16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this! It was so good...and the next day leftovers I thought were even better. I made this exactly as written,except I didn't use instant potatoes. I must not have waited long enough before serving, although it was like 30 minutes because it was still too thin. The next day though it had thickened up alot and was yummy! I also make this with chicken and chicken broth and it is equally as good. I will be making this again and again. Thank you for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnavef April 11, 2012

This was so warming after another drizzly, foggy Alaskan day! You saved me from having to make my husband his favorite hamburger gravy. He is now trying to figure out how to take this to hunting camp. I had to make some tweaks, I didn't have beef broth so I used brown gravy and left out the flour. I drained the tomatos like someone else suggested and had to use frozen chopped onions, cause it's what I had, I threw them in after I browned the beef and drained it, along with the frozen corn. But it still turned out wonderful. Next time I think I will thicken it a hair more but it was so tasty and warm! Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trennarene August 27, 2011

This is my family's favorite dinner. I have changed it a bit. I use a bag of veg. a jar of gravy instead of broth and never instant potatoes, I use a 5lb bag of red potatoes. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnapat December 05, 2010

Very tasty recipe but mine came out a little soupy, not sure if I didn't use enough mashed potato's or what, I used 6 cups and would use more next time and also make sure you drain the diced tomato's well. I might even cut down on the beef broth to 3/4 cup but overall loved it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BJ in Ramstein Germany March 28, 2010

This was quite good, I used two lbs of beef and adjusted some of the ingredients to suit. I added a bit too much broth and it was a little soupy! I added twice the garlic and a wee bit of steak spice. I would decrease the thyme (I associate it with chicken!) Used some leftover mashed potaotes (okay I had a ton!) My DH doesn't care for Shepherds pie and he enjoyed this. Easy to throw together. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleAnne1 March 09, 2010

This recipe is awesome! Everyone's favorite in my house. As another reviewer mentioned, adding the shredded cheddar cheese on top is a must. I double the garlic and I use frozen mixed veggies peas/carrots/corn/green beans) instead of just corn. Also reheats well for leftovers (if there are any!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kniendorf December 01, 2009

This was an excellent recipe...I doubled it and sent one home for a girlfriend who has had some surgery...easy and yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc May 17, 2011

It was very good. I didn't have sour cream, but it was still good. Next time, I will do exactly what it says in the recipe. Everyone in my family liked it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myjjboys January 23, 2011

This is a very versatile recipe; it doesn't indicate how much mashed potato is needed though. I think around 4 cups would be enough so you get the nice ratio between potato and filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha November 01, 2010
Best Shepherds Pie!