18 Reviews

I've brined and smoked/roasted turkey for over 30 years. While I'm sure this is a good recipe, I would never use table salt to brine meat. You really need to use non-iodized salt the chemical reaction to the meat fiber is different without the iodine and safer.<br/>Also would brine for 24 hours, rinse well, bag and set in cold for another 24 hours to let the salt and flavors that is left in the meat to equalize throughout the bird.<br/>Never use metal bowls/utensils for brining, food grade plastic only, stoneware or wood.<br/>Takes longer but I think you will find this much better and safer. 8 hours brining is not enough to safely brine a large bird.<br/>Also if you aren't sure of how much salt to add to water. Take an uncooked egg, when the egg floats in the brine then you have enough salt in the water or what ever liquid you use. This is helpful when using flavored liquid considering some salt may be in the liquid to begin with.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PPPete November 20, 2013

Great recipe for a roasted chicken! We loved this recipe at Thanksgiving last year and wanted to try it with a chicken. (A turkey is too much for my family.) I just halved the recipe and brined a 6 lb. chicken and it worked great. This recipe also makes the best gravy. I'm glad i found another way to use this recipe so we don't have to wait for Thanksgiving :).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaigeSpud March 08, 2009

This is a great way to cook a bird!I have a similar recipe to this and the brining is really the only way to go with a turkey if you want it juicy and flavorful. Sometime try this with a fresh orange, apple, and one lime,- quartered, not peeled- stuffed inside the turkey instead of the veggies during roasting. Gives it a little zing and the oil from the orange peel makes cleaning your roasting pan a breeze afterward.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhammons September 28, 2007

I made it this way once and it was definitely delicious but I didn't notice a HUGE difference in how I usually prepare it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana February 17, 2009

This made the most moist turkey I have ever eaten. I will be following this recipe for years to come. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadylynn January 08, 2009

love this turkey. very moist. have made it 2 years now to rave reviews. heads up with the brining method don't add salt to drippings for gravy & use low or no sodium broth also or way too salty. also did find it was fully cooked 1 to 1 1/2 hrs sooner than roasting charts said. (21 lb bird in counter top roaster)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diannebroman November 29, 2008

I don't know if it's THE best turkey ever but it was OUR best turkey ever. I have 3 kids who swear they don't like turkey and 2 of them liked this one. It was very juicy and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani November 28, 2008

I was very happy with the way this turkey turned out. I followed the recipe exactly with the suggested additions of bay leaf, peppercorn and garlic. Since it is cold here in Idaho I just put the bucket with the turkey in the garage overnight. It stayed cold without freezing. I didn't follow the roasting instructions however, since I like to cook it hot (400 degrees) and fast to seal in juices. My 21 lb turkey took 3 hours. My DH wasn't sold on the idea of brining and thought it would be too salty. After eating it, he said we should do the turkey this way EVERY TIME. Thanks Jenninjapan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! November 28, 2008

This was the first time that i have ever brined a turkey. i made it last night in my biggest stockpot and then put the turkey in and put it outside in the garden overnight. the turkey was lovely and moist. i added all the herbs and some lemons also cut up. it had a lovely herby lemony flavour. i will always brine my turkeys from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncardie December 24, 2007

This was the first time I Brined a Turkey. We had it for Thanksgiving and I would not change a thing. My Turkey got rave reviews. My DH who only usually eats fried turkeys said it was the best turkey he'd ever had. Thanks, Jenn for making my Thanksgiving Dinner Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefs Apprentice December 14, 2007
Best Turkey Ever!! (Brined)