57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is EXCELLENT! It was very easy and does it ever taste good! I made it twice, the first time forgetting about the baking soda and vanilla and it STILL turned out. The second time I didn't forget those two ingredients but also added a smidgen of salt. You gotta try this one!! Instead of the two minute marker, I measured with a candy thermometer to 250 and then dumped the caramel onto the popcorn. This is also easy to double - I used a turkey roasting pan in place of the jellyroll pan and turned my warm caramel corn onto a Silpat to cool.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaurorac December 20, 2007

Absolutely delicious! I drizzled on some melted semisweet chocolate and will be giving this in gift baskets to family. I don't know if it is just my stove, but be careful heating the caramel mixture on high--it boiled way too quickly (before the butter even melted, even though I was stirring rapidly.) I will heat over med/med high next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KittyBCM December 17, 2009

This was great! It it way better than any store bought caramel popcorn I have ever had. After reading reviews I decreased the heat in my oven to 225 since my oven runs hot and only left it in the oven for about 25 minutes, stirring it about 4 times in that time. Also I used 10 cups of popped popcorn and probably next time will use more since it is still pretty heavily coated. All in all this is delicious and I will be making it often I'm sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie_Q January 23, 2008

Out of all the food I made for Christmas gifts, this stuff is by far my favorite. It's inexpensive, fairly quick and easy, and it tastes SO GOOD! I did start the caramel mixture on low heat until everything was pretty well mixed, then turned it up to high. I also only baked it for 30 minutes. THANK YOU for this recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness December 24, 2009

YUMMY!! This is an incredible caramel corn. Followed the instructions exactly. I did double the recipe and with 2 batches in the oven, it took the full 40 minutes at 275. Next time will add peanuts or maybe some cashews. Regardless this will be a very nice snack on our upcoming road trip with the kids! Thanks! Update: This caramel corn travels well. I packed it into an ice cream bucket and it was in and out of the car for over a week. It sat in the heated car and never once lost its crunch. The kids loved having it as a mid-afternoon snack - something a little sweet was just the thing to keep them going without having the sugar crash associated with chocolate bars. In fact, we have named it Bucket Corn in tribute to its container. Thanks again for a real winner for our family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancingPanda July 12, 2009

very good recipe! It was perfect! The only thing I added was pecans! Just wanted the extra crunch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_geek February 07, 2004

This isn't even done baking and I can't stay out of it. It's great. Don't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo December 23, 2014

Delicious! I did add an extra stick of butter though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neacie88_12782427 February 02, 2014

OMG! It's better than Cracker Jack. I baked mine for only 30mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Psalmsome September 28, 2013

I had no idea caramel corn was so easy! It does take some time (mine baked the full 40 minutes), but that is probably a good thing so I don't make it all the time... very hard to stop munching this. I used mushroom popcorn. I was pleased with how crispy it turned out! Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabacca November 30, 2012
Best Seller Caramel Corn