Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Steel Cut Oats Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Steel Cut Oats Crock Pot Recipe

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2011

      I love steel oats, and I really love that this recipe made it so easy to have breakfast ready when we woke up - since the coffee maker is on auto too it was so nice to just dish it out. It's gettng cooler around here now so this was a wonderful wake-up call. After reading some of the post about clean up, I chose to use a "crock-pot liner bag" which made it a breeze. Then followed the directions with the exceptions of the cranberries and raisins (don't like either) when we got up I did add some frozen blueberries from our garden harvest and left them to sit until they thawed in the hot oats. So easy and so good, I know this will end up being a winter stable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This was our 1st taste of steel cut oats and the whole family loved them. I enjoyed waking up to a hot, wholesome breakfast. I will make again but next time will add the raisins (we didn't use dried cranberries this time) in the morning. Cooking all night they became like swollen water balloons - my husband liked them, the kids and I didn't, just a texture thing. Glad we ran across this recipe - thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      i did not like the bland taste of this nor the clean up.....but thank you for posting the recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      I am going to be generous here and give this one 2 stars (sorry). I put them on at night before bed and got up EARLY to check them (5 a.m.) and they were way to smushy and overcooked.....IF you like your steel cut oats that way then bless ya.....I prefer mine with more of a "chew". I will pass on this recipe and try something new until I get it perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out bad! Very sticky and overcooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I make this very frequently. It is my go-to food for Sunday morning breakfast. It is so nice to be able to wake up and dish the oats out in the morning not having to mess with fixing something before church. It works perfectly fine using non-dairy milks like almond, soy or coconut milk. I usually add more cinnamon than usual out of preference. I have also made this using chocolate almond milk, which my kids thought was a special treat. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      The oats were tasty. I would add the cranberries and raisins at the end next time. And I would most definitely use a crockpot liner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Great base for cooking the steel cut oats! I use diced fresh apple instead of the dried fruit and reduce the cinnamon slightly. I butter a corningware casserole dish that I put in the slow cooker, and then fill around the dish with water. The water bath adds extra moisture, so I reduce the water in the recipe by 1/2 cup. Great texture, and only having to wash the smaller dish makes life much easier than cleaning off the oats from the big insert. (You might get a ring from the water - but that cleans off very easily) Weekday lifesaver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Very good & easy to make. I sprayed my crockpot, but it still stuck. I'll try another way to keep it from sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was so easy to make, and it was delicious. I put warm water in my crock pot to soak out what little mess was there. It made my kitchen smell wonderful. I tried making Steel Cut Oats in my microwave last week. Not a good idea. VERY messy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This gets 5 stars for being a great way to easily integrate good nutrition that tastes good into your diet. Like others, I left the dried fruit out. DH and I ate two helpings and refrigerated the leftovers eating them the next day. They were very good re-warmed in the micro. I lightly oiled the crock pot before putting it all in there and clean up was a snap. Or as DH said "no worse than your usual". Hmmm! very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      The cinnamon is a must in this recipe. I had started eating it then remember half way through to grab the cinnamon and add some. I just made this on the stove this morning. Made almost as written but left out the milk. Thank you for posting. Made for *Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was really good. Steel cut oats take so long to cook--it was nice to wake up to them ready. I just used raisins. We liked the texture of them. Will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Steel Cut Oats Crock Pot Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    20%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 53.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    44%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes