese and bacon to potato instead of putting on top. But I did put cheese on top of potato after cooking through. These are wonderful. These also have a wonderful presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Yummy! I made these the day before christmas, stuffed them, and put them in the fridge. The next day I put them back in the oven for about 30-45 minutes while the ham finished cooking. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Absolutely awesome!!! I did bake the potatoes as becky716 suggested. Followed the rest of the diretions other than added green onions (green parts only) to the mix. What a great potato. Lots of flavor and oh so good!!! Thanks for sharing. Will be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I've made a recipe similar to this for years but decided to try something a little different and I'm so glad I did. These are so good! The only things I did differently was to use seasoning salt in place of the salt and pepper and I didn't have sharp cheese so I used mild cheddar. I also mixed part of the bacon into the mix and put the rest on top with some extra cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Finally success! I tried making these potatoes once using larger potatoes and I don't think they cooked long enough because the inside filling ended up really lumpy, hard to remove from the shell, and not creamy I was bummed but they were edible, I decided to give it another go. The second try was perfect I use a bit smaller potatoes which I rubbed w/olive oil and tons of sea salt before baking and also set them directly on the oven rack the skins ended up just as flavorful as the inside, Thank you LorenLou!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Very good recipe for the stuffing! Thanks for sharing. I prefer baking the potatoes in the oven rather than microwaving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      These were yummy. My husband disllikes sour cream so I subbed it out (added in a little extra of the other moisture ingred to still make it creamy). I also stirred the bacon into the mix, instead of putting it on top. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Had these last nite...and YUMMM! I used unsalted butter instead of the margarine. I added the milk gradually, til it was the consistency we like, maybe only 1/8th of a cup. Also added some Montreal Seasoning to the tater mixture, so left out the salt and pepper. I froze half of these on a baking sheet, then after 2 hours, transferred to freezer bags. Can't wait to have these again. Thanks for posting, LorenLou.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      YUM. Made this recipe for Father's Day (along with Prime Rib) and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. I'm not a huge potato fan but these were DELICIOUS. Wish I had doubled the recipe and frozen a couple of them. Am definitely making this again. Thank you for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      The taste on these is magnificent. I however apparently don't have the knack for taking apart baked potatoes and putting them back together. My potatoes kept breaking and after about two potatoes I gave up and diced them and then mixed them in the potato stuffing ingredients and baked them in a casserole dish. I'm going to try to go threw all of the reviews and see if I can get some tips on how to properly make these, because I think they would be very well received in our family. Thank you for a yummy tasting dish LorenLou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Super easy recipe that I will make again. Loved the crumbled bacon on top. I also sprinkled more grated cheddar over the bacon and placed back in the oven just long enough for the cheese to start melting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Perfect and Easy everytime

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Delicious. Made as directed except baked the potatoes and did not add bacon. Potatoes were very moist. Made them for Easter dinner and they were enjoyed by all. I will use this recipe again. Thanks. PatD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      Bravisimo! Wonderful recipe. I rubbed olive oil on the outsides of the skins and that gave them a firmness that allowed for stuffing to the hilt~ Was so great. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      Delicious potatoes. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Excellent Potatoes!!! I baked the potatoes in the oven for 1 hour, increased the cheese to about 3/4 cup and doubled the bacon, put 1/2 in the potatoe mixture and the other half on top. Absolutely Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      My mom used to make these when I was younger. I forgot how good they are! And so easy, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      1 guest told me these were the best potatoes he's ever had! I agree! Not easy getting potatoes out of the shell without tearing the skin, but it was worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I admit I only did this recipe part way and it was really good. I did not use the sour cream, milk or bacon because I did not have those on hand, but it was very good. Next time I will do it as written. It can only get better. The concept of twice baking is a great way to jazz up potatoes with little effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Twice-Baked Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.5
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    55%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 37.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 621.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes