Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Shepherds Pie! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Shepherds Pie!

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2012

      I loved this! It was so good...and the next day leftovers I thought were even better. I made this exactly as written,except I didn't use instant potatoes. I must not have waited long enough before serving, although it was like 30 minutes because it was still too thin. The next day though it had thickened up alot and was yummy! I also make this with chicken and chicken broth and it is equally as good. I will be making this again and again. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      This was so warming after another drizzly, foggy Alaskan day! You saved me from having to make my husband his favorite hamburger gravy. He is now trying to figure out how to take this to hunting camp. I had to make some tweaks, I didn't have beef broth so I used brown gravy and left out the flour. I drained the tomatos like someone else suggested and had to use frozen chopped onions, cause it's what I had, I threw them in after I browned the beef and drained it, along with the frozen corn. But it still turned out wonderful. Next time I think I will thicken it a hair more but it was so tasty and warm! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      This was an excellent recipe...I doubled it and sent one home for a girlfriend who has had some surgery...easy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      It was very good. I didn't have sour cream, but it was still good. Next time, I will do exactly what it says in the recipe. Everyone in my family liked it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

    • on December 05, 2010

      This is my family's favorite dinner. I have changed it a bit. I use a bag of veg. a jar of gravy instead of broth and never instant potatoes, I use a 5lb bag of red potatoes. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This is a very versatile recipe; it doesn't indicate how much mashed potato is needed though. I think around 4 cups would be enough so you get the nice ratio between potato and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      We all loved this! I did put less stock in there and that worked out perfect. I also just used a mix of veggies and my husband loved it so much, he had THREE services and took some leftovers to work today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Very tasty recipe but mine came out a little soupy, not sure if I didn't use enough mashed potato's or what, I used 6 cups and would use more next time and also make sure you drain the diced tomato's well. I might even cut down on the beef broth to 3/4 cup but overall loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      This was quite good, I used two lbs of beef and adjusted some of the ingredients to suit. I added a bit too much broth and it was a little soupy! I added twice the garlic and a wee bit of steak spice. I would decrease the thyme (I associate it with chicken!) Used some leftover mashed potaotes (okay I had a ton!) My DH doesn't care for Shepherds pie and he enjoyed this. Easy to throw together. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I can't say if this is the best, but it's darn good.... and easy! I used leftover homemade mashed potatoes (made w/ sour cream) but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It was very tasty. I made Green Beans With Horseradish as a side dish for this and it was a wonderful meal. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Great recipe! The whole family loved it, this is the 2nd time I made it and there is never any left over. My husband always tries to put a little away for lunch the next day but one of the kids always finds it. Thanks for a winner recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! Everyone's favorite in my house. As another reviewer mentioned, adding the shredded cheddar cheese on top is a must. I double the garlic and I use frozen mixed veggies peas/carrots/corn/green beans) instead of just corn. Also reheats well for leftovers (if there are any!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Tried this as written--WOW!! Really was authentic, however, I am going to try using Guiness beer in place of the beef broth next time. We had this several times while in Ireland and it was always made with Guiness. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This was excellent. One thing I added was shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top. It added a nice touch. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      My husband said "I hate Shepherd's Pie...but this is AWESOME!" I loved it, and so did all six of my kids...including two picky eaters. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Shepherds Pie!

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 461.5
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    52%
    Total Fat 27.1 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 101.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 409.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes