Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Turkey Ever!! (Brined) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Turkey Ever!! (Brined)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2013

      I've brined and smoked/roasted turkey for over 30 years. While I'm sure this is a good recipe, I would never use table salt to brine meat. You really need to use non-iodized salt the chemical reaction to the meat fiber is different without the iodine and safer.<br/>Also would brine for 24 hours, rinse well, bag and set in cold for another 24 hours to let the salt and flavors that is left in the meat to equalize throughout the bird.<br/>Never use metal bowls/utensils for brining, food grade plastic only, stoneware or wood.<br/>Takes longer but I think you will find this much better and safer. 8 hours brining is not enough to safely brine a large bird.<br/>Also if you aren't sure of how much salt to add to water. Take an uncooked egg, when the egg floats in the brine then you have enough salt in the water or what ever liquid you use. This is helpful when using flavored liquid considering some salt may be in the liquid to begin with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Great recipe for a roasted chicken! We loved this recipe at Thanksgiving last year and wanted to try it with a chicken. (A turkey is too much for my family.) I just halved the recipe and brined a 6 lb. chicken and it worked great. This recipe also makes the best gravy. I'm glad i found another way to use this recipe so we don't have to wait for Thanksgiving :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I made it this way once and it was definitely delicious but I didn't notice a HUGE difference in how I usually prepare it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This made the most moist turkey I have ever eaten. I will be following this recipe for years to come. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      love this turkey. very moist. have made it 2 years now to rave reviews. heads up with the brining method don't add salt to drippings for gravy & use low or no sodium broth also or way too salty. also did find it was fully cooked 1 to 1 1/2 hrs sooner than roasting charts said. (21 lb bird in counter top roaster)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I don't know if it's THE best turkey ever but it was OUR best turkey ever. I have 3 kids who swear they don't like turkey and 2 of them liked this one. It was very juicy and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I was very happy with the way this turkey turned out. I followed the recipe exactly with the suggested additions of bay leaf, peppercorn and garlic. Since it is cold here in Idaho I just put the bucket with the turkey in the garage overnight. It stayed cold without freezing. I didn't follow the roasting instructions however, since I like to cook it hot (400 degrees) and fast to seal in juices. My 21 lb turkey took 3 hours. My DH wasn't sold on the idea of brining and thought it would be too salty. After eating it, he said we should do the turkey this way EVERY TIME. Thanks Jenninjapan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was the first time that i have ever brined a turkey. i made it last night in my biggest stockpot and then put the turkey in and put it outside in the garden overnight. the turkey was lovely and moist. i added all the herbs and some lemons also cut up. it had a lovely herby lemony flavour. i will always brine my turkeys from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This was the first time I Brined a Turkey. We had it for Thanksgiving and I would not change a thing. My Turkey got rave reviews. My DH who only usually eats fried turkeys said it was the best turkey he'd ever had. Thanks, Jenn for making my Thanksgiving Dinner Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Truly exceptional! Every bite is flavorful, moist and deliscious. I followed the directions with the exception of using less Thyme, as I didn't have enough on hand and wanted to get the bird in to soak. Will use this again! Thanks for sharing your dad's recipe with us Jenn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I used apple cider instead of water and also sage butter (1/4 cup sage and 2 sticks butter) to baste the turkey every half an hour and it turned out great every one loved it. I also brined the turkey for 24 hours not the 6-8 hours suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      all my inlaws were impressed with my cooking at thanksgiving. this was the first time i'd ever cooked a turky... and every one said it was the best turky they had ever had. i was really pleased with my self. this turky takes a little extra work. but it truely is worth it. it was really juicey. i only followed the brining part of the recipe. and i stuffed it with regular bread stuffing... and it turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I have never even heard of brining a turkey before i saw this and now I dont think I will every make a turkey without brining it! this was my first time cooking thanksgiving dinner everyone loved the turkey so much. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      This is a great way to cook a bird!I have a similar recipe to this and the brining is really the only way to go with a turkey if you want it juicy and flavorful. Sometime try this with a fresh orange, apple, and one lime,- quartered, not peeled- stuffed inside the turkey instead of the veggies during roasting. Gives it a little zing and the oil from the orange peel makes cleaning your roasting pan a breeze afterward.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      This was my second year cooking the turkey on my own. This recipe was great!! My turkey came out perfect!! Tasty, juicy, and moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      My fiance took one bite while carving and exclaimed "That is the best turkey I have ever tasted!" This was my first attempt to cook my own bird. Since it was just the two of us, I cut the recipe in half to suit my 8 pound turkey. I used sage instead of rosemary, and stuffed it with celery, onion shallot, and peeled garlic. The turkey was as beautiful as it was tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      I used this recipie for our Turkey this year, except I stuffed it with dressing. It was sooo good! I usually don't like white meat, but even that was great! We will never eat an unbrined Turkey again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      I consider myself a pretty good cook, but this was hands down the best turkey I've made in all these years!! I actually made it a few days ahead of time, then carved and warmed in it's own juices for Thanksgiving dinner. It was incredibly moist, flavorful, deeeelicious! I didn't even add a single thing (salt pepper, nothing) and it was absolutely perfect. Can't wait for Christmas! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Turkey Ever!! (Brined)

    Serving Size: 1 (733 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 22

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 675.7
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    36%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 216.0 mg
    72%
    Sodium 10528.7 mg
    438%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 38.8 g
    155%
    Protein 63.5 g
    127%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes